News Release Archive

  Eighteen Nova Scotians, who have provided outstanding
  community service, were honored today at a special ceremony
  at Province House.
  Premier John Savage and Community Services Minister Jim
  Smith presented Community Service Awards to: Robert MacLeod,
  Baddeck; Gerald F. Gillis, Antigonish; Hazel Deveau,
  Amirault's Hill, Yarmouth County; Muriel Flynn, Christina
  Beattie, Halifax; Mary and Foster Lohnes, Craig Williams,
  Tom William, Tony LaPierre and Rev. Jim Chang, Dartmouth;
  Lillian Naas, Minasville, Hants County; Stuart Falconer,
  Westmount, Cape Breton County; Anne Peverill, Liverpool;
  Harris Backman, Hubbards, Halifax County; Sherman Mason,
  Tangier, Halifax County; Mary Millar, Guysborough; and Don
  Sheehy, New Waterford.
  Dr. Smith said the awards provide an opportunity to publicly
  recognize and honor individuals who have demonstrated
  service to the community through their commitment of time
  and talent to the less fortunate. "These men and women, by
  their personal involvement and hands-on approach, are an
  example to others to come forward to lend a helping hand."
  Dr. Smith said the province was fortunate to have so many
  citizens who freely give their time in the service of
  The Community Service Awards have been presented annually
  since 1977.
  Contact: Harry Chapman  902-424-3960
  trp                       Dec. 13, 1995