News Release Archive

The Nova Scotia Utility and Review Board will be holding hearings
in March and early April to establish the electoral districts for
the six new regional school boards. Hearings for the seventh
school board, the Conseil Scolaire Acadien Provincial will be
held at a later time.

The Education Act provides that a school board may have 8 to 18
members who are elected every three years. The next elections are
in October 1997.

The new regional school boards were formed by the provincial
government last year. Previously, there were 22 district school
boards. Members of the old school boards continue as members of
the new regional school boards until the fall elections.

Government appointed co-ordinators applied to the Nova Scotia
Utility and Review Board to establish the electoral districts for
each school board. The board must ensure, "as nearly as
practical" that there are an equal number of electors in each
electoral district. In applying this test, the board must
consider population density, distribution of school-age
population, the principal language of instruction and existing
municipal polling district boundaries.

Copies of the co-ordinator's proposal are available at the school
board offices and the Utility and Review Board.

The public is invited to make their views known to the board in
three ways: attendance at the hearings; sending a letter to the
clerk of the board by mail or fax; or by e-mail. The address is
Box 1692, Unit "M", Halifax NS  B3J 3S3; Telephone: 902-424-4448;
Fax: 902-424-3919; E-mail:

The schedule of hearings is as follows:

Halifax Regional School Board

Wed. - March 5, 2:00 p.m.
Former Halifax County Building
2750 Dutch Village Road
Halifax, NS

Wed. - March 5, 7:00 p.m.              
Auburn Drive High School
300 Auburn Drive
Cole Harbour, NS

Strait Regional School Board

Tues - March 18, 2:00 p.m.
Municipal Council Chambers
42 West Street
Antigonish, NS

Tues - March 18, 7:00 p.m.
Strait Regional School Board Office
16 Cemetery Road
Port Hastings, NS

Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board

Wed - March 19, 2:00 p.m.
Court House
Chebucto Street
Baddeck, NS

Wed - March 19, 7:00 p.m.
Civic Centre Council Chambers
320 Esplanade
Sydney, NS

Southwest Regional School Board    

Mon - March 24, 2:00 p.m.
Fire Hall/Community Centre
63 King Street
Shelburne, NS

Mon - March 24, 7:00 p.m.
Town Council Chambers
400 Main Street
Yarmouth, NS

Wed - March 26, 7:00 p.m.
Town Council Chambers
60 Pleasant Street
Bridgewater, NS

Annapolis Valley Regional School Board

Tues - March 25, 2:00 p.m.
Town Council Chambers
285 St. George Street
Annapolis Royal, NS

Tues - March 25, 7:00 p.m.
Town Council Chambers
195 Main Street
Wolfville, NS

Chignecto-Central Regional School Board

Tues - April 1, 2:00 p.m.
Town Council Chambers
111 Provost Street
New Glasgow, NS

Tues - April 1, 7:00 p.m.
Chignecto-Central School Board Office   
60 Lorne Street
Truro, NS

Wed - April 2, 2:00 p.m.
Town Council Chambers
Ratchford Street
Amherst, NS


Contact: Elaine Wagner  902-424-4448

trp                   Feb. 25, 1997 - 11:35 a.m.