News Release Archive


Stephen Wetmore has been appointed chair and Marilyn Gaudet,
acting president of the Nova Scotia Council on Higher Education,
Education and Culture Minister Robbie Harrison announced today.

For the first time, both a chair and president have been
appointed to work as a team and lead the council in its enhanced
role as an advisory body, bringing diverse perspectives from
inside and outside universities to the same table, Mr. Harrison

Landmark Consulting Group Inc. has been hired to conduct a
national search for a new president. Ms. Gaudet will serve until
the new president is in place.

"These announcements will ensure the important post-secondary
agenda will continue to move forward until a permanent president
is appointed," said Mr. Harrison.

Stephen Wetmore is executive vice-president and chief operating
officer of Air Atlantic. He was appointed to the council in June
1996, and assumes the duties of chair immediately. Mr. Wetmore
will act as spokesperson for the council and will chair council

Marilyn Gaudet was appointed deputy minister of Education and
Culture in April, 1996. She will manage and support council
activities during the transition period, and remain deputy
minister to ensure continued smooth operation of the department,
with support from senior staff members.

Supporting both Ms. Gaudet and Mr. Wetmore are the recently
appointed council members. Mr. Harrison said the varied
backgrounds of the new members are a valuable asset to the many
activities of council. "Council continues to play an important
role in supporting post-secondary education in Nova Scotia. With
these appointments we have brought the right partners with a
broad range of viewpoints to the table," he said.

Members of the Nova Scotia Council on Higher Education are: 
Kellie Burns, president, Students' Union of St. Francis Xavier
University; Grace White, entrepreneur; David Cameron, chair,
political science department, Dalhousie University; Denise
Comeau, visual artist; Hector F. MacIntyre, barrister and
solicitor, H.F. MacIntyre & Associates; Ronald J. MacKinnon,
mathematics computing and information systems Professor, St.
Francis Xavier University; Donald McLeod, former vice-president
administration, Acadia University; Shirley Mitchell, director,
post-secondary education, Mi'kmac Kina'masuti Centre; Judith
Murray, director, institutional analysis and planning, Saint
Mary's University; David Precious, chair, oral and maxillofacial
surgery department, Dalhousie University and Queen Elizabeth II
Health Sciences Centre; Robert Shaw, president, Clayton
Developments Limited; and David H. Webber, teacher, George
Bissett Elementary School.

The Nova Scotia Council on Higher Education acts as liaison
between the Nova Scotia government and universities on issues
such as funding and the development of a cooperative, high
quality and effective system of university education in the


Contact: Catherine MacIsaac  902-424-2795

trp                      Oct. 23, 1996 - 11 a.m.