English / Franšais  |  Contact Us
Nova Scotia Museum
Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Snakes Turtles Frogs Salamanders

Print | Bookmark

Maritime Garter Snake

Thamhophrs sirtalis pallidula Allen


If you have ever seen a large brown snake, it was probably a Maritime Garter Snake. Their colour can vary a lot, from brown to grey or yellowish, with lighter stripe or row of spots along the sides. The striped pattern on these snakes looks like the pattern on garters once worn by men, to hold up their socks. A few are just about all black. Garters are widespread in Nova Scotia, including some of the larger coastal islands such as Big and Little Tancook off Mahone Bay, and Georges Island in Halifax Harbour. They are our largest snake species.


Garter Snakes come out of winter hibernation in April. They are common near pond and lake shores, as well as woodlands, rocky roadsides, farmlands, gravel pits and abandoned buildings. Daytime is their active period. You may see the same snake each sunny day basking in a warm spot. Garters are excellent swimmers too, moving over the surface of the water with an undulating motion. Some people call them water snakes. they eat a variety of small animals such as salamanders, fishes, frogs, worms and mice.


The babies are born alive in late summer, from 6 - 40 in a family. Baby Garter Snakes are greenish-grey, with no visible markings, and about 10cm long. They look like smooth gray worms with eyeballs. Garter Snakes have teeth (but no fangs or poison), and do tend to bite you when first picked up. The bite is more surprising that it is painful - just a small puncture. They also produce a smelly fluid intended to make you let them go.



Additional Facts and Details


The genus Thamnophis ranges from coast to coast, and from the southern North West Territories to Costa Rica. The Eastern Garter Snake, Thamnophis sirtalis, is a complex of seven sub-species, represented in the Maritime Provinces by the Maritime Garter Snake.


Garter snakes and Ribbon Snakes are closely related to the Water Snakes.


How big do they get? Here are some actual measurements:

  • Newborn babies (139 snakes were measured) - 13.4 to 19 cm
  • Adult males (51 snakes measured) - 39.6 to 60.2 cm
  • Adult females (99 snakes measured) - 39.8 to 91.7 cm

The earliest record of a Garter Snake emerging from its winter hibernation in Nova Scotia is April 16, in 1975, when one adult male was seen sunning on a flat rock at Colpton, Lunenburg County.


The latest record for a snake seen here in the fall before hibernation is October 29, in 1935, from East Roman Valley, Guysborough County.


Because they are frequently seen, Garter Snakes account for just about all the exaggerated snake stories from Nova Scotia.


In 1973, 15 adult females were captured inside a tarpaper fishing shack at West Branch Economy River, Colchester County. They were stretched out, two on the floor, five on the bottom bunk, two on the top bunk, five on the woodpile, and one on a shelf, possibly taking advantage of the warm inside temperature for embryo development.


Maritime Garter Snakes have been seen swimming in fresh water lakes 100 metres or more from shore. They will also swim in salt water.


There seems to be a tendency for Garter Snakes to become numerous on offshore islands. There are dense populations on the islands of Halifax Harbour, and the Tancook Islands.


These snakes produce from 6 to 40 young each year of pregnancy. The young are born alive (no eggs laid) from early August to about mid-September.


Garter snakes eat lots of small animals. For young snakes, earthworms and Red-backed Salamanders are the big food items. Adult snakes eat small fish, salamanders, toads, frogs. One female examined had eaten a small bird. On Little Tancook Island, research suggests these snakes are the most important predator of meadow voles.


George's Island, located in Halifax Harbour is home to a dense population of Garter Snakes. Some are melanistic. When these snakes lack the usual pigments, they look black. Even the belly and eye scales can be black. In the 1980's John Gilhen of the Museum staff investigated a population of melanistic Garter snakes on George's Island in Halifax Harbour.


Snake Species

Maritime Garter Snake

Eastern Smooth Green Snake

Northern Redbelly Snake

Northern Ringneck Snake

Northern Ribbon Snake


See Also

More Snake Facts

English / Français  |  Communiquez avec nous
Musée de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Snakes Turtles Frogs Salamanders

Imprimer | Signet

La couleuvre rayée des Maritimes

Thamnophis sirtalis pallidula Allen


Si jamais vous tombez sur un grand serpent brun, ou d'un gris tirant sur le jaune, c'est probablement la couleuvre rayée des Maritimes. D'ordinaire elle a une bande plus pâle, ou un rang de taches, de chaque côté du corps et on y voit aussi un motif en damier. (La variation noire est très rare.) Elle se trouve partout dans la province et aussi sur certaines îles au large dont Big Tancook et Little Tancook dans la baie de Mahone et l'île Georges, située au milieu du port d'Halifax. C'est le plus grand de nos serpents.


La couleuvre rayée sort de l'hibernation vers le mois d'avril. On la trouve un peu partout, près d'étangs et de lacs, dans les bois, le long des routes, dans les champs et carrières et près de bâtiments abandonnés. Elle se montre pendant le jour : on peut la voir revenir à un même endroit plusieurs fois pour se chauffer au soleil. Elle nage si bien qu'on l'appelle parfois la couleuvre d'eau. Les salamandres, les poissons, les grenouilles, les vers et les souris sont à la base de son régime alimentaire.


Les petits (entre 6 et 40 dans chaque portée) naissent vivants vers la fin de l'été. Ils sont gris-vert, sans marques, et mesurent 10 cm environ ; ils ressemblent à des vers gris avec de grands yeux. La couleuvre rayée adulte a des dents, mais non pas de crochets ni de venin. Elle peut mordre la main qui la tient, mais cette morsure n'est pas du tout grave, c'est simplement une piqûre. Elle dégage aussi un liquide malodorant pour vous persuader de la lâcher.



Quelques détails supplémentaires


Les serpents du genre Thamnophisse trouvent d'une côte à l'autre du Canada et depuis le sud des territoires du Nord-Ouest jusqu'au Costa Rica. La Couleuvre rayée, Thamnophis sirtalis,comporte sept sous-espèces dont notre représentante est la Couleuvre rayée des Maritimes.


La Couleuvre rayée et la Couleuvre mince sont des voisines de la Couleuvre d'eau.


Quelle est la longueur moyenne de ce serpent? En voilà quelques données :

  • Nouveau-nés (139) : 13,4 à 19 cm
  • Mâles adultes (51) : 39,6 à 60,2 cm
  • Femelles adultes (99) : 39,8 à 91,7 cm

Première observation : le 16 avril 1975 : un mâle adulte se réchauffait au soleil sur une roche à Colpton (cté. de Lunenburg).


Dernière observation : le 29 octobre 1935 à East Roman Valley (cté. de Guysborough).


En raison de son abondance ici la Couleuvre rayée paraît dans presque toutes nos légendes.


Observation : en 1973, sur le bord de la rivière West Branch Economy (cté. de Colchester) on a pris 15 femelles adultes dans une cabane construite en papier goudronné. Elles étaient toutes allong ées : deux sur le plancher, cinq sur la couchette d'en bas, deux sur la couchette d'en haut, cinq sur un tas de bois de chauffage, une sur une planche au mur.Elles profitaient, peut-être, de la température tempérée pour aider au développement de leurs petits à l'étage embryonnaire.


On a observé des Couleuvres rayées nageant dans des lacs à au moins 100 mètres de la rive. Elles nagent aussi dans la mer.


Il paraît que les couleuvres rayées ont tendance à se rassembler en grand nombre sur des îles au large de la côte. Les îles dans le port de Halifax et les deux îles Tancook dans la baie Mahone, par exemple, supportent de grandes colonies.


La femelle met bas entre 6 et 40 petits par ponte. Les petits naissent vivants à partir du début d'août jusque vers la mi-septembre.


La Couleuvre rayée se nourrit de beaucoup de petits animaux. Jeune, elle se régale de vers de terre et de la Salamandre rayée. Adulte, elle préfère de petits poissons, des salamandres, des crapauds et des grenouilles. Une femelle avait mangé un petit oiseau. Sur l'île Little Tancook sa proie principale est le campagnol des champs.


L'île Georges, située au milieu du port de Halifax, héberge une grande colonie de Couleuvres rayées parmi lesquelles se trouvent des couleuvres partiellement ou entièrement mélaniques ou noires. Même le ventre et les écailles des yeux peuvent être noirs. Dans les années 90 John Gilhen, herpétologiste au Musée de la Nouvelle-Écosse, a effectué une étude sur une colonie deCouleuvres rayées mélaniquessur cette île.


Espèces de serpent

La couleuvre rayée des Maritimes

La couleuvre verte de l'Est

La couleuvre à ventre rouge du Nord

La couleuvre à collier du Nord

La couleuvre mince du Nord


Voir également

Plus de détails