Nova Scotia Archives

African Nova Scotians

in the Age of Slavery and Abolition


The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

From the beginning, enslaved African Nova Scotians challenged slavery by escaping from it. Some free African Nova Scotians who were enslaved or re-enslaved courageously protested their treatment in court. For example, in 1791, Mary Postell of Argyle protested to the authorities when she was re-enslaved and her daughter Flora kidnapped into slavery. The slaveholder, Jesse Gray, was prosecuted. However, the magistrate sided with him and Postell and her daughter were left in a state of slavery. Jude, slave of Samuel Andrews at Tusket River, fared far worse. In December 1800 she was beaten to death by Andrews and his sons, who were tried the following year for murder but acquitted.

Until the late 1790s, courts in Nova Scotia continued to uphold the legal interests of slaveholders. Thereafter, courts began refusing to uphold the ‘right’ of slaveholders to hold human beings as private property. This encouraged more and more slaves to run away, challenging the slaveholder to test his title in court. In 1808 a group of slaveholders in Annapolis protested that court decisions were making it impossible to maintain their right to own slaves and asked the Assembly for assistance. A bill supporting the slaveholders was introduced but it did not pass. There were few slaves left in Nova Scotia by the time the Black Refugees began to arrive during and after the War of 1812.

Although 1000 Black Loyalists from Nova Scotia emigrated to Sierra Leone, the majority remained. A number of African Nova Scotian communities survived, at least for a time. These included the Birchtowns (Guysborough and Shelburne Counties), Negro Line (later Southville, Digby County) and Tracadie (Guysborough County). There were 23 black families at Tracadie in 1808; by 1827 this number had increased to 30 or more. Few black people in Halifax participated in the exodus to Sierra Leone, perhaps because of better economic opportunities in the military city. Halifax’s black population was 422 in 1791 and 451 in 1802.

In 1796 almost 600 Maroons were deported from Jamaica to Nova Scotia, following their rebellion against the colonial government. They worked on the third fortification at the Citadel in Halifax and on Government House, and performed other manual labour. They also attempted to farm. However, like the previous occupants of the poor, rocky land at Preston, they had little success. The Maroons found farming in Nova Scotia difficult, especially as the climate prevented the growing of familiar food crops such as pineapples, bananas, yams, and cocoa. A small number interested in farming were resettled from Preston to Boydville (Maroon Hill, Halifax County). Lieutenant Governor Sir John Wentworth attempted to change the Maroons’ culture by introducing them to Christianity. However, the Maroons were not interested in giving up their own religion and would not work for less than the wages a white person would receive. In 1800 virtually all of the Maroons took advantage of the opportunity provided by the Sierra Leone Company to emigrate to Sierra Leone.

Information on the lives of African Nova Scotians during the period 1793 to 1812 is scarce. An 1812 document possibly written by William Sabatier, and preserved in the Colonial Office records, gives some interesting insights. The writer remarks that black Nova Scotians are well known for their good work as domestics and seamen, and also value their own community and culture. The same source tells us that nearly one-sixth of the population of Halifax was black.


Results 1 to 15 of 18 from your search:

next


Runaway slave advertisement
Date: 15 March 1794
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Weekly Chronicle 15 March 1794 p. 1 (microfilm no. 8165)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Case of a black boy carried off to the West Indies
Date: 22 April 1794
Reference no.: Shelburne County Court of General Sessions of the Peace  Nova Scotia Archives RG 34-321 J 145

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

"Leonard Parkinson, a captain of the Maroons"
Date: published 1796
Engraver: Abraham Raimbach
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives B. Edwards, The Proceedings of the Governor and Assembly of Jamaica, in Regard to the Maroon Negroes… to which is prefixed an Introductory Account… of the Maroons… (London, 1796) (F210 /Ed9)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Deed of sale of a slave child
Date: 14 July 1796
Reference no.: Chesley family fonds  Nova Scotia Archives MG 1 vol. 177 no. 75

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Wentworth report on the Maroons
Date: 21 April 1797
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 52 no. 41 pp. 53-60 (microfilm no. 15238)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Wentworth's instructions regarding the recently arrived Jamaican Maroons
Date: 29 June 1797
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 419 no. 19 (microfilm no. 15460)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Letter from Sir John Wentworth to the Duke of Portland
Date: 23 June 1798
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 52 no. 57 (pp. 186-9) (microfilm no. 15238)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Advertisement about runaway indentured servant, James Wallace
Date: 11 June 1799
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Royal Gazette 11 June 1799 p. 3 (microfilm no. 8168)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Letter from Sir John Wentworth to Richard Molesworth
Date: 15 January 1800
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 52 pp. 377-9 (microfilm no. 15238)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Advertisement for lease of a woman slave
Date: 24 June 1800
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Royal Gazette 24 June 1800 p. 3 (microfilm no. 8168)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

R. v. Andrews (indictment of Samuel Andrews Jr. for the murder of a "Negro woman of the name of Jude")
Date: 19 May 1801
Reference no.: Shelburne County Special Court of Oyer and Terminer  Nova Scotia Archives RG 42 SH vol. 1 file 4

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Benjamin Belcher of Belcher Street (near Port Williams), estate inventory
Date: 1802
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Kings County probate records estate case file B7 (microfilm copy only available at NSARM, microfilm no. 19779)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

DeLancey v. Woodin (plaintiff's statement of claim against the defendant for harbouring 'Jack', a fugitive slave)
Date: 20 August 1803
Reference no.: Supreme Court of Nova Scotia — Annapolis County case files  Nova Scotia Archives RG 39 C (AP) vol. 1 file 2

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Petition of John Taylor and other slaveholders
Date: 3 December 1807
Reference no.: Nova Scotia House of Assembly  Nova Scotia Archives RG 5 series A vol. 14 no. 49 (microfilm no. 15591)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812

Commission to Silas Hardy of Granville as captain of a black militia company
Date: 17 November 1808
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives MG 100 vol. 161 no. 36a (microfilm no. 15201)

Theme: The Decline of Slavery, 1793-1812
   Page 1 of 2: 1 2  next

Nova Scotia Archives

Les Afro-Néo-Écossais

à l'époque de l'esclavage et de l'abolition


Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Dès le début, les Afro-Néo-Écossais esclaves remirent en cause l'esclavage en y échappant. Certains Afro-Néo-Écossais affranchis qui furent mis ou remis en esclavage protestèrent courageusement le traitement qui leur était infligé devant les tribunaux. Par exemple, en 1791, Mary Postell de Argyle se plaignit aux autorités qu'elle avait été remise en esclavage et que sa fille Flora avait été kidnappée et réduite à l'esclavage. Leur propriétaire, Jesse Gray, fut poursuivi en justice. Toutefois, le magistrat lui donna raison et Postell et sa fille demeurèrent en esclavage. Jude, esclave de Samuel Andrews de Tusket River, eut un sort plus terrible encore. En décembre 1800, elle fut battue à mort par Andrews et ses fils, qui furent poursuivis l'année suivante pour meurtre mais ensuite acquittés.

Jusqu'à la fin des années 1790, les tribunaux néo-écossais continuèrent à défendre les intérêts juridiques des propriétaires d'esclaves. Après cette date, les tribunaux refusèrent de défendre le « droit » des propriétaires d'esclaves de posséder des êtres humains en propriété privée. Cela encouragea de plus en plus d'esclaves à s'échapper et à défier leur propriétaire de faire reconnaître son titre de propriété devant les tribunaux. En 1808, un groupe de propriétaires d'esclaves d'Annapolis protestèrent que les décisions des tribunaux rendaient impossible le maintien de leur droit de posséder des esclaves et demandèrent l'aide de l'assemblée législative. Un projet de loi à l'appui des propriétaires d'esclaves fut présenté mais il ne fut pas adopté. Il restait peu d'esclaves en Nouvelle-Écosse à l'époque où les « Réfugiés noirs » commencèrent à arriver, durant et après la Guerre de 1812.

Bien qu'un certain nombre de Noirs affranchis aient émigré en Sierra Leone, la majorité d'entre eux demeurèrent en Nouvelle-Écosse. Plusieurs communautés afro-néo-écossaises parvinrent à survivre, au moins pendant un temps. Parmi celles-ci, citons les deux Birchtown (comté de Guysborough et comté de Shelburne), Negro Line (devenu plus tard Southville, comté de Digby) et Tracadie (comté de Guysborough). Il y avait 23 familles noires à Tracadie en 1808 et 30 ou plus en 1827. Peu des Noirs de Halifax participèrent à l'exode, possiblement à cause des meilleures possibilités économiques qui y prévalaient. La population noire de Halifax était de 422 en 1791 et 451 en 1802.

En 1796, près de 600 Marrons furent déportés de la Jamaïque en Nouvelle-Écosse, après une rébellion infructueuse contre le gouvernement colonial. Ils travaillèrent à la construction de la Citadelle de Halifax et de la Maison du gouvernement et firent d'autres travaux manuels. Ils tentèrent également de cultiver la terre. Toutefois, comme de nombreux autres immigrants en Nouvelle-Écosse, les Marrons trouvèrent l'agriculture difficile, en particulier parce que le climat empêchait la culture de produits familiers comme les ananas, les bananes, les patates douces et le cacao. Le lieutenant gouverneur sir John Wentworth tenta de changer la culture des Marrons en les convertissant à la christianité. Mais les Marrons ne souhaitaient pas abandonner leur propre religion et refusaient de travailler pour un salaire inférieur à celui que recevrait un blanc. La plupart des Marrons habitaient à Preston; un petit nombre qui s'intéressait à l'agriculture s'établit à Boydville (Maroon Hill, comté de Halifax). En 1800, presque tous les Marrons profitèrent de la possibilité d'émigrer en Sierra Leone. Toutefois, quelques-uns restèrent en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Les informations sur la vie des Afro-Néo-Écossais durant la période allant de 1793 à 1812 sont rares. Un document datant de 1812, possiblement écrit par William Sabatier, et préservé dans les dossiers du Bureau des colonies, en donne un aperçu intéressant. L'auteur remarque que les Néo-Écossais noirs étaient réputés pour leur bon travail comme domestiques et marins et qu'ils étaient fiers de leur communauté et de leur culture. La même source nous dit que près d'un sixième de la population de Halifax était de race noire.


Résultats 1 de 15 de 18 de votre recherche:

 suivante

Annonce au sujet d'un esclave fugitif
date: 15 March 1794
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Weekly Chronicle 15 March 1794 p. 1 (microfilm no. 8165)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Cas d'un garçon noir emmené illégalement aux Antilles
date: 22 April 1794
numéro de référence: Shelburne County Court of General Sessions of the Peace  Nova Scotia Archives RG 34-321 J 145

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

« Leonard Parkinson, capitaine des Marrons »
date: published 1796
Engraver: Abraham Raimbach
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives B. Edwards, The Proceedings of the Governor and Assembly of Jamaica, in Regard to the Maroon Negroes… to which is prefixed an Introductory Account… of the Maroons… (London, 1796) (F210 /Ed9)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Acte de vente d'un enfant esclave
date: 14 July 1796
numéro de référence: Chesley family fonds  Nova Scotia Archives MG 1 vol. 177 no. 75

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Rapport de Wentworth sur les Marrons
date: 21 April 1797
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 52 no. 41 pp. 53-60 (microfilm no. 15238)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Instructions de Wentworth au sujet des Marrons jamaïquains récemment arrivés
date: 29 June 1797
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 419 no. 19 (microfilm no. 15460)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Lettre de Sir John Wentworth au Duc de Portland
date: 23 June 1798
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 52 no. 57 (pp. 186-9) (microfilm no. 15238)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Annonce au sujet d'un serviteur sous contrat de servitude fugitif, James Wallace
date: 11 June 1799
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Royal Gazette 11 June 1799 p. 3 (microfilm no. 8168)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Lettre de sir John Wentworth à Richard Molesworth
date: 15 January 1800
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 52 pp. 377-9 (microfilm no. 15238)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Annonce pour la location d'une femme esclave
date: 24 June 1800
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Royal Gazette 24 June 1800 p. 3 (microfilm no. 8168)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

R. v. Andrews (Acte d'accusation de Samuel Andrews Jr. pour le meurtre d'une « femme noire du nom de Jude »)
date: 19 May 1801
numéro de référence: Shelburne County Special Court of Oyer and Terminer  Nova Scotia Archives RG 42 SH vol. 1 file 4

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Inventaire des biens de Benjamin Belcher de la rue Belcher (près de Port Williams)
date: 1802
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Kings County probate records estate case file B7 (microfilm copy only available at NSARM, microfilm no. 19779)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

DeLancey v. Woodin (déclaration du plaignant contre le défendeur pour avoir recelé Jack, un esclave fugitif)
date: 20 August 1803
numéro de référence: Supreme Court of Nova Scotia — Annapolis County case files  Nova Scotia Archives RG 39 C (AP) vol. 1 file 2

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Pétition de John Taylor et d'autres propriétaires d'esclaves
date: 3 December 1807
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia House of Assembly  Nova Scotia Archives RG 5 series A vol. 14 no. 49 (microfilm no. 15591)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

Nomination de Silas Hardy de Granville au poste de capitaine d'une unité de milice noire
date: 17 November 1808
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives MG 100 vol. 161 no. 36a (microfilm no. 15201)

theme: Le déclin de l'esclavage, 1793-1812

   Page 1 of 2: 1 2  suivante