Nova Scotia Archives

Bluenose: A Canadian Icon

Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Within two weeks of winning the 1921 International Fishermen's Race, Bluenose was already larger-than-life and well on its way to becoming a Canadian icon. At first the excitement was mostly confined to Atlantic Canada and New England, where it was understood that the victories of the early years "brought Halifax and Lunenburg, and Nova Scotia generally, to the attention of thousands of people who never before had thought of these places as anything more than names."

Angus Walters was hailed as "the man of the hour" and a role model everywhere for youth growing up into the seafaring life. His crew were "courageous men...identified with a great industry," and the annual races were seen as an opportunity for "international friendship" beyond the confines of Nova Scotia. Bluenose's primary role as a Grand Banks schooner was also heavily promoted, because this reinforced Nova Scotia as a continuing player in the offshore fishery, wooden shipbuilding, and international trade—at a time when the province's leadership in all three was beginning to fade.

It was in the depths of the Great Depression that Bluenose grew into a truly national symbol as a floating advertisement for Canada, its people and its maritime heritage. Officially representing the country at the Chicago World's Fair (1933) and at the Silver Jubilee of King George V in England (1935) was a large responsibility for a tiny schooner. It brought out the best in Bluenose and its crew. Tough, elegant, resourceful and dependable, refusing to be defeated in anything, the vessel sailed into the hearts of Canadians as something larger than themselves — and again, at a time when tangible expressions of these values were badly needed. As the Toronto Evening Telegram observed, "Her name is household word. She has knit Canada together."

The schooner's fame was confirmed in 1929, when the Canadian Postal Service issued a distinctive blue stamp known as the 'Fifty-cent Bluenose Commemorative' to honour the vessel's racing record. Cult status was assured in 1937 when the image of an unnamed but unmistakable salt-banker under full sail first appeared on the Canadian dime. The image remains on the coin to this day, and the currency is known to everyone as the 'Bluenose dime'.

Astute product marketing has always followed in Bluenose's wake — corporate interests have been quick to identify and promote the commercial value that exists in the schooner's enduring, indefinable allure. In the early days it was calendars, milk, paint, tea, skis, even underwear. Ginger ale followed soon after, produced and marketed by marine architect William Roué's family bottling company. In the 1940s, native-born photographer Wallace R. MacAskill produced several limited-edition books on Nova Scotia and the sea, featuring the Bluenose and introducing a new generation to the elegance and grace of vessels under sail.

Since the arrival of Bluenose II in the 1960s, commodification has continued—beer, books, clothing, trinkets and related products are constant, virtually subliminal reminders of the indelible image engraved on our collective memory. In the end, Bluenose remains—a symbol, an icon, a lingering reminder of what the world of the Grand Banks fishing schooners was like in all its toughness, speed, elemental danger and terrible beauty.


Results 1 to 15 of 25 from your search:

next


Bluenose Sails Away, 1921
Date: 1921
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040025

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Take back your Golden Fiddles / And we'll beat to open sea
Date: 1921
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040028

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Bluenose off McNabs Island 1922
Date: 1922
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040046

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Starboard Lookout
Date: 1933
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: Maurice Crosby Nova Scotia Archives 20040073

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

The Famous Bluenose
Date: 1930s
Reference no.: Photo Collection Nova Scotia Archives Transportation & Communication: Ships: Bluenose

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

B.H. Anchor Marine Paints used exclusively on the Bluenose
Date: 1921
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 10 November 1921, p.37

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

The International Schooner Race
Date: 1921
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 10 November 1921, p.26

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Order To-day Your Calendars for 1923
Date: 1922
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 9 November 1922, p.13

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Stamp, 1929
Date: 1929
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Mr. F.B. Miller, of Stanfield's, Limited, presenting Stanfield's Silk Underwear to the Captain and Crew of the Bluenose
Date: 1933
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 11 May 1933, p.34

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Bluenose Ski
Date: 1933
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HE561/P83: Port and Province, January 1933, p.21

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Bluenose Leads
Date: 1933
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 11 May 1933, p.39

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

A Wonderful Vessel – And A Wonderful Milk!
Date: 1933
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 25 May 1933, p.55

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

Two Champions
Date: 1930s
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: F91 /N85 /G94 /box 2 no. 23a: Rambles Through Scenic Nova Scotia. A Land of Scenic and Historic Wonders and the Sportsman's Paradise, p.22

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon

The Bluenose – The Fastest Fishing Vessel Afloat
Date: 1935
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Library: F91 /N85 /G94 /box 2 no. 18: The Relief Map Directory of Nova Scotia, 1935, p.32

Theme: Bluenose as Canadian Icon
   Page 1 of 2: 1 2  next

Nova Scotia Archives

Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Deux semaines après avoir gagné l'International Fishermen's Race de 1921, le Bluenose était déjà plus grand que nature et sur le point de devenir un symbole canadien. Au début, l'enthousiasme se limitait surtout au Canada atlantique et à la Nouvelle-Angleterre, où l'on savait que les victoires des premières années « portaient Halifax et Lunenburg, et la Nouvelle-Écosse en général, à l'attention de milliers de gens pour qui, auparavant, ces endroits n'étaient rien d'autre que de simples noms. »

On disait d'Angus Walters qu'il était « l'homme de l'heure » et un modèle de comportement pour les jeunes de partout qui, un jour, adopteraient la vie de marin. Son équipage se composait d' « hommes courageux... associés à une grande industrie », et les courses annuelles étaient l'occasion d'ouvrir la voie à une « amitié internationale » qui dépassait les confins de la Nouvelle-Écosse. On faisait aussi beaucoup la promotion du rôle principal du Bluenose, soit celui de goélette de pêche sur les Grands Bancs, parce que cela renforçait le fait que la Nouvelle-Écosse continuait à jouer un rôle dans la pêche hauturière, la construction de navires en bois et le commerce international, et cela à une époque où le leadership de la province dans ces trois secteurs commençait à diminuer.

C'est au plus fort de la Crise de 1929 que le Bluenose est réellement devenu un symbole national en tant que publicité flottante pour le Canada, ses habitants et son patrimoine maritime. Représenter officiellement le pays lors de l'Exposition universelle de Chicago (1933) et lors du jubilé d'argent du roi George V en Angleterre (1935) était une grande responsabilité pour une si petite goélette. Ce rôle a montré le Bluenose et son équipage sous son meilleur jour. Robuste, élégante, ingénieuse et fiable, refusant d'échouer peu importe l'entreprise, la goélette s'est taillé une place dans le cœur des Canadiens, elle est devenue quelque chose de plus grand qu'eux à une époque où le besoin d'une expression concrète de ces valeurs se faisait cruellement sentir. Comme l'a fait remarquer l'Evening Telegram de Toronto, « Son nom est sur les lèvres de tous les Canadiens. Elle a vraiment rapproché le pays. »

La célébrité de la goélette a été officialisée en 1929 lorsque le Service postal canadien a émis un timbre d'un bleu distinctif appelé « timbre commémoratif de 50 cents du Bluenose » en hommage à toutes ses victoires passées. Le statut d'objet culte est assuré en 1937 lorsque l'image d'une goélette de pêche sur les Grands Bancs, toutes voiles déployées, que l'on ne nomme pas mais que l'on reconnaît bien, apparaît pour la première fois sur la pièce de 10 sous canadienne, pièce qui porte d'ailleurs toujours cette image.

Le marketing astucieux de produits a toujours suivi dans le sillage du Bluenose; des intérêts commerciaux ont rapidement reconnu et exploité la valeur commerciale qui existe dans l'allure indéfinissable et durable de la goélette. Au début, il y avait des calendriers, du lait, de la peinture, du thé, des skis et même des sous-vêtements. La bière au gingembre a suivi peu après, produite et commercialisée par l'entreprise d'embouteillage de la famille de l'architecte maritime William Roué. Dans les années 1940, le photographe canadien Wallace R. MacAskill a produit plusieurs livres en édition limitée sur la Nouvelle-Écosse et la mer, mettant en vedette le Bluenose et présentant à une nouvelle génération l'élégance et la grâce de navires toutes voiles déployées.

Depuis l'arrivée du Bluenose II dans les années 1960, la réification se poursuit : la bière, les livres, les vêtements, les souvenirs et autres produits connexes rappellent constamment et presque de manière subliminale l'image indélébile gravée dans notre mémoire collective. En fin de compte, le Bluenose demeure un symbole, une image, un rappel persistant de ce qu'était le monde des goélettes de pêche sur les Grands Bancs — sa vigueur, sa vitesse, ses risques fondamentaux et sa beauté parfois effroyable.


Résultats 1 de 15 de 25 de votre recherche:

 suivante


Le Bluenose prend la mer, 1921
date: 1921
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040025

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Take back your Golden Fiddles / And we'll beat to open sea
date: 1921
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040028

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Le Bluenose au large de l’Île McNabs, 1922
date: 1922
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040046

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Vigie à tribord
date: 1933
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: Maurice Crosby Nova Scotia Archives 20040073

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Le célèbre Bluenose
date: 1930s
numéro de référence: Photo Collection Nova Scotia Archives Transportation & Communication: Ships: Bluenose

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Seules les peintures marines B.H. Anchor sont utilisées sur le Bluenose
date: 1921
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 10 November 1921, p.37

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

La course internationale des goélettes
date: 1921
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 10 November 1921, p.26

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Commandez dès aujourd’hui vos calendriers pour 1923
date: 1922
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 9 November 1922, p.13

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Timbre-poste, 1929
date: 1929
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

M. F.B. Miller, de Stanfield's, Limited, présente les sous-vêtements de soie Stanfield au capitaine et à l’équipage du Bluenose
date: 1933
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 11 May 1933, p.34

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Les skis Bluenose
date: 1933
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HE561/P83: Port and Province, January 1933, p.21

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Le Bluenose est en tête
date: 1933
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 11 May 1933, p.39

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Un magnifique bateau – et un lait magnifique!
date: 1933
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: HF/M33: The Maritime Merchant, 25 May 1933, p.55

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Deux champions
date: 1930s
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: F91 /N85 /G94 /box 2 no. 23a: Rambles Through Scenic Nova Scotia. A Land of Scenic and Historic Wonders and the Sportsman's Paradise, p.22

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Le Bluenose – Le bateau de pêche le plus rapide du monde
date: 1935
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Library: F91 /N85 /G94 /box 2 no. 18: The Relief Map Directory of Nova Scotia, 1935, p.32

Theme: Le Bluenose, symbole canadien
   Page 1 of 2: 1 2  suivante