Nova Scotia Archives

Bluenose: A Canadian Icon

Before the Bluenose (1920)

Throughout the summer of 1920, yachting enthusiasts up and down the Atlantic seacoast were caught up in the excitement created by press coverage around the America's Cup. Regarded as the ultimate challenge in international yacht racing, the event was being held off Sandy Hook, New York, for the first time since 1903.

The contenders were elegant, sleek and expensive—the British challenger Shamrock IV matched against the American defender Resolute. Resolute was ultimately declared the winner, but not without a touch of the absurd—the final race had to be canceled, due to a 23-knot wind. These extreme racing machines were built so top-heavy with sail-power that anything more than the slightest breeze threatened to topple them into the waves.

Throughout Eastern Canada and New England—especially in the homes of seasoned Grand Banks fishermen from Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, and Gloucester, Massachusetts—there was great amusement as they read about this and laughed at what they considered to be a race meant for 'delicate' yachts, fit only for 'tender weather'. 'Real' fishing schooners regularly worked in such 'breezes'—and their hardy crews thought nothing of it.

Informal races had been held for years at the beginning of each fishing season, as Lunenburg and Gloucester schooners competed to be first to reach the Grand Banks. Increasingly, these men began to think about the sensation that an international race would generate if the contestants were true sailing vessels, working schooners like their own 'salt bankers'.

Interest in this idea was widespread along the Atlantic seaboard, and not only among deep-sea fishermen. It did not take long for a group of civic-minded individuals and sportsmen in Halifax, Nova Scotia, to come together in 1920 to do something about it. Under the leadership of Senator William H. Dennis—proprietor of the Halifax Herald Limited and publisher of The Halifax Herald and The Halifax Mail newspapers—they established the 'International Fishermen's Race' and donated 'The Halifax Herald's International Fishermen's Trophy,' to be awarded annually to the fastest vessel in the North Atlantic fishing fleet.

It was their belief that such a championship would be "a demonstration that the age of sail is not yet ended." Privately there was a lot more at stake, as old rivalries between seafaring Lunenburgers and Gloucestermen ran high. The championship was seen as an opportunity to settle, once and for all time, which community produced the best vessels and the hardiest men. This was no race for the faint-hearted—or for 23-knot winds.

The championship was codified by a formal Deed of Gift drawn up in 1921, which set forth a list of conditions which had to be met. The race was open only to vessels which had spent at least one season engaged in commercial deep-sea fishing on the Grand Banks. The course was to be 35 to 40 nautical miles, and it had to be completed within nine hours. The vessel which won the best two out of three Elimination Races would be the winner; the prize was set initially at no more than $5,000—a substantial amount of money in those days.

The first championship took place in the autumn of 1920. Elimination Races were held off Halifax and Gloucester to select two challengers for the final Trophy Races. In Halifax, eight Lunenburg and LaHave vessels lined up on 11 October for the 30-mile triangular course—Delawana, Gilbert B. Walters, Alcala, Mona Marie, Bernice Zinck, Freda M. Himmelman, Ruby L. Pentz and Independence.

Captain Angus Walters, skipper of the Gilbert B. Walters, had a reputation as a skilled master and was thought to be the likely winner. During the race, however, the Walters lost its foretopmast and fell behind. Captain Thomas Himmelman's Delawana won by more than five minutes, thereby earning the right to compete against the American challenger, Esperanto from Gloucester.

The Trophy Races were held off Halifax on 20 October and 1 November. Much to the dismay of the Nova Scotians, Esperanto won the first race by almost twenty minutes; the second race by seven minutes and fifteen seconds; and then, no third race being needed, promptly sailed home to Gloucester with the prize money—leaving behind some very annoyed Lunenburgers.


Results 1 to 12 of 12 from your search:



International Fishing Vessel Championship Trophy
Date: 1920
Reference no.: Tom Connors 'Old Sport' Nova Scotia Archives no. 572

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

The Halifax Herald's (International) Fishermen's Trophy: Conditions of Deed of Gift
Date: 1921
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F87.79.152

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Plan of first race course, W.J. Roué
Date: 5 October 1920
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F79.307.1

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Democracy
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040002

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Ruby L. Pentz, Elimination, Oct.11, 1920
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 241

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Grey Dawn; Alcala 1920
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 210

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Schooners Crowding the Starting Line
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040005

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Elimination Race, 1920
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 3917

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Elimination Races, 1920
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040007

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Elimination Races, 1920
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 3970

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Whitewings
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 6001

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)

Esperanto leading the Delawana
Date: 1920
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040010

Theme: Before the Bluenose (1920)
   Page 1 of 1: 1

Nova Scotia Archives

Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Durant l'été de 1920, les fervents de voile tout le long de la côte atlantique suivaient fiévreusement les reportages entourant l'America's Cup. Considérée comme le défi ultime en matière de course internationale de voiliers, la course se tenait au large de Sandy Hook, New York, pour la première fois depuis 1903.

Les concurrents étaient élégants, gracieux et chers – l'aspirant au titre, le navire britannique Shamrock IV affrontant le détenteur américain du titre, le Resolute. Le Resolute a finalement été déclaré gagnant, non sans une touche d'ironie dans toute l'affaire : la course finale a dû être annulée à cause de vents de 23 nœuds. Ces machines de course extrêmes étaient conçues avec tellement de voile au sommet des mâts qu'une simple brise un peu trop forte menaçait de les faire basculer dans les vagues.

Dans l'est du Canada et en Nouvelle-Angleterre, surtout chez les pêcheurs de Lunenburg, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et de Gloucester, au Massachusetts ' pêcheurs aguerris à la pêche sur les Grands Bancs ' on s'amusait beaucoup à lire ces reportages et on se riait de ce qu'on considérait comme une course pour des voiliers « délicats », conçus uniquement pour un « temps clément ». Les « vraies » goélettes de pêche travaillaient régulièrement dans ces « brises », et leurs équipages intrépides y étaient bien habitués.

Pendant des années, des courses informelles se tenaient au début de chaque saison de pêche, les goélettes de Lunenburg et celles de Gloucester se mesurant les unes aux autres pour voir lesquelles seraient les premières à atteindre les Grands Bancs. Ces hommes pensaient de plus en plus à l'intérêt que pourrait susciter une course internationale si les concurrents étaient de vrais voiliers, des goélettes de travail comme leurs propres goélettes de pêche sur les Grands Bancs.

L'idée a suscité beaucoup d'intérêt sur toute la côte atlantique, et pas seulement chez les pêcheurs hauturiers. Il aura fallu peu de temps pour qu'un groupe d'individus et de sportifs à l'esprit civique de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, se réunissent en 1920 pour donner suite à ce projet. Sous la direction du sénateur William H. Dennis, propriétaire de Halifax Herald Limited et éditeur des journaux The Halifax Herald et The Halifax Mail, ces gens créent l'International Fishermen's Race et offrent un trophée appelé The Halifax Herald's International Fishermen's Trophy qui sera décerné chaque année au navire le plus rapide de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord.

Ils étaient d'avis qu'un tel championnat démontrerait que « l'ère de la voile n'était pas encore révolue ». En coulisse, l'enjeu était beaucoup plus gros puisque les vieilles rivalités entre les marins de Lunenburg et ceux de Gloucester étaient toujours bien vivantes. On voyait le championnat comme l'occasion de démontrer, une fois pour toutes, laquelle des deux localités produisait les meilleurs navires et les hommes les plus robustes. Cette course n'était pas pour les timides ni pour les vents de 23 nœuds.

Le championnat a été codifié par un acte de donation officiel préparé en 1921 et stipulant les conditions à respecter. Ne pouvaient participer à la course que les navires ayant fait au moins une saison de pêche commerciale en haute mer sur les Grands Bancs. Le parcours serait de 35 à 40 milles nautiques et devrait être réalisé en neuf heures. Le navire qui remporterait deux des trois courses éliminatoires serait déclaré vainqueur; à l'origine, le prix devait être d'au plus 5 000 $, somme assez importante pour l'époque.

Le premier championnat s'est déroulé à l'automne 1920. Des courses éliminatoires ont eu lieu au large de Halifax et de Gloucester pour choisir deux concurrents pour les courses finales en vue du trophée. À Halifax, huit navires de Lunenburg et de LaHave étaient sur la ligne de départ le 11 octobre pour la course de 30 milles au parcours triangulaire : Delawana, Gilbert B. Walters, Alcala, Mona Marie, Bernice Zinck, Freda M. Himmelman, Ruby L. Pentz et Independence.

Le capitaine Angus Walters, maître à bord du Gilbert B. Walters, avait la réputation d'être très compétent et on pensait qu'il serait le gagnant. Toutefois, le Walters a perdu son mât de flèche de misaine et il a été retardé. Le capitaine Thomas Himmelman, à la barre du Delawana, a remporté la course avec plus de cinq minutes d'avance, méritant ainsi le droit d'affronter l'aspirant américain au titre, l'Esperanto, de Gloucester.

Les courses du trophée ont eu lieu au large de Halifax le 20 octobre et le 1er novembre. À la grande surprise des Néo-Écossais, l'Esperanto a remporté la première course avec près de vingt minutes d'avance, et la deuxième course avec sept minutes et quinze secondes. Puisqu'une troisième course n'était pas nécessaire, le navire et son équipage sont rapidement repartis vers Gloucester après avoir empoché le prix en argent, laissant derrière eux des Lunenbourgeois très contrariés.


Résultats 1 de 12 de 12 de votre recherche:

  


Trophée du championnat international des bateaux de pêche
date: 1920
numéro de référence: Tom Connors 'Old Sport' Nova Scotia Archives no. 572

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

The Halifax Herald’s (International) Fishermen’s Trophy : Conditions du contrat de donation
date: 1921
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F87.79.152

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Plan du parcours de la première course, Roué
date: 5 October 1920
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F79.307.1

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Le Democracy
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040002

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Le Ruby L. Pentz, course d’élimination, le 11 oct. 1920
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 241

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Une aube grise; l’Alcala, 1920
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 210

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Les goélettes s’assemblent sur la ligne de départ
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040005

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

La Course éliminatoire, 1920
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 3917

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Courses éliminatoires, 1920
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040007

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Courses éliminatoires, 1920
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 3970

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

Des ailes blanches
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 6001

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)

L’Esperanto devance le Delawana
date: 1920
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040010

Theme: Avant le Bluenose (1920)
   Page 1 of 1: 1