

2024 Medal of Bravery Recipients



Carl Comeau of Church Point



Carl Deveau of Saulnierville



Terrence LeBlanc of Saulnierville

On June 14, 2023, off-duty paramedic Carl Comeau called 911 after he came across a house fire in St. Bernard, Digby County. When paramedics Carl Deveau and Terrence LeBlanc arrived, the three made the quick decision to enter the burning home. Sadly, the woman they tried to save did not survive.







of Dartmouth

On May 28, 2023, a large wildfire spread quickly through Hammonds Plains and Upper Tantallon. As residents evacuated, Halifax Regional Fire Capt. Kevin Corkum and firefighter Conor Scott drove back into the evacuated area through the intense blaze and rescued a man from his home.



Nicholas Holland of Brooklyn (posthumous)

On July 22, 2023, Nicholas Holland and three others were driving through heavy rainfall along Highway 14 near Brooklyn. Hants County, when their vehicle was swept away and filled with water. Mr. Holland freed the people trapped inside. Two were later rescued by first responders. Tragically, Mr. Holland and the fourth person, a youth, did not survive.



Bruce Lake of Hilden

On August 19, 2023, off-duty Truro police officer Bruce Lake was hiking with friends in New Brunswick's Fundy National Park when they noticed a young woman in a river struggling. Mr. Lake dove into the strong current and pulled the woman safely to shore.



Alexander Munroe of Windsor Junction

On March 6, 2023, Alex Munroe's two younger brothers were playing in the snow in their front yard when a dog attacked one of the children. As Alex, age 13 at the time, and his mother ran to help the boys, the dog also attacked his mother. Alex fearlessly fended off the dog, helped his family get to safety and called 911, saving his family from a potentially fatal attack.



Recipients

Tuesday October 22, 2024, Premier Tim Houston, Attorney General and Justice Minister Barbara Adams and Mr. Tom Steele, Medal of Bravery Advisory Committee Chairperson awarded the Nova Scotia Medal of Bravery to eight extraordinary Nova Scotians.

From left, Kevin Corkum; Conor Scott; Terrence LeBlanc; Carl Deveau; Premier Tim Houston; Michelle Stewart, on behalf of Nicholas Holland; Carl Comeau; Bruce Lake; Alex Munroe; Tom Steele, Chair, Medal of Bravery Advisory Committee; and Attorney General and Justice Minister Barbara Adams.