News Release Archive

The Fisherman's Life Museum in Jeddore Oyster Pond is
celebrating, on the province's eastern shore, Museums' Day on
July 13 with a Mussels Appreciation Day and Memories of the
Wooden Ships.

Interpreters will relate about mussels. It is only very recently
that these little creatures, in their cultivated state, have
become a retail food. Before that only fishermen and others
living near the sea could collect delicious wild mussels for a
quick supper. Visitors can find out where and how mussels are
cultivated, how they grow and where they live.

But the mussels are only the beginning of the fun. Avis Jennex, a
long time member of the community will be playing old tunes on
the museum's pump organ, and everyone is invited to sing along. A
local fiddler will also make an appearance. Visitors can browse
through a special display of photographs of the wooden boats that
were built and sailed along the eastern shore.

On the mantel in the parlour is a model of the Viola G. Hartlin,
a two masted fishing schooner that played an important role on
the eastern shore in the 1920's. The Viola G. fished with the
original Bluenose. She carried fish up the coast to Halifax,
returning with loads of freight and dried goods. Viola G.'s
remains are at the bottom of Navy Pool, near the museum. The
model in the museum was made by the son of the builder/owner of
the Viola G. The vessel was named for the owner's daughter.

Visitors can also hear the exciting story of the burning of the
Strathcona, a ferry that served the eastern shore. She burnt one
foggy night during the Christmas Season of 1906, but due to the
heroism of her Captain and crew, every passenger was saved.

The Fisherman's Life Museum is a busy place. There are baby
chickens expected for July 13 and some baby lambs are on the way.
The wood stove in the summer kitchen is always going, it fills
the air with the scent of burning wood and keeps the kettle
boiling. Adjacent to the house is a dairy where the family who
used to live here made their cheese and butter.

The house was built in 1850 by James Myers. He and his wife
raised their 12 girls on the hilly piece of land between Navy
Pool and Jeddore Harbour. Some of the furnishings belonged to the
original family and others are from the same time period.


Contact: Joan Waldron     902-424-7398

         Emma McKennirey  902-424-6435

trp                    July 05, 1996 - 9:00 a.m.