About the Office

The Office has dual functions:

  • To reduce undue provincial burden on Nova Scotia businesses.
  • Align, where possible, regulatory systems across the Atlantic region. This work is undertaken by the Joint Office, a partnership of the four Atlantic provinces.

These two functions share the same purpose: to improve competitive position of the province and region and help spur economic growth.

(left to right) Jordan Mahar, Sacha Rutledge, Leanne Hachey, Ashely Swain, Fred Crooks, Joan Penney, Nick Langley, Heather Brokken

Our Team (left to right): Jordan Mahar, Sacha Rutledge, Leanne Hachey, Ashley Swain, Fred Crooks, Joan Penney, Nick Langley, Heather Brokken

Staff

Joan Penney
Executive Director of Project Implementation and Customer Service

Joan develops and leads the service strategy as it relates to regulations for business with a view to ensure it’s easy for businesses to grow and prosper.
Joan.Penney@NovaScotia.ca
Phone: 902-424-1279

Leanne Hachey
Executive Director of Stakeholder Relations and Intergovernmental Initiatives

Leanne ensures businesses are involved and informed about the Office’s work and oversees initiatives to eliminate regulatory inconsistency and duplication between provinces.
Leanne.Hachey@NovaScotia.ca
Phone: 902-424-1187

Janine Farmer
Economist

Janine is an economist who provides analytical support in model development, policy analysis, and econometrics.
Janine.Farmer@novascotia.ca
Phone: 902-424-1539

Heather Brokken
Senior Service Advisor, Service Effectiveness
Heather is the senior advisor in the development of the service strategy related to business regulations.
Heather.Brokken@NovaScotia.ca
Phone: 902-424-7720

Jordan Mahar
Economist

Jordan is the Office economist providing analytical support in model development, policy analysis, and econometrics.
Jordan.Mahar@NovaScotia.ca
Phone: 902-424-1257

Sacha Rutledge
Administrator, Project Management

Sacha is the Project Manager for the Office, keeping its initiatives on track while ensuring the Office runs smoothly on a day to day basis.
Sacha.Rutledge@NovaScotia.ca
Phone: 902-424-1513

Nick Langley
Regulatory Corporate Strategist

Nick provides research on regulatory policies and stakeholder engagement for the office in the Atlantic region.
Nick.Langley@NovaScotia.ca
Phone: 902-424-7752

Ashley Swain
Navigation Business Analyst

In addition to helping business understand and comply with regulation, Ashley also provides support for the Business Navigation team by building new processes, systems, tools and other operational improvements and measures to ensure an optimal level of customer service for businesses on every call.
Ashely.Swain@novascotia.ca
Phone: 902-424-1557

Leads in the four Atlantic Provinces

Fred Crooks
Chief Regulatory Officer, Government of Nova Scotia

Fred is Nova Scotia’s first Chief Regulatory Officer and leads the Office in its mandate to reduce barriers to business growth and expansion. Fred was executive vice-president, corporate services, at Bell Aliant where he oversaw human resources, labour relations, legal services, regulatory affairs and communications and public affairs. Previous to that, Fred was a senior partner in a major Atlantic law firm for more than 20 years.
Fred.Crooks@NovaScotia.ca

Susan Holt
Chief, Business Partnerships, Government of New Brunswick

Former president and CEO of the New Brunswick Business Council, Susan has experience in sales, human resources and management roles including with Xerox, HP, IBM and Research In Motion. She served recently as CEO of the Fredericton Chamber of Commerce.
Susan.Holt@gnb.ca

Paul Ledwell
Deputy Minister of Policy and Priorities, Government of Prince Edward Island
ptledwell@gov.pe.ca

Katie Norman
Cabinet Secretariat, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador
KatieNorman@gov.nl.ca

 

Contact Us

Office of Regulatory Affairs and Service Effectiveness
Suite 302, Collins Bank Building
1883 Upper Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1S9
Canada
902-424-1513