English / Franšais  |  Contact Us
Nova Scotia Museum
Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Snakes Turtles Frogs Salamanders

Print | Bookmark

Northern Ribbon Snake

Thamnophis sauvitus septentrionalis Rossman


Ribbon snakes in Nova Scotia are known only from Queens and Lunenburg Counties, although they also live in southern Ontario and the northeastern United States. They look something like Garter Snakes, but are more slender with dark brown or black colour and a bright yellowish stripe down the back and on each side. Their preferred home is boggy or grassy places on the shores of quiet ponds or streams.


Although active during the day, Ribbon Snakes seem nervous - they will quickly hide under plants when you approach. These snakes are also quite at home in the water. Ribbon Snakes are smaller than Garter Snakes; their young, about 10 to a litter, are born alive. Small fish, frogs and insects are common food.


Ribbon Snakes in Nova Scotia are quite a mystery. They can be very hard to find, and they don't turn up in the same place each year. Ribbon Snakes and Blandings Turtles are both at risk - there are small populations in southwestern Nova Scotia, cut off from much larger populations in Ontario. There are recovery teams in place for both these species.



Additional Facts and Details


We would like to know lots more about the Ribbon Snake population of Nova Scotia. If you see one, please let the Museum of Natural History know. Try hard to positively identify is as a Ribbon Snake, not Garter Snake.


The stripes are brownish-yellow down the middle of the back and greenish-yellow on the lower sides. There is a dark caramel-brown stripe below the light stripe down both sides of the abdomen and the underside of the tail. When you see this snake, the stripes are strong and clear. A Garter Snake just seems mottled, any striping is not so bold.


There are approximately 150 scales along the bottom of the snake.


How big do they get? Here are some measurements:

  • Adult males (6 measured) 28.5 - 38.9 cm
  • Adult females (8 measured) 29 - 50 cm

How many babies? Based on five cases, from 6 to 10 per litter.


Ribbon Snakes are found from southern Maine west to Vermont, southwest through northern New York State to northern Indiana and southeastern Illinois. The range extends into southern Ontario. The Nova Scotia population in Queens and Lunenburg counties is cut off - "disjunct" - from all other populations.


Their main habitat requirement seems to be a quiet lake or pond edge with lots of aquatic plants for shelter and hunting grounds.


The earliest record for seeing one emerging from hibernation is April 23, in 1979, in a roadside gravel pit at Colpton, Lunenburg County.


The latest date in the year for seeing one is October 2, in 1966, at Ponhook Lake, Queens County.


They are active during the day, but compared to Garter Snakes are very nervous when approached. They hide under water, among the bog moss or pond plants, and are tough to find.


Snake Species

Maritime Garter Snake

Eastern Smooth Green Snake

Northern Redbelly Snake

Northern Ringneck Snake

Northern Ribbon Snake


See Also

More Snake Facts

English / Français  |  Communiquez avec nous
Musée de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Snakes Turtles Frogs Salamanders

Imprimer | Signet

La couleuvre mince du Nord

Thamnophis sauvitus septentrionalis Rossman


On rencontre la couleuvre mince du Nord surtout dans le sud de l'Ontario et le nord-est des États-Unis. En Nouvelle-Écosse on la trouve seulement dans les comtés de Queens et de Lunenburg. Elle ressemble un peu à la couleuvre rayée mais elle est plus petite. Son corps élancé, noir ou brun foncé, porte une bande jaune brunâtre le long du dos et sur les deux côtés. Elle habite les bords herbeux d'étendues d'eau permanentes, particulièrement de marécages, et d'étangs et ruisseaux calmes.


La couleuvre mince est active le jour mais, très timide, se cache vite aussitôt qu'elle sent quelqu'un s'approcher. Elle est très à l'aise dans l'eau. Ses petits (10 environ dans chaque portée) naissent vivants. Elle se nourrit principalement de petits poissons, de grenouilles et d'insectes.


La couleuvre mince du Nord présente un problème aux herpétologistes, qui la trouvent avec beaucoup de difficulté mais ne peuvent pas se fier qu'elle y retournera chaque année. Tout comme la tortue mouchetée, cette espèce fait partie d'une population isolée de l'aire principale de sa distribution. Nos connaissances de la tortue mouchetée avancent, mais la couleuvre mince garde toujours son mystère.



Quelques détails supplémentaires


Nous aimerions bien approfondir nos connaissances de la Couleuvre mince du Nord. Si jamais vous en voyez une veuillez bien nous le faire savoir au Musée d'histoire naturelle. Seulement n'oubliez pas de vérifier que vous avez vraiment trouvé une Couleuvre mince, et non pas une Couleuvre rayée.


La bande sur le dos est jaune brunâtre et celles sur les côtés jaune verdâtre. En dessous, à côté de ces dernières lignes, on trouve une bande couleur caramel de chaque côté du ventre qui continue sur la queue. Les bandes sont très apparentes chez ce serpent, bien plus que dans le cas de la Couleuvre rayée.


Ce serpent compte à peu près 150 écailles en dessous.


Quelle est la longueur moyenne de ce serpent? En voilà quelques données:

  • Mâles adultes (6) : 28,5 à 38,9 cm
  • Femelles adultes (8) : 29 à 50 cm

Combien de petits y a-t-il dans chaque portée? D'après les cinq cas que nous avons étudié, entre six et dix.


Répartition : depuis le sud du Maine vers le ouest au Vermont et vers le sud-ouest, à travers le nord du New-York, vers le nord de l'Indiana et le sud-est de l'Illinois. Sa distribution s'étend au sud de l'Ontario. Les colonies dans les comtés de Queens et Lunenburg en Nouvelle-Écosse représentent une colonie isolée (disjointe) du reste de l'aire de l'espèce.


Il paraît que la Couleuvre mince demande surtout un lac ou un étang calme bordé de beaucoup de plantes.


Première observation : le 23 avril 1979, dans une carrière au bord de la route à Colpton (cté. de Lunenburg).


Dernière observation : le 2 octobre 1966, au lac Ponhook (cté. de Queens).


La Couleuvre mince se montre le jour mais elle est beaucoup plus timide que la Couleuvre rayée lorsqu'on s'approche d'elle. Elle se cache si bien dans l'eau même, ou parmi les plantes sur le bord du lac, qu'elle est très difficile à trouver.


Espèces de serpent

La couleuvre rayée des Maritimes

La couleuvre verte de l'Est

La couleuvre à ventre rouge du Nord

La couleuvre à collier du Nord

La couleuvre mince du Nord


Voir également

Plus de détails