Nova Scotia Archives

'An East Coast Port'

Halifax in Wartime, 1939-1945


Jay White earned a doctorate in Canadian History from McMaster University in 1994. He is currently (2009) on staff with the Department of Continuing Studies at Royal Military College, Kingston, ON. The following article has been guest-authored for 'East Coast Port' and is based on James F.E. White, 'The Ajax Affair: Citizens and Sailors in Wartime Halifax, 1939-1945' (M.A. thesis, Dalhousie University, 1984); 120 pp. For those interested in exploring the subject further, Dr. White's thesis is available onsite in the Nova Scotia Archives Library, D810 C36 C212 W585.

Wherever possible in the text below, discussion of specific individuals, buildings and locations, activities and events has been linked directly to corresponding photographs or digitized print material featured elsewhere on this Website.



Untimely Demise: The Curious Case of The Ajax Club

Of the half-million Canadians who passed through Halifax during the Second World War, no one was more colourful — or more controversial — than Janet Evelyn McEuen.

Founder of two charitable organizations devoted to providing entertainment for British sailors, McEuen worked tirelessly for her boys. But in early 1942, she became the central figure in a bitter dispute that divided the community, embroiled the federal government and the Royal Canadian Navy, and made headlines across the country.

A flamboyant and strong-willed Scotswoman, "Dolly" McEuen arrived in Halifax from Montreal with her naval officer husband in the fall of 1939. From a suite of rooms in the elegant Lord Nelson Hotel, Dolly directed a one-woman war effort. Like a well-oiled battle tank, however, she was unable to achieve her goals without inflicting some damage along the way.

It was obvious at the outset that McEuen was not accustomed to taking orders from anyone. She worked for a short while at the North End Services Canteen, but making sandwiches just wasn't her style. Dolly assembled a team of local women around her and set out to provide a new brand of entertainment for the serviceman in wartime Halifax.

After registering with the federal government in the spring of 1940 as the "Interallied Hospitality and Food Fund," an official war charity, she experimented with organizing picnics and excursions to the countryside. Encouraged by British naval authorities, she decided to establish a base of operations somewhere in the city.

This was no simple task. Due to war conditions, Halifax was suffering from an acute shortage of both housing and office space. The situation was so bad that the Royal Navy moored ships in the harbour to accommodate crews on layovers. Huge Royal Navy warships and Armed Merchant Cruisers (passenger liners converted for escorting convoys) spilled hundreds of off-duty sailors onto Halifax streets in 1940 and 1941, and that is where they stayed, because neighborhood "pubs," a familiar sight in England, had no counterpart in Nova Scotia. The taverns of 19th century Halifax had been swept away years before on a tide of civic reform and temperance.

None of this deterred McEuen. She saw the demand for a recreational facility with a club-like atmosphere that ordinary seamen could call their own. She decided that such an establishment required a bar where a glass of "beer in decent surroundings" could be enjoyed by Jack Tar and his mates.

Two extraordinary developments made her dream a reality: first, she managed to secure a lease on a venerable 25-room mansion close to the waterfront. The Odell house had been occupied up until the late 1930s, but now sat empty.

Second, she sold the idea of a private club for sailors to provincial liquor control authorities. This was a major coup, because the government was under intense pressure from temperance organizations to cancel licences, not grant them. From the office of Premier A. S. MacMillan on down, there were many ardent teetotalers in Halifax.

When MacMillan heard about the Ajax Club in the fall of 1940, he urged his friend Angus L. Macdonald, the federal minister for naval services, to discourage the British High Commissioner to Canada, Sir Gerald Campbell, from presiding at the Ajax Club's opening ceremonies. Sir Gerald brushed aside the suggestion, but the Liquor Commission requested that McEuen keep quiet about the beer licence. After all, there was a church — Fort Massey United — located right across the street from the club.

Mindful of this sentiment, Dolly McEuen reassured provincial officials and secured the blessing of the church. Royal Navy authorities also knew what was at stake: a naval memorandum issued just before the club opened warned personnel to be on their best behavior because the new facility would be closely watched.

Widespread acceptance of alcoholic beverages today makes such concerns seem trivial, but at the time, it was a hotly debated issue. Only a decade had passed since the repeal of prohibition in Nova Scotia, and temperance forces saw an opportunity when the war started to revive the argument that liquor consumption undermined the efficiency of the fighting man.

That was how national prohibition had originally been implemented during the First World War — as an emergency measure in aid of the war effort. But prohibition did not work in peacetime; and by the late 1920s, nearly all the provinces had passed legislation to regulate the "liquor traffic."

The regulations in Nova Scotia were stringent and, by today's standards, bizarre. For example, purchases from the government store had to be transported directly home. Once there, the buyer could not legally offer a drink to anyone else, not even a spouse.

Only members of private clubs were allowed to consume alcohol outside of their own homes. An elegant south end private home was turned into a social club for naval officers, but there was no equivalent facility outside of barracks for ordinary seamen. The rank and file on British and Canadian warships had easier access to rum on board ship — thanks to their daily "tot" — than on dry land. Because non-commissioned service personnel were not eligible to join civilian clubs, sailors often resorted to drinking in public. When the liquor stores were closed they bought "hooch" from one of many bootleg dives or "blind pigs."

As McEuen and her allies saw it, the crux of the problem was not really the availability of booze, or lack thereof, but the absence of adequate recreational facilities for thousands of off-duty servicemen. Several national organizations, including the YMCA, the Salvation Army, and the Knights of Columbus, operated hostels and canteens for the troops, just as they had done during the First World War. But the overcrowded facilities tended to be impersonal places for the man in uniform. Despite the hospitable atmosphere, servicemen never forgot that they were merely transients whose presence in the city was temporary.

Mrs. McEuen adopted a different philosophy; she reasoned that men on active service deserved the same privileges that were enjoyed by civilians. Indeed, she felt that they were entitled to special treatment, in view of the hazards they faced and the ultimate sacrifice they sometimes made. This compelling message garnered McEuen considerable material and moral support in Halifax and across the country. Both corporations and individuals responded to the appeals of the Interallied Hospitality and Food Fund.

After months of extensive renovations, the stately Odell mansion on Tobin Street opened in late 1940 as the "Ajax Club" — named for the eponymous British cruiser that had helped track down the German pocket battleship Graf Spee in late 1939. Everything was donated, from the linoleum on the floor to the library's 2,000 books. The club boasted two games rooms, two dining rooms, smoking lounges and of course, a handsome, brass-railed bar.

The club's first unofficial function was a reception for survivors of the ill-fated HMS Jervis Bay, which met a disastrous end while escorting a convoy in November 1940. Just 65 sailors out of a crew of nearly 300 were plucked from the icy North Atlantic and brought back to Halifax. A striking photograph shows Mrs. McEuen and others raising a toast to the Swedish captain who rescued them.

Such heart-rending tales of ships and shipmates lost became common currency at the Ajax Club, but there was a lighter side as well. In the summer of 1941, for example, hundreds of club patrons were entertained with outdoor cookouts in the spacious garden behind the mansion. These gatherings attracted prostitutes who plied their trade along the street at the rear of the property. Some were brazen enough to hop over the low wall and join the throng of potential clients.

Determined to defend the club's honour, Dolly dashed off an emergency plea to a national supplier of fencing. A few weeks later, a cordon sanitaire of barbed wire could be seen strung along the garden wall!

Dolly McEuen obviously ran a tight ship. Royal Navy work parties from ships in port assisted in repairs and maintenance. The club's station wagon — a gift from Oland's brewery —ferried sailors into the countryside on weekend excursions. The station wagon also returned empties to the bottle exchange — the proceeds paying day-to-day operating expenses.

Consumption of "spirits" (i.e. hard liquor) on the premises was strictly forbidden and the Navy's Shore Patrol was usually present to enforce the house rules. But sailors could belly up to the brass-railed bar for draught or bottled beer at 10 cents a glass, and a home-style meal cost just 25 cents. For RN seamen paid at the daily rate of about $1, these prices were a godsend.

There were more than 60 volunteers in the Ajax organization — only the two cooks received salaries — and most were civilian women living in Halifax. For more than a year, the Ajax Club welcomed naval ratings and petty officers of all Allied navies, and monthly attendance was estimated to be 10,000 to 15,000. Obviously it was very popular with the sailors. For years after the war, Mrs. McEuen continued to receive cards and letters from all over the world — the product of friendships forged at the dub. Suddenly, in early 1942, the whole magnificent enterprise fell apart. At issue was the Ajax Club's bar. The liquor control commission declined to renew the club's beer licence — ostensibly because Fort Massey Church across the street objected to the close proximity of a "beer parlour."

Ajax supporters responded that church members should not have attempted to impose their moral standards on a wartime transient population. They insisted that the club actually encouraged moderation by rationing beer — patrons were limited to five bottles per night — and kept sailors off the streets and away from unscrupulous bootleggers.

The church maintained that it was not so much what went on at the club, but rather the uncomfortably close location. Some church members alleged that they had been accosted by inebriated Ajax Club patrons. One Halifax newspaper hinted darkly that McEuen was the victim of a personal vendetta, although no clear evidence of this ever surfaced. This much, at least, is known: archival documents in Nova Scotia Archives show that the decision to protest the renewal of the Ajax Club's beer license was made by Fort Massey's Kirk Session at a meeting on January 2, 1942.

One church elder, Arthur S. Barnstead, was deputy provincial secretary; another was a director of the Bank of Nova Scotia, and a third, Dr. A. E. Kerr, was a prominent Halifax cleric and staunch temperance advocate. Kerr later became president of Dalhousie University. Although their opposition was never made public, the Fort Massey elders wielded considerable power and influence within the community. The club's fate was sealed.

Dolly McEuen remained undaunted. In a dramatic gesture that shocked her detractors and delighted her friends, Dolly climbed onto the Ajax Club bar to announce that she would "take up the cudgels" on the sailors' behalf.

Before long, all of Canada had heard about the "battle of the Ajax Club." Newspapers across the country reported the story; so did Time and Maclean's magazines. J.V. McAree devoted a column to it in the Toronto Globe and Mail, and Hugh MacLennan, commenting from Montreal, called it a "tempest in a beer mug." A pro-Ajax petition was circulated on the trains running between Nova Scotia and Quebec, gathering more than 30,000 signatures. So many anonymous and inflammatory letters were written to Halifax newspapers that one — the Chronicle — declined to print them.

To some, Dolly McEuen was guilty of corrupting innocent youth and interfering in church affairs. From Ottawa, Angus L. Macdonald chided: "You are endeavoring to force your views down the throats of many people in Halifax."

Outside of Halifax, the Club's closure was portrayed as a violation of the rights of servicemen and a victory for narrow-minded parochialism. The Montreal Gazette commented that the "war has made Halifax a major Canadian centre… [and] Halifax should, therefore, heed the views of other Canadians, few of whom share the Haligonian attitude toward liquor refreshment."

As a result of the negative publicity, Halifax acquired a national reputation for being indifferent to the needs of servicemen. This was unfair, because hundreds of Haligonians volunteered selflessly in numerous organizations very similar to the Ajax Club. Many sympathized with McEuen's aims and methods. Dissension over the club ran so deep that some of Fort Massey's own congregation left the church in protest over the action of their elders. It seems that several church members volunteered at the Ajax Club.

The debate dragged on for weeks but the outcome was never in doubt. McEuen offered to purchase the Odell mansion outright for $16,000 and donate it to the federal government for use as a club for the Royal Canadian Navy, but the offer was turned down. On May 1, 1942 the Royal Norwegian Government purchased the Ajax property from Mrs. McEuen. For the balance of the war it served as a hostel for Norwegian sailors.

McEuen went on to establish Ajax Hospitality Headquarters, a registered war charity that enjoyed even greater success than her beloved Club — but she was told to restrict her activities to the Royal Navy. Ajax Hospitality created a network of private homes outside Halifax that provided rest and recuperation for British seamen, particularly "DEMS" (Defensively Equipped Merchant Ships) personnel. There was enough money in the charity's coffers at the end of the war to create a scholarship fund for veterans at McGill University.

By 1942, the federal government had delegated the responsibility for providing recreation outside barracks for Canadian naval personnel to the Navy League. It was decided that this national organization would fill the gap left by the suspended operations of the Ajax Club. The Navy League also ran the Allied Merchant Seamen's Club on Hollis Street, a much-needed social club and hostel also opened in 1942.

The official solution to the temperance debate was diplomatic, if somewhat impractical: two canteens — one "wet" (serving beer), and one "dry" (i.e. serving non-alcoholic beverages) — were built a stone's throw apart on the old Wanderers Amateur Athletic Club grounds. The location was ideally distant from any churches or residences, but a considerable hike from the waterfront and the naval barracks. It did not go unnoticed, when the dual facilities were inaugurated in August 1942, that the dry canteen had the appearance of "an exclusive men's club," whereas the wet canteen looked like … well, a wet canteen.

The battle of the Ajax Club was one of those unfortunate episodes where the bystanders — in this case Allied servicemen — suffered more than the combatants. Sailors were understandably outraged that their Ajax Club could be scuttled so easily.

Resentment smoldered until May 1945, when jubilation in Halifax over the end of the war in Europe escalated into an orgy of drunkenness, looting and vandalism. Ironically, while businesses downtown were being ransacked by a besotted mob, the wet canteen on the Wanderers Grounds served beer to hundreds of RCN sailors without incident!

If anything, the debacle on V-E Day — a blot on service-civilian relations that Halifax would rather forget — signified the triumph of intemperance and intransigence. Had more tolerant heads prevailed in 1942, and the Ajax Club been allowed to continue serving the sailors who appreciated it so much, the celebration of peace in Halifax in May 1945 might actually have been peaceful.

Nova Scotia Archives

« Un Port de la côte Est »

Halifax en temps de guerre, 1939-1945


Jay White a obtenu un doctorat en histoire canadienne de l'Université McMaster en 1994. Il fait maintenant (en 2009) partie du personnel du Bureau des études permanentes du Collège militaire royal de Kingston, en Ontario. L'article qui suit est une collaboration spéciale dans le cadre de l'exposition virtuelle « Port de la côte Est » et est basé sur l'ouvrage de James F.E. White, The Ajax Affair: Citizens and Sailors in Wartime Halifax, 1939-1945. (Thèse de maîtrise, Université Dalhousie, 1984); 120 p. Les lecteurs intéressés à explorer davantage le sujet peuvent consulter en ligne la thèse de M. White, à la Nova Scotia Archives Library (bibliothèque du Service des archives et de la gestion des dossiers de la N.-É.), D810 C36 C212 W585.

Partout où il était possible de le faire dans le texte, les mentions de personnes, de bâtiments, d'endroits, d'activités et d'événements spécifiques ont été directement reliées aux photos ou aux imprimés numérisés correspondants qui figurent ailleurs dans le présent site Web.



Une fin prématurée : L'étrange affaire du Ajax Club

Parmi le demi-million de Canadiens qui ont séjourné à Halifax pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, Janet Evelyn McEuen est assurément le personnage le plus coloré — ou le plus fortement discuté.

Fondatrice de deux organismes de bienfaisance ayant pour mission de divertir les marins britanniques, McEuen a travaillé sans relâche pour ses « boys ». Toutefois, au début de l'année 1942, elle devint le principal protagoniste d'un pénible conflit qui divisa la communauté, entraînant dans la mêlée le gouvernement fédéral et la Marine royale du Canada, et fit les grands titres des journaux partout au pays.

À l'automne 1939, une Écossaise déterminée et haute en couleur, « Dolly » McEuen, arriva au port d'Halifax en provenance de Montréal au bras de son mari, un officier de marine. À partir d'une suite de l'élégant hôtel Lord Nelson, Dolly livra son combat au soutien de l'effort de guerre. Cependant, tel un char d'assaut bien huilé, elle ne parvint pas à atteindre ses objectifs sans causer sur son chemin quelques dommages collatéraux.

De toute évidence, Mme McEuen n'avait pas coutume de recevoir des ordres. Elle travailla pendant une courte période pour le North End Services Canteen, mais elle voulait faire autre chose que des sandwiches. Dolly s'entoura alors d'une équipe de femmes de la région et se prépara à offrir une nouvelle forme de divertissement aux militaires canadiens cantonnés à Halifax durant la guerre.

Après avoir enregistré l'« Interallied Hospitality and Food Fund » auprès du gouvernement fédéral au printemps 1940 en tant qu'organisme de bienfaisance officiel de temps de guerre, Dolly se mit à organiser des pique-niques et des excursions à la campagne. Encouragée par les autorités navales britanniques, elle décida d'établir une base d'opérations dans la ville.

La tâche était loin d'être simple. En raison des conditions de guerre, Halifax manquait désespérément de logements et d'espaces de bureau. La situation était telle, que la Marine royale maintenait des navires à quai dans le port pour héberger les équipages au repos. Au cours de 1940 et 1941, les immenses navires de guerre de la Marine royale et les navires de commerce armés (paquebots de ligne convertis pour escorter les convois) déversaient des centaines de matelots en permission dans les rues d'Halifax. Ces matelots n'avaient pas d'autres choix que de déambuler dans les rues de la ville, puisque les « pubs » de quartier, bien connus en Angleterre, n'avaient pas leurs pendants en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les tavernes du 19e siècle avaient été balayées bien des années auparavant par la vague de réforme civique et d'anti-alcoolisme.

McEuen n'allait pas se laisser décourager pour autant. Elle était persuadée qu'il existait une demande pour une installation récréative ayant une ambiance de club privé et à laquelle s'identifierait le simple matelot. Elle décida qu'un tel établissement devait être doté d'un bar où les marins pourraient déguster ensemble un verre de « bière dans un milieu bien tenu ».

Deux développements extraordinaires lui permirent de concrétiser son rêve : d'abord, elle réussit à obtenir une entente visant la location d'un vénérable manoir de 25 pièces situé près du front de mer. Le manoir Odell avait été occupé jusque vers la fin des années 1930, mais il était maintenant inoccupé. Ensuite, elle vendit l'idée d'un club privé pour marins aux autorités provinciales régissant les alcools. C'était toute une réussite, puisque le gouvernement subissait d'énormes pressions des organisations anti-alcooliques, lesquelles préconisaient l'annulation des permis, et non leur attribution. Du bureau du premier ministre A. S. MacMillan jusqu'au bas de l'échelle, nombreux étaient les teetotalistes convaincus à Halifax.

Quand MacMillan entendit parler du Ajax Club à l'automne 1940, il pria instamment son ami Angus L. Macdonald, le ministre fédéral du service naval, de décourager le haut-commissaire britannique au Canada, Sir Gerald Campbell, de présider la cérémonie d'ouverture du Ajax Club. Sir Gerald ignora la suggestion, mais la Société des alcools demanda à McEuen de demeurer discrète au sujet du permis de bière. Après tout, il y avait une église — Fort Massey United — située juste en face du club.

Se ralliant à ce sentiment, Dolly McEuen rassura les représentants provinciaux et se ménagea les bonnes grâces de l'église. Les autorités de la Marine royale avaient également conscience des enjeux. Ainsi, une note de service de la marine fut émise juste avant l'ouverture du club pour avertir le personnel d'adopter un comportement impeccable, puisque l'établissement serait sous haute surveillance.

De nos jours où les boissons alcooliques sont généralement acceptées, de telles préoccupations peuvent sembler futiles mais, à l'époque, le sujet faisait polémique. Il y avait à peine une dizaine d'années que la prohibition des boissons alcoolisées avait été révoquée en Nouvelle-Écosse, et les mouvements anti-alcooliques voyaient dans le déclenchement de la guerre une occasion rêvée de raviver l'argument que la consommation d'alcool nuit à l'efficacité du soldat au combat.

C'était exactement de cette façon que la prohibition nationale des boissons alcoolisées avait d'abord été instaurée au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale — comme une mesure d'urgence dans le cadre de l'effort de guerre. Toutefois, l'interdiction des boissons alcooliques n'avait plus eu de prise en période de paix et, vers la fin des années 1920, presque toutes les provinces avaient adopté des lois régissant le « commerce de l'alcool ».

La réglementation de la Nouvelle-Écosse était sévère et, selon les normes actuelles, assez bizarre. Par exemple, les bouteilles achetées du magasin gouvernemental devaient être emportées directement à la maison. Une fois chez lui, l'acheteur ne pouvait légalement offrir un verre à quelqu'un d'autre, même pas à son conjoint.

Seulement les membres des clubs privés étaient autorisés à consommer de l'alcool en dehors de leur propre maison. Une élégante maison privée du south end avait été transformée en club privé pour les officiers de marine mais, en dehors des casernes, rien de la sorte n'existait pour les simples matelots. L'équipage des navires de guerre britanniques et canadiens avait plus de chance de boire du rhum à bord des navires — grâce à leur « ration » quotidienne — que sur la terre ferme. Les militaires du rang n'étant pas admissibles à joindre les clubs civils, les matelots en venaient souvent à boire en public. Quand les magasins d'alcools étaient fermés, ils se procuraient de la « baboche » auprès de l'un des nombreux débits clandestins. Selon McEuen et ses alliés, le véritable problème n'était pas vraiment la disponibilité ou la rareté de l'alcool, mais l'absence d'installations récréatives adéquates pour les milliers de militaires en permission. Plusieurs organisations nationales, dont le YMCA, l'Armée du salut et les Chevaliers de Colomb, exploitaient des auberges et des cantines pour les troupes, tout comme lors de la Première Guerre mondiale. Toutefois, ces établissements bondés se révélaient des endroits impersonnels pour l'homme en uniforme. L'atmosphère était accueillante, mais cela ne suffisait pas à faire oublier aux militaires leur statut de gens de passage dont la présence dans la ville n'était que temporaire.

Le raisonnement de Mme McEuen était tout autre. Selon elle, les hommes en service actif méritaient les mêmes privilèges que ceux accordés aux civils. En fait, elle pensait même qu'ils avaient droit à un traitement de faveur, en raison des risques auxquels ils étaient exposés et du sacrifice ultime qu'ils pourraient être appelés à faire. Ce message convaincant valut à McEuen un appui considérable sur le plan matériel et moral, tant à Halifax que dans l'ensemble du pays. Les sociétés ainsi que les particuliers répondirent généreusement aux appels de l'Interallied Hospitality and Food Fund.

Après des mois de rénovations importantes, l'imposant manoir Odell de la rue Tobin ouvrit ses portes vers la fin de 1940, sous le nom de « Ajax Club » — d'après le croiseur britannique qui avait aidé à traquer le cuirassé de poche allemand Graf Spee vers la fin de 1939. Tout provenait de dons, que ce soit le linoléum sur les planchers ou les 2 000 livres de la bibliothèque. Le club pouvait s'enorgueillir de ses deux salles de jeux, deux salles à manger, fumoirs et, bien entendu, d'un superbe bar bordé de cuivre.

La première fonction non officielle du club fut une réception pour les survivants de l'infortuné Navire de sa Majesté Jervis Bay, qui avait connu une fin tragique alors qu'il escortait un convoi en novembre 1940. Des quelque 300 membres d'équipage, seulement 65 matelots avaient pu être extirpés des eaux glaciales de l'Atlantique Nord et ramenés à Halifax. Sur cette photographie frappante, Mme McEuen porte avec d'autres un toast au capitaine suédois qui avait rescapé les matelots.

De telles histoires navrantes de navires et de camarades de bord perdus devinrent monnaie courante au Ajax Club, mais il y eut également des événements plus plaisants. Au cours de l'été 1941, par exemple, des centaines de clients du club furent invités à des repas en plein air dans le spacieux jardin derrière le manoir. Ces réunions attiraient toutefois les prostituées qui exerçaient leur métier sur la rue longeant l'arrière de la propriété. Certaines eurent même l'effronterie d'escalader le mur peu élevé et de se mêler à la foule des clients potentiels.

Déterminée à défendre l'honneur du club, Dolly lança un appel d'urgence à un fournisseur national de clôtures. Quelques semaines plus tard, un cordon sanitaire de fils barbelés longeait le mur du jardin!

De toute évidence, Dolly McEuen savait mener sa barque. Des équipes de travail de la Marine royale venant des navires accostés au port aidaient aux réparations et à l'entretien. La voiture familiale du club — un don de la brasserie Oland — transportait les matelots à la campagne lors d'excursions de fin de semaine. La familiale était également utilisée pour rapporter les bouteilles vides au dépôt — les produits de la revente servant à payer les dépenses courantes.

La consommation de « spiritueux » (boisson fortement alcoolisée) dans l'établissement était strictement interdite, et la patrouille à terre de la Marine était habituellement présente pour faire respecter les règles de la maison. Les matelots pouvaient toutefois s'accouder au bar à rebord cuivré et consommer une bière, pression ou en bouteille, pour 10 sous le verre et un repas maison pour la modique somme de 25 sous. Pour les matelots de la MR, qui touchaient une solde d'environ 1 $ par jour, ces prix étaient providentiels.

L'organisation Ajax comptait plus de 60 bénévoles, en grande partie des femmes civiles — seuls les deux cuisiniers étaient rémunérés. Pendant plus d'un an, le Ajax Club accueillit des marins et quartiers-maîtres de toutes les marines interalliées, à une fréquence mensuelle estimée d'environ 10 000 à 15 000 visites. Assurément, le club était très populaire auprès des matelots. Durant plusieurs années après la guerre, Mme McEuen continua de recevoir des cartes et des lettres provenant de partout dans le monde, témoignage des liens d'amitié qui s'étaient noués au club. Soudainement, au début de 1942, toute cette magnifique entreprise se disloqua. La raison en était le bar du Ajax Club. La commission de contrôle des alcools refusa de renouveler le permis de bière du club — selon toute apparence, parce que l'église Fort Massey, installée de l'autre côté de la rue, s'objectait à la proximité immédiate d'un « salon de bière ».

Les partisans du Ajax répondirent que les membres de l'église ne devraient pas tenter d'imposer leurs mœurs à une population de passage en temps de guerre. Ils répétaient que le club encourageait la modération en rationnant la bière — la limite étant de cinq bouteilles par client par soirée — et gardait les matelots hors des rues et loin des trafiquants d'alcool sans scrupules.

L'église maintint qu'elle se souciait peu de ce qui se passait au club, mais que c'était plutôt sa proximité qui dérangeait. Certains membres de l'église alléguèrent qu'ils avaient été abordés dans la rue par des clients ivres du Ajax Club. Sur un ton plutôt sombre, un journal d'Halifax prétendit que McEuen était victime d'une vengeance personnelle, bien qu'aucune preuve manifeste ne surgît jamais à cet effet. Au moins, une chose est certaine : les documents du service des archives de la Nouvelle-Écosse (NSARM) montrent que la décision de s'opposer au renouvellement du permis de bière du Ajax Club a été prise à l'assemblée du conseil (kirk session) de la paroisse Fort Massey, tenue le 2 janvier 1942.

Parmi les anciens de l'église se trouvaient Arthur S. Barnstead, secrétaire provincial adjoint, puis un administrateur de la Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse et enfin A. E. Kerr, éminent ecclésiastique d'Halifax et fervent partisan de l'anti-alcoolisme. Kerr devint plus tard président de l'Université Dalhousie. Bien que leur opposition ne fût jamais rendue publique, les anciens de Fort Massey exerçaient une autorité et une influence considérables au sein de la communauté. Le destin du club était scellé.

Dolly McEuen ne se laissa pas intimider. Dans un geste théâtral, qui choqua ses détracteurs et ravit ses amis, Dolly grimpa sur le bar du Ajax Club pour annoncer qu'elle prendrait fait et cause pour les matelots.

La nouvelle de la « querelle du Ajax Club » se répandit comme une traînée de poudre partout au Canada. Les journaux de tout le pays en parlèrent; les magazines Time et Maclean en firent autant. J.V. McAree y consacra une colonne dans le Globe and Mail de Toronto, puis Hugh MacLennan, commentant l'affaire à partir de Montréal, parla d'une « tempête dans une chope de bière ». Une pétition en faveur du Ajax circula dans les trains roulant entre la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Québec. Plus de 30 000 personnes la signèrent. Les journaux d'Halifax reçurent tellement de lettres incendiaires et anonymes, qu'un d'entre eux — le Chronicle — refusa même de les publier.

Certains accusaient Dolly McEuen de corrompre la jeunesse innocente et de se mêler des affaires de l'église. D'Ottawa, Angus L. Macdonald tança vertement : « Vous vous évertuez à enfoncer vos propres idées dans la tête d'un grand nombre de gens d'Halifax ».

À l'extérieur d'Halifax, la fermeture du club était décrite comme une violation des droits des militaires et une victoire de l'esprit de clocher borné. La Gazette de Montréal commenta, à peu de chose près, que « la guerre avait fait d'Halifax un centre canadien important…[et] qu'Halifax devrait, par conséquent, tenir compte de l'opinion des autres Canadiens, peu d'entre eux partageant l'attitude haligonienne envers les débits de boissons. »

En raison de cette publicité négative, Halifax acquit une réputation nationale d'indifférence envers les besoins des militaires. Mais c'était injuste, car des centaines d'Haligoniens se sont vaillamment portés bénévoles au sein de bon nombre d'organisations très semblables à celle du Ajax Club. Beaucoup d'entre eux sympathisaient avec les objectifs et les méthodes de Dolly McEuen. La division entourant le club était telle, que certains fidèles de la congrégation de Fort Massey abandonnèrent leur église en signe de protestation contre l'action des anciens. Il semble que plusieurs membres de l'église faisaient du bénévolat au Ajax Club.

Le débat s'éternisa pendant des semaines, mais personne ne doutait de sa conclusion. McEuen offrit d'acheter le manoir Odell en bloc pour la somme de 16 000 $ et de le donner au gouvernement fédéral afin qu'il serve de club privé à la Marine royale du Canada, mais l'offre fut refusée. Le 1er mai 1942, Mme McEuen céda la propriété au Gouvernement royal norvégien. Le manoir servit alors d'hôtel pour les matelots norvégiens jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.

McEuen finit par établir le Ajax Hospitality Headquarters, un organisme de bienfaisance de temps de guerre enregistré qui connut encore plus de succès que son bien-aimé Club — mais elle se fit dire de limiter ses activités à la Marine royale. Ajax Hospitality créa un réseau de maisons privées à l'extérieur d'Halifax où les matelots britanniques, particulièrement le personnel des « DEMS » (navires de commerce dotés d'un équipement défensif) pouvaient se reposer et récupérer. À la fin de la guerre, les coffres de l'organisme contenaient assez d'argent pour créer un fonds de bourses d'études à l'Université McGill pour les anciens combattants.

En 1942, le gouvernement fédéral chargea la Ligue navale de fournir des loisirs hors quartiers au personnel marinier canadien. Il fut décidé que cet organisme national comblerait le vide laissé par la suspension des activités du Ajax Club. La Ligue navale dirigeait aussi le Allied Merchant Seamen's Club (Club des marins marchands interalliés), un club social et auberge des plus nécessaires, situé sur la rue Hollis et également ouvert en 1942.

La solution officielle au débat sur la sobriété fut diplomatique, quoiqu'assez peu pratique : deux cantines — une où l'on servait de la bière (dite « wet canteen ») et l'autre sans alcool (dite « dry canteen ») — furent érigées à deux pas des terrains du vieux Wanderers Amateur Athletic Club. L'emplacement était suffisamment éloigné des églises ou des résidences, quoiqu'à une bonne distance à pied du front de mer et des casernes maritimes. Lorsque les deux cantines furent inaugurées en août 1942, on ne put s'empêcher de remarquer que la cantine sans alcool avait l'apparence d'un « club sélect pour hommes » tandis que la cantine avec alcool ressemblait à… enfin, une cantine.

La querelle du Ajax Club fut l'un de ces épisodes malheureux où les spectateurs — en l'occurrence les militaires alliés — ont souffert plus que les combattants. Les matelots furent outrés, et avec raison, que leur Ajax Club puisse être sabordé si facilement.

Le ressentiment persista jusqu'en mai 1945, lorsque la jubilation à Halifax entourant la fin de la guerre en Europe dégénéra en une beuverie accompagnée de nombreux actes de pillage et de vandalisme. Ironiquement, alors que les commerces du centre-ville furent saccagés par une foule abrutie, la cantine des Wanderers Grounds servit de la bière à des centaines de matelots de la MRC sans aucun incident!

À vrai dire, « la débâcle du Jour de la Victoire » — un accro aux relations civils-militaires qu'Halifax préférerait oublier — signifia le triomphe de l'intempérance et de l'intransigeance. Si les dirigeants avaient fait preuve de plus de tolérance en 1942, permettant au Ajax Club de continuer à servir les matelots, pour qui ce geste comptait beaucoup, la célébration de la paix à Halifax en mai 1945 aurait sans nul doute pu se dérouler paisiblement.