News release

Seven Women Appointed to Advisory Council

The Advisory Council on the Status of Women received seven new appointments today following approval by the legislature's all-party human resources committee. The appointments are effective May 1.

"I'm pleased these women have been appointed to the advisory council," said Francene Cosman, Minister responsible for the Status of Women. "These are well-qualified women knowledgeable of and experienced with women's issues. I am confident they will serve the council well."

The new appointees are:

  • Karen J. Field, a Bridgewater physiotherapist, representing the South Shore region (two-year term)
  • Shirley Jackson, a community activist from Bridgetown, representing the Valley region (three-year term)
  • Patricia LeBlanc, a Sydney resident with extensive community involvement, representing the Cape Breton region (three-year term)
  • Sonja Power, an Amherst resident who works with incarcerated women, representing the Fundy region (two-year term)
  • Mary Sampson, a Sydney volunteer and homemaker, representing the Cape Breton region (three-year term)
  • Sharon Sobol, a Sydney pharmacist, representing the Cape Breton region (two-year term)
  • Rita Warner, a community volunteer from Judique, representing the Cape Breton region (two-year term)

Ms. Field and Ms. LeBlanc both served on council from 1996-1998. These appointments raise the council's membership to 12. Council chair is Patricia Doyle-Bedwell.

The advisory council was established in 1977 to advance equality, fairness and dignity for all women in Nova Scotia by providing advice to the minister on women's issues and by bringing forward the concerns of women.



Chris Hansen
Advisory Council on the Status of Women 902-424-4190 Cell: 902-478-8762 E-mail:

NOTE TO EDITORS: Brief profiles of the appointees are available by contacting Communications Nova Scotia at 902-424-4492 or e-mail .

arc                 April 27, 1999                  3:30 p.m.