News Release Archive

Nine new members have been appointed to the Nova Scotia Advisory
Council on the Status of Women.

The appointments were announced today by the Minister responsible
for the Advisory Council on the Status of Women Act, Eleanor

"These appointments will strengthen the council by bringing
additional women with very diverse backgrounds and a broad range
of occupational and life experiences to its membership," said
Mrs. Norrie.

The new members all have extensive backgrounds in community
service and volunteering and represent the disabled, blended
families, aboriginal interests, the Acadian community, women in
business and professions, and municipal politics and public

"This will complement the dedication and efforts of the existing
volunteer council members, whose work has been commendable," said
Mrs. Norrie. "I sincerely hope that those women, who also bring
strength and diversity to the council, will let their names stand
for re-appointment."

The appointments of the nine council members are effective
immediately. They include:

Patricia V. Flynn, Sydney, who holds a bachelor of business
administration degree from University College of Cape Breton. She
is president of Community Involvement of the Disabled and a board
member of the Nova Scotia League for Equal Opportunity;

Carolyn DiPenta Rizzetto, New  Waterford, who holds a bachelor of
arts degree in community studies. A former town councillor, she
received a Nova Scotia Community Service Award in 1993 and
remains active in volunteer services as president of the New
Waterford branch of the Red Cross;

Sharon E. Heading, Wellington, Halifax County, whose background
is in business, promotions and marketing. She is a partner in a
blended family and her community and volunteer service includes
work with a junior high parents support group, CGIT, YWCA, and
the 1994 Special Olympics National Summer Games;

Lisa Richard, Meteghan Centre, Digby County, holds an MBA and is
general director of the Community Development Institute in the
Clare region. She is active in business and community affairs;
Karen J. Field, Bridgewater, is a physiotherapist who serves as
administrative manager of the Physiotherapy Health Services
Association of the South Shore. She is president of the Nova
Scotia branch of the Canadian Physiotherapy Association; past
president of the Lunenburg County branch of the Arthritis
Society; and currently serves as treasurer of the New Germany
rink committee;

Ann M. MacDonald, New Glasgow, is a businesswoman whose
background includes work in the airline and tourism industries.
She serves as a volunteer member of the board of directors of
Business Opportunities for Pictou County;

These six new members have been appointed for two year terms,
which will expire in April, 1998.

Three of the new members have been appointed for three year
terms, which will expire in April, 1999. They are:

Jean Catherine Knockwood, Shubenacadie, who holds a bachelor of
arts degree from Mount Saint Vincent University. She has been
extensively involved over the past 20 years in projects and
programs to help improve education opportunities for Mi'kmaq
people. She has served as a volunteer facilitator with the
Parent-Teachers Association at Shubenacadie District School and
was a volunteer at the Halifax Summit last June;

Elizabeth Blanchette, Dartmouth, is an electrical engineer with
the Canadian Coast Guard. She has worked as a professional
engineer in both the private and public sectors. As a volunteer
she serves on the board of directors of Second Stage Housing for
women in Dartmouth and is vice-chair of the coast guard's
regional women's advisory committee;

Colleen O'Connor, Truro, is a property assessor with the
Department of Municipal Affairs. She has served as a facilitator
with the Nova Scotia Race Relations and Employment Equity Task
Force. As a university student during the 1980's she served as a
parole officer with Correctional Services Canada.

"There is a broad range of cultures, occupations and experience
among the new members that will certainly complement the
diversity of the existing council," said Mrs. Norrie. "As a
result of this diversity, the council will be better able to
fulfill its role of advising the minister on women's issues, to
express the concern of women in all parts of the province, and to
celebrate women's successes."

The new members were chosen from some 200 applications for
advisory council appointments filed over the past few years with
the Executive Council office.

"The appointments are consistent with provisions of the
legislation that governs the Advisory Council on the Status of
Women. They are also consistent with our governments's policy of
accepting applications from any member of the public who wishes
to be considered for an appointment to a provincial government
agency, board, council or commission," said Mrs. Norrie.

"With 200 applicants to chose from under this system, it ensures
that a good representation of equity groups can be maintained on
the council."


Contact: Blain Henshaw  902-424-5252

trp                   Apr. 23, 1996 - 3:45 p.m.