District Health Authorities

District Health Authorities


On April 1, 2015, Nova Scotia will launch a new health system structure to create a foundation for better health care.

Under this new structure, the nine current district health authorities will be consolidated into one unified provincial authority, which will work with the IWK Health Centre.

As the transition process moves forward, visit People-Centered Health Care website to learn more about what’s happening.


Nova Scotia's health services are delivered by nine district health authorities (DHA) and the IWK. These health authorities deliver health care services to residents and are responsible for all hospitals, community health services, mental health services and public health programs in their districts.

Map of Nova Scotia District Health Authorities Pictou County Cumberland Health Authority Southwest Health South Shore Health Colchester East Hants Health Authority Guysborough Antigonish Strait Health Authority IWK Health Centre Cape Breton District Health Authority Annapolis Valley Health Capital Health