News Release Archive

April 15 to 21 will be proclaimed Education Week in Nova Scotia
by Education and Culture Minister John MacEachern, at an awards
ceremony today in Halifax.

The theme for Education Week 1996 is "New Ways To Teach, New Ways
To Learn."

The awards ceremony, at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, will
salute teachers who have exemplified the theme through innovative
attitudes and a willingness to try new programs in their

The search for such teachers was made to, and through, district
school boards and Nova Scotia Teachers Union locals. In its
directions, the provincial Education Week committee suggested
teachers eligible for the award create enhanced, inquiry-oriented
learning environments which extend beyond the classroom.

Innovative teachers challenge students to take risks and explore
a range of learning styles beyond textbooks, using computer
software, audio and visual texts, information and communication

At the awards presentation, 26 teachers from every part of the
province will receive a framed citation from the minister for
their part in making the theme: "New Ways To Teach, New Ways To
Learn" a reality for Nova Scotia students.

Guest speaker for the program will be Denis Connor,
vice-president, marketing, Maritime Tel and Tel.

The provincial Education Week committee is comprised of
representatives from the Nova Scotia Teachers Union, Nova Scotia
School Boards Association, Department of Education and Culture,
Nova Scotia Federation of Home and School Associations, and the
Federation des Parents Acadiens de la Nouvelle-Ecosse.

The 1996 Education Week citations are as follows:

Annapolis District School Board - Kelli Veinot, Springfield
Consolidated School; Cape Breton District School Board - Anita
MacDonald, Mountainview/Portage Elementary School;
Colchester-East Hants District School Board - Norris Whiston, 
Tatamagouche Elementary School; Cumberland District School Board
- David Skidmore, Parrsboro Regional High School; Dartmouth
District School Board - Greg King, Prince Andrew High School;
Digby District School Board - Tony Kelly, Digby Neck
Consolidated; Halifax District School Board - Lorna Bennett,
Rockingham School; Halifax County-Bedford District School
Board - Nancy Barkhouse, Atlantic View Elementary and Pat Ward,
Musquodoboit Rural High; Hants West District School Board - Phil
VanZoost, coordinator of community education; Kings County
District School Board - Bonnie Jean Wilson, Glooscap Elementary
School; Lunenburg County District School Board - Earl Rutledge,
Teacher Centre coordinator; Northside-Victoria District School
Board - John Currie, Superintendent; Pictou District School Board
- Margaret Earle and Feather Facey, Temperance Street School;
Queens District School Board - Nancy Richards, Brooklyn Area
School; Shelburne County District School Board - John MacKay,
Hillcrest Academy and Bonnie Nickerson, Lockeport Elementary and
Ragged Island Elementary; Strait Regional School Board - Deborah
Graham, Judique Creignish Consolidated School; Wayne Weir, Canso
High; Michael Beaton, Guysborough Municipal High School and 
Sonia Smith, L'Ardoise School; Yarmouth District School
Board - Jude Fulton, Port Maitland Elementary School; Nova Scotia
School Boards Association - Bill Whalen, superintendent of
Colchester-East Hants District School Board; Department of
Education and Culture - Stan Christie, consultant for fine arts;
Federation Des Parents Acadiens De La Nouvelle-Ecosse - Bernice
d'Entremont, a pioneer for literacy in her community.


NOTE TO EDITORS: There is an accent aigu on the two "e"s in
Federation (Federation des Parents) and the first "E" in Ecosse

Contact: Les Walker  902-479-4713

trp                     Apr. 15, 1996 - 11:00 a.m.