News release

2019 Human Rights Awards Presented

Three individuals and two groups were presented with the 2019 Nova Scotia Human Rights Awards today, Dec. 10 in Halifax.

The awards are presented annually by the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission to recipients who demonstrate a commitment to advancing human rights and enhancing equity and inclusion in their community.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Youth Award: Cassidy Megan, Halifax, in recognition of her extraordinary efforts in raising local and global awareness on epilepsy through her Purple Day Foundation.
  • Individual Award: Rana Zaman, Halifax, in recognition of her extraordinary advocacy efforts in bringing together diverse communities in Halifax
  • Dr. Burnley Allan “Rocky” Jones Award: Trayvone Clayton, Halifax, in recognition of his community activism, particularly his advocacy on racial justice and equality for youth in the African Nova Scotian community
  • Group Award: 902 ManUp, Halifax, in recognition of their community activism and innovation in addressing educational, vocational, and social barriers facing young African Nova Scotian males; and in particular, their advocacy work on the issue of police street checks
  • Group Award: African Nova Scotian Decade for People of African Descent Coalition, in recognition of their advocacy work with the African Nova Scotian community; particularly their commitment to addressing the issue of police street checks


Celebrating Human Rights Day with the presentation of the Human Rights Awards is the highlight of our year here at the commission. Meeting the recipients, their families and supporters, who share in a commitment to protecting human rights is a great privilege. Christine Hanson, director and CEO, Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission

Quick Facts:

  • Dec. 10 is the United Nations International Human Rights Day
  • recipients are selected by the committee from nominations submitted by their peers

Additional Resources:

Full bios for this year’s recipients can be found on the commission’s website at:

To view a list of past recipients of the awards visit: