News Release Archive

Four historic buildings in Yarmouth, Halifax, Sydney and
Stewiacke have been recommended as provincial heritage
properties. Each of these buildings represent a unique and
interesting part of Nova Scotia's history. The four properties
have been recommended by the provincial advisory council on
heritage property to Housing and Municipal Affairs Minister Jim

"The range of history and architecture represented by these four
buildings attest to the rich heritage of our province," said Dr.
Smith. "That the owners of these buildings have requested
provincial registration demonstrates their personal commitment to
the preservation of this heritage."

The Yarmouth property is a house built in 1864 by Stayley Brown,
a Yarmouth shipowner, provincial treasurer and vocal opponent of
Confederation. Mr. Brown built the stately Italianate residence 
on a hillside with a sweeping view of town and harbour, and the
carefully planted gardens running down to the water's edge.

The Halifax site is Fort Massey United Church. It was originally
part of the defences of the City of Halifax. However, since Fort
Massey Presbyterian Church was erected in 1871, this has been a
sacred site. Designed by one of Nova Scotia's best architects,
David Stirling, Fort Massey's congregation has included two
premiers, two lieutenant governors, three presidents of Dalhousie
University, and author Lucy Maud Montgomery.

The Sydney building, referred to as the Kennedy House, dates back
to the early days of the city. Sydney was founded in 1784, by
Governor Frederic DesBarres as the capital of the new colony of
Cape Breton. Just opposite from DesBarres' landing spot is the
small frame house built when the settlement was only a year old.
Along with a few nearby structures such as the Cossit House and
the Jost House, it remains as evidence of the long history of

The last property recommended is a small brick house in the
Second Empire style, near Stewiacke. Built in the 1870's, it was
good advertising for the owner, James Miller, because he was
developing a major brickworks and distributing them throughout
Nova Scotia. Mr. Miller's office was located on the ground floor
of the house, while Mrs. Miller had her own drawing room, on the
second floor.

The advisory committee on heritage property is appointed to
advise the minister on the registration of heritage properties.
Members include: historian Dr. Neil Boucher; superintendent of
the Fortress of Louisbourg Bill O'Shea; former municipal Heritage
committee chair Janis Gill; lawyer Diane Thompson-Sheppard, Q.C.;
retired Technical University of Nova Scotia architecture
professor Ken Hurley; municipal heritage workers Laurent
D'Entrement and Ann Trask-Fulde, and the Rev. Hazen Parent.


Contact: Wayde Brown  902-424-5647

trp                 Oct. 03, 1996 - 9:30 a.m.