Nova Scotia Advisory Commission on AIDS

The Nova Scotia Advisory Commission on AIDS (the Commission) was created in the fall of 1989. The Commission gives policy advice on HIV/AIDS and related issues to the Government of Nova Scotia.

Our members

The Nova Scotia Advisory Commission on AIDS members come from across Nova Scotia and are selected for their interest and knowledge of HIV/AIDS issues.

Commission member First appointment Current term
Chairperson – Denise Rooney 3 March 2015
4 July 2016 (Chair)
6 March 2026
William Hart November 1989 6 March 2026
Rosanne LeBlanc 3 March 2015 6 March 2026
Kaothar Bello 7 March 2023 6 March 2026
William Hatfield 7 March 2023 6 March 2026

Joining the Commission

The selection of new Commissioners, including that of the Chairperson, is made by the Executive Council through an Order-in-Council. Commissioners and the Chairperson serve a 3-year term and may re-apply to renew their appointment.

If you want to become a member of the Commission, you can apply online.

World AIDS Day

HIV/AIDS Awareness Week (24 November to 1 December) and World AIDS Day (1 December), which also launches Indigenous AIDS Awareness Week (1 to 7 December) in Canada, is a time to honour all who are affected by and the millions of people who have lost their lives to HIV infection.

View the video of the Honourable Michelle Thompson, Minister of the Department of Health and Wellness, raising the red ribbon flag and reading the proclamation.

Photo: AIDS flag at Province House

Contact us
Barrington Tower
1894 Barrington Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L4