Aboriginal and Intergovernmental Relations

This area of our work includes working collaboratively with Aboriginal communities and organizations and other levels of government to coordinate Aboriginal and tri-partite initiatives; develop strategies and build and maintain a sustainable foundation for Aboriginal-Government relations.

The following are some key areas of activity:

Assembly of Nova Scotia Mi'kmaq Chiefs and Nova Scotia Cabinet Joint Meeting

Beginning in 2008, the Assembly and the Cabinet began meeting on an annual basis to discuss progress and challenges.

Photo from 2009 meeting in Paqtnkek

News Release from 2009
News Release from 2008

Mi'kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Tripartite Forum

Since 1997, the Mi'kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Tripartite Forum has been the discussion vehicle of choice for government to work with its First Nations partners and collaborate on social and economic issues that affect First Nation communities. In an effort to fuel more positive, tangible results, the Forum recently adopted a project management approach to its committee work. Already, this approaching is propelling the work plans of each committee forward and demonstrating results. Working committees include: Culture and Heritage; Economic Development; Social; Education; Sport and Recreation; Justice and; Health. The work of each working committee is enabled by the support of both a Steering Committee as well as a Officials and Executive Committees, who cap off the Forum's governance structure.

To learn more about the work of the forum, please visit the Tripartite Forum website.

Meeting of the Premiers and National Aboriginal Organization Leaders

July 25, 2012

Lunenburg, Nova Scotia Premiers and leaders of national Aboriginal organizations, led by Premier Darrell Dexter, meet in Lunenburg to discuss issues of mutual importance. Priority areas are economic development, education, and violence against aboriginal women and girls. There are five national Aboriginal organizations:

Aboriginal Affairs Working Group (made up of provincial and territorial ministers of Aboriginal Affairs and leaders of the national Aboriginal organizations) communiqué, April 2012
Aboriginal Affairs Working Group Economic Development success stories web page
Backgrounders on Aboriginal people in Nova Scotia
Read the Press Release
View Photos from the Meeting on our Official Flickr Page

Aboriginal Affairs Working Group

In August 2009, Premiers provided direction to their respective Ministers of Aboriginal Affairs to work with the five National Aboriginal Organizations NAO) Leaders and the Federal government to examine how governments and NAOs can work more effectively to improve the outcomes for First Nation, Inuit and Metis peoples.

On October 29, 2009, Provincial and Territorial Ministers and NAO Leaders established the Aboriginal Affairs Working Group (AAWG) and held their first meeting in Toronto. There was an agreement to work together to develop recommendations, and identify actions and strategies to improve the lives of Aboriginal peoples. In April of 2010 members of the working group agreed to work toward three common goals:

  • Closing the graduation gap;
  • Closing the income gap; and
  • Ending violence against Aboriginal women and girls

Aboriginal Affairs Working Group Report from the April 28, 2010 Meeting (pdf)

Meeting of Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers responsible for Aboriginal Affairs and Leaders of the National Aboriginal Organizations, April 11, 2012, Toronto

AAWG Group Photo

Front Row (Left to Right): Melanie Omeniho, Métis National Council; David Chartrand, Métis National Council; Jeannette Corbiere Lavell, Native Women’s Association of Canada; Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, Assembly of First Nations; The Hon. Kathleen Wynne, Ontario; Betty Ann Lavallée, Congress of Aboriginal Peoples; The Hon. Eva Aariak, Premier of Nunavut; Elisapee Sheutiapik, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami.

Back Row (Left to Right): Brian Skabar, Nova Scotia; The Hon. Nick McGrath, Newfoundland and Labrador; The Hon. Robert McLeod, Premier of the Northwest Territories; The Hon. Eric Robinson, Manitoba; The Hon. Geoffrey Kelley, Québec; The Hon. David Alward, Premier of New Brunswick; Matt McGuire, Prince Edward Island.

Aboriginal Affairs Working Group Communiqué from the April 11 2012 Meeting (pdf)