English / Franšais  |  Contact Us
Nova Scotia Museum
Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Snakes Turtles Frogs Salamanders

Print | Bookmark

Atlantic Leatherback Turtle

Dermochelys coriacea coriacea (Linnaeus)


The Atlantic Leatherback is easily distinguished from the other oceanic turtles by its smooth leather-skinned carapace, which has 7 prominent longitudinal keels. The carapace varies from brown to black, as do the head and neck. The flippers are black but may have some white blotches. The plastron is white with some black blotching.


Atlantic Leatherbacks are the largest living turtles in the world. Adults usually range from 137 to 178 cm in length and weigh 295 to 544 kg. Larger individuals are uncommon. This species has its throat lined with backward-pointing spines, an adaptation that enables it to feed extensively on jellyfish. Leatherbacks can possibly be harmed by ingesting man-made debris that looks like jellyfish. Many people have stopped releasing helium ballons into the air because of this.


The Atlantic Leatherback is by far the most common sea turtle recorded in Nova Scotian coastal waters. This may be due to the huge size and the fact that they frequently become tangled in fishing gear. Most records are from Halifax County, but they can be expected anywhere along the Nova Scotia Coast. One or two are reported most years.


Leatherback Turtles are listed as "Endangered" in Canadian waters by the Committee on the Status of Wildlife in Canada. This means they are threatened with imminent extinction. All marine turtles are considered to be endangered species. For many years their eggs have been dug out of nesting sites on sandy beaches in the southern United States and Mexico and the tropics. The adults are captured and used for food, and their skins and shells are used commercially. We should recognize that they are an important part of ocean life and contribute to their conservation by releasing animals which survive being tangled in fishing gear, and not buying turtle products.

Fresh Water and Land Turtles

Eastern Painted Turtle

Wood Turtle

Common Snapping Turtle

Blanding's Turtle


Sea Turtles

Atlantic Leatherback Turtle

Atlantic Ridley Turtle

Atlantic Loggerhead Turtle


Turtle Information

Observing Nova Scotia Turtles

English / Français  |  Communiquez avec nous
Musée de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Snakes Turtles Frogs Salamanders

Imprimer | Signet

La tortue luth

Dermochelys coriacea coriacea (Linné)


Celle-ci se distingue des autres tortues marines par sa carapace sans écailles recouverte d'une peau dure comme du cuir. Il y a sept arêtes longitudinales sur la carapace. La carapace, la tête et le cou vont du brun au noir. Les membres, noirs, peuvent être ornés de taches blanches irrégulières. Le plastron est blanc avec des taches noires.


La tortue luth est la plus grande de toutes les tortues connues. L'adulte atteint d'habitude 137 à 178 cm de longueur et pèse entre 295 et 544 kg. De grosses épines molles orientées vers l'arrière dans l'œsophage l'aident à retenir et à avaler les méduses, élément important de sa nourriture. Les débris qui ressemblent à la méduse peuvent nuire à cette tortue, par exemple des sacs de plastique, des sacs transparents ou des ballons. Voilà pourquoi beaucoup de gens ont cessé de faire lancer des ballons remplis d'hélium.


La tortue luth est un visiteur estival annuel, et il s'agit de très loin la plus commune de nos tortues marines, peut-être à cause de sa grande taille et parce que nos pêcheurs la trouvent assez souvent prise dans leurs filets. On la voit le plus souvent au large du comté d'Halifax, mais elle visite toutes les côtes de la province.


Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada a déclaré que la tortue luth est une espèce « en danger de disparition » dans les eaux marines canadiennes. Il applique cette désignation à « toute espèce exposée à une disparition ou à une extinction imminente ». Toutes les tortues marines sont des espèces en danger de disparition. Pendant des années, au sud des États-Unis, au Mexique et dans les régions tropicales, on a volé leurs œufs et pris les adultes, ou pour les manger ou pour en vendre la carapace. Les tortues marines représentent un élément important de l'écologie marine. Il faut donc les libérer si on les trouve prises dans des filets.

Tortues d'eau douce et terrestres

La tortue peinte de l'Est

La tortue des bois

La chélydre serpentine (tortue hargneuse)

La tortue mouchetée


Tortues marines

La tortue luth

La tortue bâtarde

La caouane


Renseignements sur les Tortues

L'observation des tortues