News Release Archive

  Acting Economic Renewal Minister Jay Abbass  will announce
  the 1996 Youth Entrepreneurial Skills,(YES) program at the
  fourth annual YES Awards of Merit luncheon Wednesday, Feb.
  7, 1996, beginning at 11:30 a.m., Mariner Suite 2, World
  Trade & Convention Centre, Halifax.
  Awards will be presented to 10 students (five businesses)
  who operated successfully last summer with a YES loan. The
  students and their businesses are as follows:
  Metro Region: Coburg Consultants' Ltd., Dalhousie MBA
  students offering business consulting services; Cheryl
  Ferguson, Christine Sutton, Michael Garlock, John Knotek,
  Gregory Kerr, Alex Scholten.
  Valley Region: Chris' Dance Express, disc jockey; Chris
  Cornwell, Auburn.
  Northwestern Region: Bee My Honey, purchased/packaged local
  honey: Anne Kathleen Phillips, Debert.
  Southwestern Region: Jeremy Crowell's Farm Market, roadside
  fruit and vegetable stand; Jeremy Crowell, West Pubnico.
  Cape Breton Region: The Lobster Trap Gift Shop,
  handcraft/souvenir outlet in Louisbourg;
  Dennis Philip Khattar, Sydney.
  Contact: Linda Laffin 902-424-6810
  jlw                        Feb. 06, 1996     3:45 p.m.