News release

Excellence in Public Administration Medal

Peter C. Aucoin, McCulloch professor in political science and professor of public administration at Dalhousie University, will be honoured as the 1999 recipient of the Lieutenant-Governor's Medal for Excellence in Public Administration. An award ceremony and reception will be held at Government House in Halifax on Monday, April 12, starting at 5 p.m.

Chief Justice Constance Glube will present the medal on behalf of Lt.-Gov. John James Kinley, the honorary patron of the Nova Scotia Regional Group of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada.

Dr. Aucoin's distinguished career as a scholar and his role as consultant and adviser to governments and universities have earned him the respect of political leaders and senior public managers in Canada and abroad.

"Dr. Aucoin is one of Canada's most accomplished students of public administration and is respected internationally for his research and writing on comparative public policy and administration," said Barbara Murray, chair of the award committee. "Peter is deserving of this award not only because of the scope and quality of his research, but because of his generosity and effectiveness as a teacher and adviser to public managers. He has had a huge impact on public service practitioners in Nova Scotia, Canada and internationally."

The Institute of Public Administration of Canada launched the Award for Excellence Program in 1986 with the patronage of the lieutenant-governor.

"The medal is awarded annually to an individual who has significantly enhanced the performance of public administration and is one way to publicly recognize exceptional achievement and encourage quality service delivery", said Joyce McDonald, president of the Nova Scotia Regional Group.

The Institute of Public Administration is a national organization with more than 3,600 members from all levels of government, institutions and public sector bodies. The award recipient is chosen from among nominations solicited from policy-makers and managers across the province.



Barbara Murray
Chair, Award Committee 902-424-7602

NOTE TO EDITORS: Media are invited to attend the reception Monday, April 12, from 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.

ngr                   April 9, 1999                 2:22 p.m.