News release

Exemplary Service Medals Awarded

NOTE: The list of medal recipients follows this release.

Nine current and two former paramedics (posthumously) were awarded the Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal today, October 25.

The recipients have dedicated their careers to providing care to people in their time of greatest need, sometimes at their own personal risk. The medal is a national honour in recognition of their long-standing dedication to the health, safety and well-being of Nova Scotians.

“On behalf of all Nova Scotians, I extend heartfelt gratitude to each recipient for making invaluable contributions to the well-being of our province,” said Lt.-Gov. Arthur J. LeBlanc. “It has been inspiring to witness countless examples of compassion, endurance and resilience, particularly during times of great uncertainty. Through the medal ceremony, the recipients are recognized by the Province and the Crown for their many years of devoted service.”

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) professionals can be nominated for the medal by their peers or the public. Recipients must have demonstrated exemplary service in their careers for at least 20 years, including 10 years in an emergency medical services position that involves risk.


As a paramedic, no two days are alike, and we see many different scenarios in the run of a shift. For me, I love figuring out what’s going on with patients – many of whom are experiencing the worst day of their life – and helping them get through it. There’s no better feeling knowing you have made a difference in someone’s life, and that’s what keeps me coming back every day. In my 22 years as a paramedic, I have seen an evolution in the profession and an expansion of the scope of practice. We can do much more for patients now than when I first started. I feel privileged to work alongside people who feel the same way I do about being there when Nova Scotians need it. Stacy Codling, medal recipient, Amherst

Quick Facts:

  • Queen Elizabeth II created the Exemplary Service Medal in 1994
  • the award is part of a national recognition program for people who work in high-risk jobs that enhance Canada’s public safety
  • police, firefighters, corrections officers, coast guard members and peace officers are also eligible for exemplary service medals
  • the medal is part of the Canadian honours system

Additional Resources:

Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal:

More information on Canadian honours is available at:


The medal recipients are:

  • Scott Barteaux, Nictaux, Annapolis County (posthumous)
  • Mike Bourbonniere, Middle Sackville
  • Rob Braund, Dartmouth
  • Carly Collings-Robertson, Nine Mile River
  • Jarred Codling, Amherst
  • Stacy Codling, Amherst
  • Katherine Houde, Dartmouth
  • Terry Muise, Yarmouth (posthumous)
  • Peter Sexton, Sydney Mines
  • Terry Turnbull, Fox Harbour
  • Victor Matthews, Sydney