Nova Scotia Archives

Bluenose: A Canadian Icon

The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Experts on the sea and ships believed that New England-built working schooners were lighter and narrower than those from Nova Scotia, and that they consequently sailed better in the wind. Nova Scotian vessels traditionally remained on the Grand Banks for longer periods of time; needing more space to store fish, they were consequently heavier and more awkward to handle.

Nova Scotia obviously needed a vessel which would remain competitive and successful in the Banks fishery, but which would also be fast into and against the wind. Out of the committee which had sponsored the International Fishermen's Race, four Halifax businessmen teamed up with Angus Walters and invited William J. Roué, a local marine architect, to submit a proposal for such a vessel. Throughout the late autumn of 1920, Roué worked to perfect his design, which was submitted to the committee three weeks before the deadline. Roué was self-taught in marine architecture, and had never designed a fishing schooner; his proposal would be his masterpiece—the Bluenose.

Bluenose was built in the Smith & Rhuland Shipyard, Lunenburg, for a total cost of $35,000; the money was raised by the five sponsors, who formally incorporated themselves as the Bluenose Schooner Company, Limited. The keel was laid in a formal ceremony in December 1920. So significant was the occasion that the Governor-General of Canada, the Duke of Devonshire, who happened to be touring Nova Scotia at the time, was invited to drive the golden spike to mark the event. The Duke had just attended another function, however, and it is said that he arrived at the keel-laying ceremony 'inebriated'—too much Lunenburg rum perhaps—and unable to hit the spike with the big iron hammer. After several failed attempts, someone else did the honours for him.

Bluenose was built entirely of Nova Scotia oak, pine, birch and spruce, with the exception of the masts, which were tall Oregon pine. With hundreds of onlookers watching, it was launched on 26 March 1921. Someone asked one of the shipwrights, "What's this one going to be like?" The prophetic reply came back, "She'll be alright, but she's a bit different to most vessels."

Bluenose was formally registered at the Port of Lunenburg in March 1921; officially it was vessel number 150,404, and already the eighth that year to be entered in the Lunenburg books. Its dimensions were recorded as: length - 143'; beam - 27'; waterline - 112'; draught - 15' 10"; mainmast and topmast, above deck - 125' 10"; foremast and topmast, above deck - 102' 6"; sail area - 10,000 square feet; mainboom - 81'; foreboom - 32' 6"; and displacement - 285 tons. The riggers at Smith & Rhuland quickly completed their work, and by 15 April Bluenose was ready to sail for the Grand Banks.


Results 1 to 12 of 12 from your search:



Well! Here's Hoping, Your Excellency!
Date: 20 December 1920
Reference no.: Nova Scotia Archives Halifax Herald, 20 December 1920, p.1

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Smith & Rhuland Shipyard, Lunenburg, NS, with the Bluenose on the ways
Date: ca. 1921
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 235

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Bluenose launch, Lunenburg, March 26, 1921
Date: 1921
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040012

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Launch day, 26 March 1921, Smith & Rhuland Yard, Lunenburg, NS
Date: 1921
Photographer: Dewitt Herman
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F97.201.11B

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Bowsprit of Bluenose, Launch Day, Lunenburg, NS
Date: 1921
Photographer: Dewitt Herman
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F97.201.4B

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Mayor William Duff and Miss Audrey Smith
Date: 1921
Photographer: Dewitt Herman
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F87.136.2

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Notice of Name Proposed for a British Ship
Date: March 1921
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F79.111.13

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Declaration of Ownership on behalf of a body Corporate
Date: March 1921
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F79.111.14

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Certificate of Incorporation, Bluenose Schooner Company, Limited
Date: 15 March 1921
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F93.1.266

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Certificate of Survey
Date: April 1921
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F79.111.15

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Bluenose Schooner Company, Limited, Minute Book
Date: 12 April 1921
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F93.1.266

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)

Zwicker and Company Ledger
Date: 1921
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA

Theme: The Bluenose is Born (1920-1921)
   Page 1 of 1: 1

Nova Scotia Archives

Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Les experts de la mer et des navires étaient d'avis que les goélettes de travail construites en Nouvelle-Angleterre étaient plus légères et plus étroites que celles construites en Nouvelle-Écosse, et qu'elles naviguaient donc mieux sous le vent. Traditionnellement, les navires néo-écossais restaient plus longtemps sur les Grands Bancs; ayant besoin de plus de place pour entreposer le poisson, elles étaient par conséquent plus lourdes et plus difficiles à piloter.

La Nouvelle-Écosse avait donc besoin d'un navire qui resterait concurrentiel et efficace pour la pêche sur les Grands Bancs, mais qui serait aussi rapide au vent et sous le vent. Parmi les membres du comité qui avait commandité l'International Fishermen's Race, quatre hommes d'affaires de Halifax se sont associés à Angus Walters et ont invité William J. Roué, architecte naval de l'endroit, à soumettre un projet pour un navire de la sorte. Durant la fin de l'automne 1920, Roué a peaufiné son concept et le plan a été présenté au comité trois semaines avant la date convenue. Roué était un architecte maritime autodidacte et il n'avait jamais conçu de goélette de pêche; son projet deviendra son chef-d'œuvre ' le Bluenose.

C'est au chantier naval Smith & Rhuland de Lunenburg que le Bluenose a été construit pour un coût total de 35 000 $; l'argent a été réuni par les cinq commanditaires qui se sont constitués en société sous le nom de Bluenose Schooner Company, Limited. La quille du navire a été posée lors d'une cérémonie officielle en décembre 1920. L'occasion était si importante que le gouverneur général du Canada, le duc de Devonshire, qui était en visite en Nouvelle-Écosse à ce moment-là, a été invité à enfoncer le clou d'or pour marquer l'événement. Le Duc venait toutefois d'assister à une autre réception et on dit qu'il est arrivé à la cérémonie de pose de la quille en état d'ébriété ‘  trop de rhum de Lunenburg, sans doute ' et qu'il a été incapable de frapper le clou avec le gros marteau en fer. Après plusieurs tentatives infructueuses, quelqu'un d'autre s'est prêté à l'exercice à sa place.

Le Bluenose a été construit entièrement de chêne, de pin, de bouleau et d'épinette de la Nouvelle-Écosse, sauf pour les mâts qui étaient faits de grands pins de l'Orégon. Des centaines de gens ont assisté à son lancement le 26 mars 1921. Quelqu'un avait demandé à l'un des ouvriers : « Comment elle sera, celle-là? ». La réponse prophétique avait été : « Elle ne sera pas trop mal, mais elle est un peu différente des autres goélettes. »

Le Bluenose a été officiellement enregistré au port de Lunenburg en mars 1921; officiellement, il s'agissait du navire numéro 150 404, et c'était déjà le huitième à être inscrit aux registres de Lunenburg cette année-là. Ses dimensions figuraient ainsi : longueur, 143 pieds; largeur du maître-bau, 27 pieds; ligne de flottaison, 112 pieds; tirant d'eau, 15 pieds, 10 pouces; grand mât et mât de flèche, au-dessus du pont, 125 pieds, 10 pouces; mât de misaine et mât de flèche, au-dessus du pont, 102 pieds, 6 pouces; voilure, 10 000 pieds carrés; grand bôme, 81 pieds; bôme de misaine, 32 pieds, 6 pouces; déplacement, 285 tonnes. Les gréeurs de Smith & Rhuland ont rapidement terminé leur travail et dès le 15 avril, le Bluenose était prêt à mettre le cap sur les Grands Bancs.


Résultats 1 de 12 de 12 de votre recherche:

  


Well! Here's Hoping, Your Excellency!
date: 20 December 1920
numéro de référence: Nova Scotia Archives Halifax Herald, 20 December 1920, p.1

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Le chantier naval Smith & Rhuland, Lunenburg, N.-É., où le Bluenose est en cale
date: ca. 1921
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives accession no. 1987-453 no. 235

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Lancement du Bluenose, Lunenburg, le 26 mars 1921
date: 1921
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040012

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Le 26 mars 1921, jour du lancement, au chantier naval Smith & Rhuland, Lunenburg, N.-É.
date: 1921
photographe: Dewitt Herman
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F97.201.11B

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Le beaupré du Bluenose, le jour du lancement, Lunenburg, N.-É.
date: 1921
photographe: Dewitt Herman
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F97.201.4B

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Le maire William Duff et Mademoiselle Audrey Smith
date: 1921
photographe: Dewitt Herman
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F87.136.2

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Avis de proposition de nom pour un bateau britannique «
date: March 1921
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F79.111.13

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Attestation de propriété au nom d’une personne morale
date: March 1921
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F79.111.14

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Certificat de constitution de la Bluenose Schooner Company, Limited
date: 15 March 1921
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F93.1.266

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Certificat de visite
date: April 1921
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F79.111.15

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Le livre des actes de la Bluenose Schooner Company, Limited
date: 12 April 1921
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA, F93.1.266

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)

Le grand livre de Zwicker and Company
date: 1921
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA

Theme: Le Bluenose voit le jour (1920-1921)
   Page 1 of 1: 1