News Release Archive

Eleven schools in the Southwest Regional School Board officially
opened their doors to their communities today by signing school
advisory council letters of agreement.

"The schools in this region are known for welcoming their
communities through their doors," said Robbie Harrison, minister
of Education and Culture. "This signing will strengthen this
sense of community and forge new relationships. All the partners
are working together in the best interests of their children and
their education."

School advisory councils comprise students, parents, teachers,
support staff, principals and other members of the community.
Elliott Payzant, chair of the southwest school board, said they
play a key role in the education system.

"The southwest board fully supports advisory councils because
they bring together all education partners," he said. "They also
give the board an opportunity to gain appreciation of the unique
roles schools play in their respective communities."

Council responsibilities include developing school improvement
plans and profiles, advising on school discipline, developing
short-and long-term school goals, creating programs to promote
academic achievement and extracurricular activities, and
communicating with education partners.

Today's signing boosts the number of official councils in the
southwest board district to 30. Another 31 are being developed,
making the board the only one in Nova Scotia to have all its
advisory councils in place or in progress.

Signing agreements were: Big Tancook Island Elementary School,
Dr. John C. Wickwire Academy, Greenfield Elementary School,
Havelock School, Lunenburg Academy, Lunenburg Junior-Senior High
School, Mahone Bay School, North Queens Elementary School, North
Queens Rural High School, Pentz School and Petite Riviere
Elementary School.

"Each of our schools are unique with many different challenges
and opportunities, but they all share the common goal of being
safe, happy and successful schools," said Mr. Harrison. "We
should applaud the successes of each and every council."


Contact: Doug Hadley
         Education and Culture

         Barbara Johnson
         Southwest Regional School Board
         1-800-915-0113 (ext. 243)

trp                      Apr. 14, 1997 - 2:05 p.m.