News release

Ministerial Advisory Committee Appointed

NOTE: A full list of advisory committee members follows the release.

Moving Nova Scotia toward an ecological forestry management approach will consider the best available science and perspectives from people and organizations from across the province.

Lands and Forestry Minister, Iain Rankin, has appointed a new advisory committee with 14 members from environmental non-government organizations, industry, the Mi'kmaq and academia.

“Nova Scotians are deeply connected to the natural environment and should understand how and why decisions are being made related to the stewardship of our forests,” said Mr. Rankin. “I look forward to working with this group as we adopt an ecological forestry approach in Nova Scotia.”

The committee will advise the minister on the policies and priorities related to implementing the model recommended in Prof. Lahey’s independent review of forestry practices.


I'm happy to be part of the advisory committee to ensure the science of forestry is what future decision-making is based on. All forest industry players are interested in having a promising future in forestry in Nova Scotia and decisions that our government makes today will either enable or inhibit that from happening. As a third-generation family member in the wood business, I understand the importance of this process. Cassie Turple, communications coordinator, Ledwidge Lumber

"Implementing the Lahey Report is critically important to ensuring Nova Scotia’s forests are managed in a more sustainable and ecologically responsible manner for all users and values. Engaging stakeholders from the various sectors in an advisory capacity is an important component of successfully implementing the report and fulfills a key commitment of the Natural Resources Strategy. We applaud the government on taking this important step and stand ready to roll up our sleeves and to work in good faith with all the members of the new committee towards full implementation of the report and the needed shift to ecological forestry.”

Raymond Plourde, senior wilderness coordinator, Ecology Action Centre

Quick Facts:

  • members will be appointed for a minimum of two years and can serve a maximum of two terms
  • the first meeting of the committee will be scheduled in November and will include finalizing terms of reference
  • the committee will meet four times a year, or as needed to meet their mandate

Additional Resources:

For more information on ecological forestry, visit


Advisory committee members:

  • Karen Beazley, Dalhousie University
  • Donna Crossland
  • Angie Gillis, Mi'kmaw Conservation Group & Confederacy of Mainland Mi'kmaq
  • Andy Kekacs, Nova Scotia Woodlot Owners and Operators Association
  • Jason Limongelli, J.D. Irving Ltd.
  • Bevan Lock, Port Hawkesbury Paper
  • Raymond Plourde, Ecology Action Centre
  • Paul Orser, Paper Excellence Canada
  • Debbie Reeves, Murray A. Reeves Forestry
  • Mary Jane Rodger, Medway Community Forest Co-op
  • Mary Tulle, Tourism Nova Scotia
  • Cassie Turple, Ledwidge Lumber
  • Greg Watson, North Nova Forest Owners Co-op Ltd
  • Marcus Zwicker, WestFor