News release

New Chief Electoral Officer Appointed

Dorothy Rice has been appointed Nova Scotia’s Chief Electoral Officer. She replaces Richard Temporale, who retired in May after 10 years in the position.

Ms. Rice had been the chief financial officer at Elections Nova Scotia since 2011. She is a chartered professional accountant (CPA) and recipient of the profession’s highest mark of distinction, the fellow (FCPA) designation.

“Nova Scotians are fortunate to have someone of Ms. Rice’s experience and commitment as the province’s new Chief Electoral Officer,” said Keith Bain, Speaker of the House of Assembly. “As Chief Electoral Officer, she has a vitally important role to play in our public life. I also want to thank Assistant Chief Electoral Officer Lindsay Rodenkirchen for her leadership as acting CEO over the past six months.”

As head of Elections Nova Scotia, the chief electoral officer is accountable to the House of Assembly. The chief electoral officer provides independent, non-partisan, strategic advice on election-related matters and best practices in accordance with the terms of the Elections Act and other relevant laws. The chief electoral officer supervises the conduct of elections and provides leadership on other Elections Nova Scotia programs, services, operations and infrastructure.

Ms. Rice’s term is 10 years with eligibility for renewal.

Applicants for the position were interviewed by a selection committee, which included representatives from the three main political parties and the Chair of the Nova Scotia Election Commission. The House of Assembly approved the appointment today, November 8.


I am incredibly excited to assume the role of Chief Electoral Officer and to guide the future of Elections Nova Scotia. We have an exceptionally talented team at ENS who are focused on providing exceptional service to Nova Scotian electors. I am also looking forward to working with stakeholders engaged in electoral activity in Nova Scotia and beyond. Dorothy Rice, Chief Electoral Officer, Elections Nova Scotia

Quick Facts:

  • the recruitment process followed the Public Service Commission’s fair hiring and employment equity policies and the Fair Hiring Practice Guidelines
  • members of the selection committee included: Co-Chairs Vincent MacLean, Chair of the Nova Scotia Election Commission, and Dana MacKenzie, Associate Deputy Minister of Justice; and election commission members Jane O’Neill, Nova Scotia Liberal Party; Jill Houlihan, Nova Scotia New Democratic Party; and George White, Progressive Conservative Association of Nova Scotia