Nova Scotia Archives

African Nova Scotians

in the Age of Slavery and Abolition


Black Refugees, 1813-1834

The War of 1812, like the War of Independence thirty years earlier, provided enslaved African Americans with the opportunity to escape the chains of the "peculiar institution." In April 1814, British military authorities offered Americans who deserted to the British side the opportunity of entering into British military service or going as free settlers to one of the British colonies. The offer was issued in part as a response to escaped slaves who had already come over to the British side. Although not addressed specifically to slaves, the intent of the proclamation was clear.

About 4000 enslaved African Americans, primarily from coastal Georgia and the Chesapeake region (Maryland and Virginia), seized this opportunity to escape from slavery. About 2000 of these Black Refugees sailed to Nova Scotia between September 1813 and August 1816 on both naval vessels and private transports chartered by the British. The remainder were settled in Trinidad and other British colonies. Of the 2000 who came to Nova Scotia, 400 or more were settled in New Brunswick in May 1815.

Once in Nova Scotia, the Black Refugees encountered a government and society that resented their presence. In fact, the authorities tried repeatedly to remove them. In 1817 Lieutenant Governor Lord Dalhousie recommended to the British government that the refugees be returned to the United States or sent to Sierra Leone. However, he discarded the plan after visiting them and discovering that "none of them are willing to return to their masters, or to America."

Despite this setback, Dalhousie soon arranged for the Black Refugees to be resettled in Trinidad. He waged an extensive campaign to convince them to leave. However, only 95 chose to emigrate to Trinidad in 1821. This was in sharp contrast to the exodus of free black Nova Scotians to Sierra Leone in 1792. The overwhelming majority of black settlers during and after the War of 1812 chose to stay in Nova Scotia, refusing to go to any country where slavery still existed.

The Black Refugees, like the Black Loyalists before them, faced extremely difficult circumstances. The colony fell into an economic depression at the end of the War of 1812 and European immigration increased. Many of the newly arrived black men could not find work, while the women found poorly paid employment as domestics and charwomen.

The Black Refugees settled at Preston, Hammonds Plains, Beechville (‘Refugee Hill’), Five Mile Plains, Beaverbank, Prospect Road, Halifax, Dartmouth, and elsewhere. The largest community was Preston, followed by what is now Upper Hammonds Plains and then Beechville. The majority of Black Refugees were given licenses of occupation for generally poor-quality ten-acre lots that could not reasonably be expected to produce enough crops for a family to survive. Those who managed to grow enough food were generous in helping their starving neighbours – until, at the end of the long winters, all were destitute. Since the Black Refugees had licenses of occupation they could not sell the land they lived on, to enable them to move to another part of Nova Scotia. Finally, in 1834, 30 men at Upper Hammonds Plains received a grant of 600 acres. Still later, in 1842, a grant of 1800 acres at Preston replaced the licenses of occupation issued in 1816. Some of the Black Refugees were able to purchase land, for example, Tobin Maxfield and nine others, all surnamed Hamilton, near Fletchers Brook (Wellington) in 1815; and Isaac Fitchet and Sergeant Pelotte in the township of Windsor (Five Mile Plains) in 1816. Some others leased land from private landowners.

Most of the Black Refugees attempted to supplement their farm produce by day labour or other employment. For example, they worked on ships and some found employment as carpenters in Halifax. Black women went to the Saturday market to sell farm produce, baskets and anything else that would have helped to make ends meet. The 1816-17 census of the town of Halifax shows a black population of 745, out of a total population of 11,156. A comparison with earlier census returns shows that over half of these black Haligonians came after the War of 1812.

The year 1834 saw the implementation of the 1833 act which abolished slavery throughout the British colonies. For black people this was an important victory. However, many white Nova Scotians feared its consequences. They believed that the end of slavery might mean more black immigration. In an effort to prevent an influx of Blacks from the Caribbean, the Nova Scotia legislature passed legislation that would have banned the entry of former slaves from the British West Indies. However, the British government disallowed the law, on the grounds that it would result in unequal treatment of different classes of His Majesty’s subjects.

African Nova Scotians remained keenly aware of the continuance of slavery in the United States. In 1856, the minister responsible for St. John’s Anglican Church, Preston, reported that the Baptist inhabitants of Preston brought their children to him for baptism. They gave as their reason the need for a certificate of baptism to protect their children’s freedom should they ever travel to the southern United States. A few years earlier, a black woman from Porters Lake had asked the same minister to baptize her son who was about to go to sea. Her intent was to obtain proof of his status, to prevent him from being enslaved if he were ever captured.

The story of the Black Refugees of 1813-16 is not only about struggle and survival, but also about community development. The refugees arrived destitute, homeless, and in many cases sick. The very different systems of slavery, in terms of labour and culture, in coastal Georgia as opposed to the Chesapeake, made the Black Refugees a diverse group. They developed a shared experience and culture only after they settled in Nova Scotia.

Yet, by 1834, the Black Refugees had created communities with African Baptist churches and a significant rate of school attendance. The development of benevolent societies such as the African Friendly Society and the African Abolition Society followed soon after. Those who settled near Halifax took an active part in the economic life of the town, most notably as market gardeners and seamen. William Deer, the Preston innkeeper, a first generation War of 1812 immigrant, and William Hall, Victoria Cross winner and second generation immigrant, are but two examples of how this second wave of African Nova Scotian settlers left their mark. Despite ongoing struggles with poverty, prejudice and poor and insufficient land, the Black Refugees of 1813-16 achieved much in the short span of twenty years.


Results 1 to 15 of 75 from your search:

next


"List of 7 American slaves, deserted from the enemy — on board His Majesty's sloop Rifleman"
Date: 28 September 1813
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 420 no. 1 (microfilm no. 15464)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

Admiral Cochrane's proclamation
Date: 2 April 1814
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 111 pages 99-100 (microfilm no. 15262)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

"Ship news": several hundred black refugees arrive at Halifax on 1 September 1814
Date: 3 September 1814
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Acadian Recorder 3 September 1814 p.3 (microfilm no. 5193)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

Melville Island military prison, Halifax, which served as temporary accommodation for African American refugees after the War of 1812
Date: 29 May 1929
Photographer: Gauvin & Gentzel
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Photo Collection: Army: General

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

"Return of black people at Halifax arrived from the Chesapeake"
Date: [1815]
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 305 no. 7 (microfilm no. 15387)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

''List of Blacks recently brought from the United States of America and settled on the Windsor Road''
Date: [1815]
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 420 no. 133 (microfilm no. 15464)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

"Return of black persons lately brought to the province from the United States..."
Date: 6 March 1815
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 411 no. 78 (microfilm no. 15457)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

Address of the House of Assembly to Lieutenant Governor Sherbrooke opposing black refugee immigration
Date: 1 April 1815
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Journal of the House of Assembly 1815 p. 107 (microfilm no. 3528)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

Contract between Lewis DeMolitor and the collector of customs for the port of Halifax to supply provisions for black refugees
Date: 1 May 1815
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 420 no. 17 (microfilm no. 15464)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

Indenture of David Dize
Date: 18 May 1815
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives MG 1 vol. 770A no. 57

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

"Names of men of colour who are settled upon lands conveyed to them by Henry H. Cogswell...at the Head of the North West Arm"
Date: 2 November 1815
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 420 no. 93 (microfilm no. 15464)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

"Dr Head's report respecting black families settled at Preston"
Date: 1 February 1816
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 419 no. 47 (microfilm no. 15460)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

"Report of lands cleared by the people of colour in the settlement of Preston..."
Date: 9 May 1816
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 421 no. 3 (microfilm no. 15464)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

Plot plan of lands at Preston
Date: 19 November 1816
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 419 no. 29

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834

Letter From Lord Dalhousie to Earl Bathurst about the black refugees
Date: 29 December 1816
Reference no.: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 112 pp. 6-9 (microfilm no. 15262)

Theme: Black Refugees, 1813-1834
   Page 1 of 6: 1 2 3 4 5 6  next

Nova Scotia Archives

Les Afro-Néo-Écossais

à l'époque de l'esclavage et de l'abolition


Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

La Guerre de 1812, tout comme la guerre de l'Indépendance trente ans auparavant, fournit aux esclaves afro-américains l'occasion d'échapper aux chaînes de ce qu'on appelait « l'Institution particulière ». En avril 1814, les autorités militaires britanniques offrirent aux Américains qui désertaient en faveur des Britanniques la possibilité de s'enrôler au service de l'armée britannique ou d'aller comme colons libres dans l'une des colonies britanniques. Cette offre fut faite en partie en réponse aux esclaves fugitifs qui s'étaient déjà ralliés aux Britanniques. Bien qu'elle ne s'adressait pas spécifiquement aux esclaves, l'intention de la proclamation était claire.

Environ 4000 esclaves afro-américains, venus principalement de la côte de Géorgie et de la région de Chesapeake (Maryland et Virginie), profitèrent de cette occasion pour échapper à l'esclavage. Près de 2000 d'entre eux arrivèrent en Nouvelle-Écosse entre septembre 1813 et août 1816 sur des navires de la marine et des bateaux privés affrétés par les Britanniques. Les autres s'établirent à Trinidad et dans d'autres colonies britanniques. Parmi les 2000 personnes arrivées en Nouvelle-Écosse, 400 ou plus s'établirent au Nouveau-Brunswick en mai 1815.

Une fois en Nouvelle-Écosse, les colons afro-américains furent confrontés à un gouvernement et à une société qui supportaient mal leur présence. En fait, les autorités tentèrent à maintes reprises de les expulser. En 1817, le lieutenant-gouverneur lord Dalhousie recommanda au gouvernement britannique que les réfugiés soient renvoyés aux États-Unis ou bien envoyés en Sierra Leone. Toutefois, il abandonna son projet après leur avoir rendu visite et avoir découvert que « aucun d'entre eux ne souhaitait retourner chez son maître, ou en Amérique ».

En dépit de ce recul, Dalhousie prit bientôt des dispositions pour que les nouveaux colons soient déménagés à Trinidad. Il lança une campagne intensive pour les convaincre de partir. Toutefois, seulement 95 personnes choisirent d'émigrer à Trinidad en 1821. Ceci contrastait nettement avec l'exode des Afro-Néo-Écossais libres vers la Sierra Leone en 1792. L'immense majorité des colons afro-néo-écossais durant et après la Guerre de 1812 choisirent de rester en Nouvelle-Écosse, refusant d'aller dans un quelconque pays où existait encore l'esclavage.

Les nouveaux colons afro-néo-écossais, comme la génération qui les avait précédés, furent confrontés à des conditions extrêmement difficiles. À la fin de la Guerre de 1812, la colonie sombrait dans la dépression économique et l'immigration européenne augmentait. Un grand nombre d'hommes noirs nouvellement arrivés ne pouvaient pas trouver de travail et les femmes trouvaient seulement des emplois mal payés de domestiques ou de femmes de ménage.

Les immigrants s'établirent à Preston, Hammonds Plains et Beechville ('Refugee Hill'), Five Mile Plains, Beaverbank, Prospect Road, Halifax, Dartmouth et ailleurs. La communauté la plus importante était celle de Preston, suivie par ce qui est maintenant Upper Hammonds Plains et puis Beechville. Les colons noirs reçurent des permis d'occupation pour des parcelles de terre de dix acres, souvent de médiocre qualité et qui ne pouvaient pas raisonnablement produire une récolte suffisante pour permettre à une famille de survivre. Ceux qui réussissaient à produire suffisamment de nourriture se montraient généreux à l'égard de leurs voisins affamés - mais, à la fin des longs hivers, ils se retrouvaient tous sans ressources. Dans la mesure où les colons noirs avaient seulement des permis d'occupation, ils ne pouvaient pas vendre les terres sur lesquelles ils vivaient pour aller s'installer dans une autre région de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Finalement, en 1834, 30 hommes de Upper Hammonds Plains reçurent une allocation de 600 acres. Un peu plus tard, en 1842, une allocation de 1800 acres à Preston remplaça les permis d'occupation délivrés en 1816. Certains des colons furent en mesure d'acheter des terres, par exemple, Tobin Maxfield et neuf autres, portant tous le nom de famille d'Hamilton, près de Fletchers Brook (Wellington) en 1815; et Isaac Fitchet et Sergeant Pelotte dans le canton de Windsor (Five Mile Plains) en 1816. Quelques autres louaient des terres à des propriétaires fonciers.

La plupart des colons noirs tentaient de compléter leur production agricole en travaillant comme journalier ou autre. Par exemple, ils travaillaient sur les bateaux ou trouvaient de l'emploi comme charpentiers à Halifax. Les femmes noires allaient au marché du samedi pour vendre des produits fermiers, des paniers et toute autre chose qui pouvait les aider à joindre les deux bouts. Le recensement de 1816-1817 de la ville de Halifax révèle une population noire de 745 personnes, sur une population totale de 11 156. Une comparaison avec les recensements précédents montre que plus de la moitié de ces habitants noirs de Halifax étaient venus après la Guerre de 1812.

L'an 1834 vit la mise en application de la Loi de 1833 qui abolissait l'esclavage dans toutes les colonies Britanniques. Pour les Noirs, ceci constituait une importante victoire. Toutefois, de nombreux Néo-Écossais blancs craignaient ces conséquences. Ils pensaient que la fin de l'esclavage pourrait signifier davantage d'immigration noire. Afin d'éviter l'arrivée massive de Noirs venus des Caraïbes, la législature néo-écossaise promulgua une loi qui interdisait l'immigration d'anciens esclaves des Antilles britanniques. Toutefois, le gouvernement britannique rejeta cette loi, sous le prétexte qu'elle entraînerait un traitement inéquitable des différentes classes des sujets de Sa Majesté.

Les Afro-Néo-Écossais restèrent profondément conscients de la poursuite de l'esclavage aux États-Unis. En 1856, le pasteur responsable de l'Église anglicane St. John, à Preston, signala que les habitants baptistes de Preston lui amenaient leurs enfants à baptiser. Le motif donné était la nécessité d'un certificat de baptême pour protéger la liberté de leurs enfants au cas où ceux-ci seraient emmenés dans le sud des États-Unis. Quelques années plus tôt, une femme de Porters Lake avait demandé au même pasteur de baptiser son fils qui s'apprêtait à partir en mer. Son intention était d'obtenir la preuve de son statut d'homme libre et d'empêcher qu'il ne soit réduit à l'esclavage s'il était capturé.

L'histoire des colons afro-néo-écossais de 1813-1816 ne concerne pas uniquement la lutte et la survie mais aussi le développement de la communauté. Les colons arrivèrent sans ressources, sans abri et bien souvent malades. À cause des systèmes d'esclavage très différents, en termes de main-d'œuvre et de culture, qui prévalaient sur la côte de Géorgie et dans la région de Chesapeake, les réfugiés étaient un groupe très diversifié. Ils développèrent une expérience et une culture communes seulement après s'être établis en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Pourtant, dès 1834, ces colons afro-néo-écossais avaient créé des communautés avec des églises baptistes africaines et un taux élevé de fréquentation scolaire. La création de sociétés de bienfaisance comme l'African Friendly Society et l'African Abolition Society suivit peu de temps après. Ceux qui s'établirent près de Halifax prirent une part active à la vie économique de la ville, notamment comme maraîchers et marins. William Deer, l'aubergiste de Preston, immigrant de première génération de la Guerre de 1812, et William Hall, décoré de la Croix de Victoria et immigrant de deuxième génération, sont seulement deux exemples de la manière dont cette seconde vague de colons afro-néo-écossais ont marqué leur époque. En dépit de leur lutte constante contre la pauvreté, les préjugés, la médiocrité et l'insuffisance des terres, les colons afro-néo-écossais de 1813-1816 accomplirent beaucoup durant cette courte période de vingt ans.


Résultats 1 de 15 de 75 de votre recherche:

 suivante

« Liste de 7 esclaves américains, qui ont désertés l'armée ennemie — à bord du sloop de Sa Majesté Rifleman »
date: 28 September 1813
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 420 no. 1 (microfilm no. 15464)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

Proclamation de l'amiral Cochrane
date: 2 April 1814
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 111 pages 99-100 (microfilm no. 15262)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

« Ship News » : plusieurs centaines de réfugiés noirs arrivent à Halifax le 1er septembre 1814
date: 3 September 1814
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Acadian Recorder 3 September 1814 p.3 (microfilm no. 5193)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

La prison militaire de Melville Island, Halifax, servit d'abri temporaire aux réfugiés afro-américains après la Guerre de 1812
date: 29 May 1929
Photographer: Gauvin & Gentzel
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Photo Collection: Army: General

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

« Liste des Noirs arrivés à Halifax sur le Chesapeake »
date: [1815]
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 305 no. 7 (microfilm no. 15387)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

« Liste des Noirs récemment amenés des États Unis d'Amérique et établis sur la route Windsor »
date: [1815]
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 420 no. 133 (microfilm no. 15464)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

« Liste des Noirs des États-Unis récemment amenés dans la province... »
date: 6 March 1815
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 411 no. 78 (microfilm no. 15457)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

Discours de l'Assemblée législative au lieutenant-gouverneur Sherbrooke s'opposant à l'immigration des réfugiés noirs
date: 1 April 1815
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Journal of the House of Assembly 1815 p. 107 (microfilm no. 3528)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

Contrat entre Lewis DeMolitor et le percepteur des douanes du port de Halifax pour fournir des provisions destinées aux réfugiés noirs
date: 1 May 1815
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 420 no. 17 (microfilm no. 15464)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

Contrat de servitude de David Dize
date: 18 May 1815
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives MG 1 vol. 770A no. 57

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

« Nom des hommes de couleur qui sont établis sur les terres qui leur ont été cédées par Henry H. Cogswell... à la pointe du North West Arm »
date: 2 November 1815
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 420 no. 93 (microfilm no. 15464)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

« Rapport du Dr Head sur les familles noires établies à Preston »
date: 1 February 1816
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 419 no. 47 (microfilm no. 15460)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

« Rapport sur les terres défrichées par les gens de couleur dans le village de Preston... »
date: 9 May 1816
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 421 no. 3 (microfilm no. 15464)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

Plan cadastral des terres de Preston
date: 19 November 1816
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 419 no. 29

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

Lettre de lord Dalhousie au comte de Bathurst au sujet des réfugiés noirs
date: 29 December 1816
numéro de référence: Commissioner of Public Records  Nova Scotia Archives RG 1 vol. 112 pp. 6-9 (microfilm no. 15262)

theme: Réfugiés noirs, 1813-1834

   Page 1 of 6: 1 2 3 4 5 6  suivante