English / Franšais  |  Contact Us
Nova Scotia Museum
Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Snakes Turtles Frogs Salamanders

Print | Bookmark

Eastern Painted Turtle

Chrysemys picta picta (Schneider)


This is the most common and most colourful turtle in Nova Scotia. The carapace is basically green with a yellow stripe down the middle and yellow edges around the shell plates. The edge is marked with red. The plastron is yellow. The head is streaked with yellow, and neck and legs and tail are streaked with red.


Painted Turtles are common in southwestern Nova Scotia, becoming less common or absent in the northeast. There are no records from Cape Breton. Look for them in plant-filled ponds, lakes and streams. They are often seen in groups basking on logs and rocks. They seem to be most common where lily pads and pickerel weed grow, eating insects, snails and bits of lily pad.


Painted Turtles dig nests along roadsides or in cultivated fields, as well as in sand or gravel beaches. The hatchlings may dig their way out in the fall of the same year. If the nest surface temperature becomes lower than the nest bottom temperature, overwintering is possible. Adults hibernate at the bottom of ponds.



Additional Facts and Details


The Painted Turtle (Chrysemys picta) is a complex of four subspecies: the Eastern Painted Turtle (C. p. picta), the Midland Painted Turtle (C. p. marginata), the Southern Painted Turtle (C. p. dorsalis) and the Western Painted Turtle (C. p. belli). The subspecies differ in colour pattern and alignment of the scutes of the carapace.

Nova Scotia's Painted Turtles have characteristics of both the Eastern and Midland Painted Turtle.


In Canada, the Eastern Painted Turtle is found in mainland Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. In N. S., it is common to abundant in the southwestern mainland, becoming locally common or absent on the norteastern mainland. The range extends south to Alabama.


Size: for 46 adults measured in Kejimkujik National Park in southwestern Nova Scotia, the carapace length of males was 13.1 to 16.5 cm, and females 14.3 to 17.1 cm.


They inhabit vegetated ponds, lakes and streams, and seem to be most common where lily pads and pickerel weed grow.


They hibernate at the bottom of ponds.


Females migrate to sand or gravel beaches, roadbanks or cultivated fields during the afternoons, from early June to early July, to dig a nest and lay eggs.


Females lay between 6 and 11 eggs yearly (based on counts of 23 animals).


Hatchlings emerge from the nest between late September and the end of October. If the nest surface temperature becomes lower than the temperature at the bottom of the nest, they will overwinter and dig out the following spring.


They are generally active in day, but have been seen resting embedded like beach stones in a lake bottom in daytime, and also feeding at nighttime.


They eat a variety of aquatic insects, their larvae or nymphs and other invertebrates, particularly snails, and small pieces of lily pads.


Fresh Water and Land Turtles

Eastern Painted Turtle

Wood Turtle

Common Snapping Turtle

Blanding's Turtle


Sea Turtles

Atlantic Leatherback Turtle

Atlantic Ridley Turtle

Atlantic Loggerhead Turtle


Turtle Information

Observing Nova Scotia Turtles

English / Français  |  Communiquez avec nous
Musée de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Reptiles and Amphibians Collection Snakes Turtles Frogs Salamanders

Imprimer | Signet

La tortue peinte de l'Est

Chrysemys picta picta (Schneider)


Cette jolie tortue est la plus commune de nos espèces. Sa carapace vert olive porte une mince ligne jaune au milieu et les contours des écailles centrales sont tracés en jaune. Les écailles marginales, par contre, ont de belles taches rouges. Le plastron est jaune. La tête est rayée de jaune et le cou, les pattes et la queue de rouge.


Elle est commune dans le sud-ouest de la province, plus rare dans le nord-ouest, et n'a jamais été observée au Cap-Breton. En été elle aime prendre le soleil avec un groupe de ses compagnes. On la trouve dans des étangs, des lacs et des cours d'eau riches en végétation, surtout des nénuphars et des pontédéries. Sa nourriture consiste en insectes, limaçons et plantes.


Lors de la ponte la tortue peinte ne se limite pas aux bords d'étangs ou de lacs : elle peut choisir un nid au bord d'une petite route ou même dans un champ cultivé. Les nouveau-nés peuvent en sortir en automne ou, si la température de la surface du sol tombe au-dessous de celle du nid, ils peuvent y rester jusqu'au printemps. Les adultes hibernent dans la boue des fonds d'étags.



Quelques détails supplémentaires


La Tortue peinte (Chrysemys picta) comprend quatre sous-espèces, la Tortue peinte de l'Est (C. p. picta), la Tortue peinte du Centre (C. p. marginata), la Tortue peinte du Sud (C. p. dorsalis) et la Tortue peinte de l'Ouest (C. p. belli). La coloration et l'alignement des écailles de la dossière varient chez chaque sous-espèce.


Notre tortue possède des caractéristiques qui se trouvent chez la Tortue peinte de l'Est et chez la Tortue peinte du Centre. Ceci semble attester que les deux races se sont jadis croisées.


La Tortue peinte de l'Est se trouve ici et au Nouveau-Brunswick. En Nouvelle-Écosse elle est commune, même abondante dans le sud-ouest et, à mesure qu'on traverse la province vers le nord-est, elle devient commune dans des endroits isolés et, à la fin, absente. Elle n'a pas été observée au Cap-Breton. Son aire de distribution s'étend vers le sud à l'Alabama.


Longueur de la carapace : D'entre 46 tortues adultes mesurées dans le Parc national de Kejimkujik, on a observé que les carapaces des mâles mesuraient entre 13,1 et 16,5 cm et celle des femelles entre 14,3 et 17,1 cm.


Elle habite dans des étangs riches en végétation et semble préférer les nénuphars et les pontéderies.


Elle hiberne dans la boue des fonds d'étangs.


En juin et juillet la femelle émerge de l'eau pour pondre. Son nid peut bien se trouver dans un bord d'étang sablonneux ou pierreux, ou à l'intérieur des terres, au bord d'une route ou dans un champ cultivé.


D'après nos observations de 23 tortues, la femelle pond de six à onze oeufs par an.


Les nouveau-nées sortent du nid entre la fin septembre et la fin octobre. Si la température à la surface du nid est plus froide que celle au fond, elles y resteront jusqu'au printemps.


La Tortue peinte est une espèce diurne. On l'a cependant observée enfoncée dans la boue au fond d'un lac pendant le jour et, la nuit, en train de manger.


Cette espèce se nourrit d'insectes aquatiques (et aussi leurs larves), d'escargots et d'autres invertébrés, et de feuilles de nénuphars.


Tortues d'eau douce et terrestres

La tortue peinte de l'Est

La tortue des bois

La chélydre serpentine (tortue hargneuse)

La tortue mouchetée


Tortues marines

La tortue luth

La tortue bâtarde

La caouane


Renseignements sur les Tortues

L'observation des tortues