Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy (FOIPOP) Act Review Committee

9th Meeting - July 29, 2003 @ 12:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Minutes

In attendance: Peter O'Brien, Chair

Jim Meek, Committee Member Susan Potts, Committee Member Bill Wilson, Committee Member

Observers: Crystal Taylor, FOIPOP Admin Assistant - Technical Support

Robert Doherty, FOIPOP Coordinator - Technical Support (available upon

request)

Absent: Keith Corcoran, Committee Member

1) Minutes of the Previous Meeting

• The minutes of July 15, 2003 were approved and will be posted on the Advisory Committee location on the N.S. Justice Web Site.

2) Review additional submissions received by the committee

• There was considerable discussion on the submissions received by:

Darce Fardy (Review Office); Michel Samson (Liberal Caucus Office); Debbie Kampen (Town of Trenton); Paul Schneiderereit (Canadian Association of Journalists); Connie Brauer, Dean Beeby (Canadian Press/Broadcast News); Murray MacDonald; Mary Bowen; Karen Crombie (The Council of NS University Presidents); Anthony Weagle; Darrell Dexter (NDP Caucus Office); Joint submission by: Victoria Rees(NS Barristers' Society), Cameron Little (College of Physicians and Surgeons of NS), Carolyn Moore (College of Registered Nurses of NS), Robert Coswill (Chartered Accountants of NS), and D.M. Bonang (Provincial Dental Board of NS); Dale Dunlop (Walker Dunlop); Joan Jessome (NS Government and General Employees Union); Mark Butler (Ecology Action Centre); D.M. Bonang (Provincial Dental Board of NS); Nancy Milford (Capital District Health Authority); and George Sutherland (Michelin).

3) Consultations with Information Privacy Commissioners

- The committee decided that it will not consult with the IPC's across Canada.
- The FOIPOP Coordinator will inform the offices.

4) Other Business

• The committee was provided with the references to "information" and "records" within the

Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy legislation.

5) Next meeting

• The next meeting is scheduled for August 19, 2003 (This was later rescheduled for August 20, 2003).

6) Adjournment

• The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:00 p.m.