News release

Changes to Legislation Will Redraw Electoral Boundaries

Legislation to redraw the province’s electoral map was introduced today, Oct. 9.

Attorney General and Justice Minister Mark Furey tabled changes to the House of Assembly Act, which include reinstating the constituencies of Argyle, Clare, Richmond and Preston.

“The boundary changes introduced today reflect the work of the independent 2018-19 Electoral Boundaries Commission,” said Mr. Furey.

The changes also include a move to digital boundaries. Access to new interactive digital riding maps will make it easier and more convenient for Nova Scotians to find information related to electoral ridings.


The commission consulted widely across the province to fulfill our terms of reference which was to strike a balance between voter parity and ensuring effective representation for all Nova Scotians. Colin Dodds, chair of the 2018-19 Electoral Boundaries Commission

Quick Facts:

  • these changes will increase the number of provincial electoral districts from 51 to 55
  • the all-party Select Committee of the House of Assembly was created in March 2018 to determine the composition of an independent electoral boundaries commission and set terms of reference in addition to those set in legislation
  • the select committee established the 2018-19 Electoral Boundaries Commission on July 13, 2018
  • the role of the commission was to recommend the boundaries and names for all electoral districts that make up the membership of the House of Assembly
  • the commission’s final report was filed on April 15, 2019
  • a commission on electoral boundaries must be established and a review undertaken at least once every ten years. The last review was in 2011-12

Additional Resources:

For information on the Select Committee on Establishing an Electoral Boundaries Commission, visit:

To view a copy of the Nova Scotia Electoral Boundaries Commission final report and recommended boundaries, visit:

New draft digital electoral boundaries may be viewed by visiting: