News Release Archive

The Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) will mark a much
anticipated milestone tonight with the inaugural meeting of its
first board of governors. The meeting will take place at the
Institute of Technology Campus, Halifax, at 7 p.m.

The board of governors has been established to help the college
become more competitive and provide better quality training to
support Nova Scotia's economic development. The board will
provide a vital link between the college and the students,
employers and communities which it serves. By being more
responsive and adaptable to the dynamic training needs of the new
economy, the college can better prepare NSCC graduates for
employment, while supporting the economic development of the

Appointed by the Minister of Education & Culture Robbie Harrison,
the first members of the new board include, Steven Kelly, chair -
(Halifax); Jean Brittain, Digby; Wayne Foster, Bridgewater;
Frederick Hussey, Port Hawkesbury; Mary Dee MacPherson,
Springhill; Judy McMullen, North Sydney; Maurice Mandale,
Chester; Wendy Paquette, Halifax; Gwen Phillips, Wolfville;
Leslie Single, Truro; Vivian Thomas, Timberlea; and George
Unsworth, Sydney. The appointments were effective Aug. 20, 1996.

The board will arrange for the appointment of five college
members who will be elected by their peers. NSCC board
representatives will include two students, one academic staff
member, one administrative staff member and one support staff

As of today, the college is under the official direction of the
board of governors, responding to the career training needs of
Nova Scotians. Like all other post-secondary institutions in the
province, the college will continue to share accountability with
the minister and government in areas of public interest.


Contact: Wilma Butts  902-424-2524

trp                    Sept. 26, 1996 - 10 a.m.