News Release Archive

Top marks and active involvement in student and community affairs
have won Ryan Smith of New Minas the 1997 Dr. P. Anthony
Johnstone Memorial Fund Entrance Scholarship. Mr. Smith, who
recently graduated from Horton District High School, plans to
attend Acadia University in the fall.

"This scholarship encourages our young people to become active in
human rights issues in Canada," said Education and Culture
Minister Robbie Harrison. "It requires academic excellence but
also honours a student's leadership abilities and contribution to
cultural and youth activities during the high school years.

"Ryan's achievements, especially as the co-organizer of the first
Respect for Differences Day, are shining examples of his

Some of Mr. Smith's many achievements include: serving as
president of his high school music executive, acting as a leader
in training at the 1st New Minas Scouts, representing students on
the Horton steering committee, representing the area at Rotary
Adventures in Citizenship in Ottawa, and participating in the
Horton safe grad committee.

The Johnstone scholarship is a $5,000 annual award that honours
the life and work of the late Tony Johnstone, a longtime educator
and human rights advocate in Nova Scotia who devoted his life to
promoting multicultural understanding and social equality. It is
the largest university entrance award offered by the province.

Applicants are required to submit an original essay on practical
steps for improving the quality of life in Canada, based upon
their understanding of multiculturalism, human rights and related
equity issues. The selection committee makes its decision based
on this essay and a combination of academic, non-academic and
leadership criteria.

Recipients of the award must immediately enter the first year of
a bachelor's degree program at a Maritime university. Mr. Smith
plans to pursue a bachelor of science degree, with a major in
biology or psychology.

Students eligible to apply for next year's Dr. P. Anthony
Johnstone Scholarship may obtain application forms from their
school guidance counsellors in December. The application deadline
is April 1, 1998.


Contact: Elizabeth Ann Macdonald

trp                     June 26, 1997 - 1:42 p.m.