Nova Scotia Archives

Bluenose: A Canadian Icon

Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

In 1922, the Nova Scotia Elimination Races were scheduled for early October, off Halifax Harbour; the contestants were Bluenose, Canadia, Mahaska and the Margaret K. Smith. In the first race, Bluenose rounded the Inner Automatic Buoy on the wrong side, had to turn around, sail back and then pass again on the correct side—but still managed to finish the race a full seven minutes ahead of the nearest competitor, in an "astonishing display of speed."

The remaining two Elimination Races were canceled due to light winds, and so Bluenose proceeded to Gloucester to meet the American entry, the Henry Ford (Captain Clayton Morrissey). In the first Trophy Race, on 23 October, Bluenose beat the Ford by two-and-a-half minutes. In the second race, two days later, the Ford lost its foretopmast but the Race Committee nevertheless decided in favour of Bluenose. In the final race on 26 October, it was Bluenose—by nearly eight minutes.

The 1923 International Fishermen's Races were regarded as the most exciting and controversial of the entire series, and generated huge popular interest. It was in this year that Angus Walters met his match in Captain Ben Pine, skipper of the American contender, Columbia. In the first Trophy Race, held off Halifax on 29 October, Bluenose won—but by a whisker's breadth, measured as one minute and twenty seconds. As well, in the middle of the race, as Bluenose rushed to gain space and avoid grounding on shoals, it brushed up against the Columbia, hooked a dangling line, and for about a minute was actually towing the competition—all of which was captured in some very early aerial film footage.

In the second Trophy Race, held on 1 November, Bluenose won by two minutes and forty-five seconds—but as in the previous year, the schooner passed one of the harbour buoys on the wrong side and this time the judges awarded the race to Columbia. Walters, highly annoyed, refused to race a third time and sailed home to Lunenburg. The trophy remained with Bluenose by default and the prize money was split between the two crews; but bad feelings had set in and it would be seven years before they raced again.

In 1926, separate races were held in Halifax and Gloucester; otherwise, the two sides refused to meet. In Halifax, Bluenose sailed against the brand-new Haligonian—built the previous year in Shelburne, also designed by Roué, and thought to be fully Bluenose's equal. The race was a disappointment. Bluenose won handily in a challenge that sparked little excitement. Also, it was obvious that the long-standing rivalries and camaraderie between Lunenburgers and Gloucestermen served to salt and sharpen the racing event; without that extra international flavour, something was missing.

In 1930 a special race was held at Gloucester, this time for the Sir Thomas Lipton Cup—a sort of olive-branch held out to test the international waters. Ben Pine had a new schooner, the Gertrude L. Thebaud, a "light and winsome" vessel described as having "the air of a Boston debutante" and thought to be a real winner. In the first race Bluenose lost badly—in what was generally acknowledged as the worst showing of the schooner's entire career. It carried the second race, but lost the third one and limped back home to Lunenburg, defeated overall. Angus Walters was not pleased, but was nevertheless heard to say that he would not "cast any reflections to the 3 Gloucestermen on board as crew at the time, one who was handling the wheel."

In 1931 the International Fishermen's Race was finally revived, off Halifax and between the two arch-rivals, Bluenose and Thebaud. Excitement ran high, but the winds were light and the results disappointing. Bluenose won all three races, but the first was disallowed when both vessels exceeded the time limit, and only the third race—which Bluenose won by twelve minutes—was up to the usual standards. The Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet was beginning to show its age.


Results 1 to 15 of 32 from your search:

next


Canadia entering harbour for elimination race, 1922
Date: 1922
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040041

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Schooner Bluenose
Date: 1922
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040042

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Schooner racing, 1922 Canadia 1922
Date: 1922
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040043

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Mahaska 1922
Date: 1922
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040044

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Margaret K. Smith 1922 Elimination Races
Date: 1922
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040045

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Bluenose & Henry Ford 1922
Date: 1922
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040047

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Zwicker and Company Ledger
Date: 1922
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Captain Angus Walters at the wheel
Date: 1922
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
Reference no.: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Columbia 1923
Date: 1923
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040048

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Captains Ben Pine and Angus Walters
Date: ca. 1923
Reference no.: Tom Connors 'Old Sport' Nova Scotia Archives no. 574

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Bluenose Crew
Date: ca. 1923
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040050

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Columbia and Bluenose 1923 Final Races
Date: 1923
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040051

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Columbia, 1923
Date: 1923
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040052

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Bluenose crossing the line 1923
Date: 1923
Photographer: W.R. MacAskill
Reference no.: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040053

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)

Captain Martin 'Marty' Welch of the Esperanto
Date: 1920
Reference no.: Tom Connors 'Old Sport' Nova Scotia Archives no. 573

Theme: Queen of the North Atlantic Fishing Fleet (1922-1931)
   Page 1 of 3: 1 2 3  next

Nova Scotia Archives

Le Bluenose, symbole canadien

La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

En 1922, les courses éliminatoires de la Nouvelle-Écosse étaient prévues pour le début octobre, au large du port de Halifax; les concurrents étaient le Bluenose, le Canadia, le Mahaska et leMargaret K. Smith. Lors de la première course, le Bluenose a contourné la bouée automatique du mauvais côté, et il a dû faire demi-tour pour repasser la bouée du bon côté; il a pourtant réussi à finir la course avec sept minutes d'avance sur son plus proche concurrent, le tout dans une « étonnante démonstration de vitesse ».

Les deux autres courses éliminatoires ont été annulées à cause de vents légers; le Bluenose a donc mis le cap sur Gloucester pour affronter le concurrent américain, le Henry Ford (capitaine Clayton Morrissey). Dans la première course pour le trophée, le 23 octobre, le Bluenose a battu le Ford avec deux minutes et demie d'avance. Dans la seconde course, deux jours plus tard, le Ford a perdu son mât de flèche de misaine, mais le comité de la course a quand même décidé en faveur du Bluenose. Dans la course finale, le 26 octobre, le Bluenose l'a remporté avec près de huit minutes d'avance.

Les courses internationales des pêcheurs de 1923 étaient considérées comme les plus passionnantes et les plus controversées de toute la série, et elles ont intéressé énormément de gens. C'est cette année-là qu'Angus Walters a eu affaire à forte partie avec le capitaine Ben Pine, maître à bord de l'aspirant au titre, le navire américain Columbia. Dans la première course pour le trophée, tenue au large de Halifax le 29 octobre, le Bluenose a gagné, mais de justesse, la différence ayant été d'une minute et vingt secondes. En outre, au milieu de la course, le Bluenose a essayé de gagner du terrain et d'éviter d'échouer sur des hauts-fonds; ce faisant, il s'est frotté le long du Columbia, a ramassé un câble qui pendait et, pendant à peu près une minute, il a remorqué son compétiteur... et tout cela a été saisi dans un film des touts débuts de la cinématographie aérienne.

Lors de la deuxième course pour le trophée, tenue le 1er novembre, le Bluenose l'a remporté avec deux minutes et quarante-cinq secondes d'avance sur son adversaire, mais comme l'année précédente, la goélette avait contourné une bouée du mauvais côté et les juges ont alors accordé la victoire au Columbia. Walters, très agacé, a refusé de participer à la troisième course et a mis le cap sur Lunenburg. C'est par défaut que le Bluenose a conservé le trophée et le prix en argent a été partagé entre les deux équipages, mais une hostilité était née et il faudra sept ans avant qu'ils ne participent à nouveau à une course.

En 1926, des courses séparées ont eu lieu à Halifax et à Gloucester puisque les deux camps refusaient de se rencontrer. À Halifax, le Bluenose s'est mesuré au tout nouveau Haligonian, construit l'année précédente à Shelburne et conçu aussi par Roué; on croyait qu'il était tout à fait l'égal du Bluenose. La course a été décevante. Le Bluenose a facilement remporté la course qui fut sans grand éclat. En outre, il était évident que les vieilles rivalités et la camaraderie de longue date entre les Lunenbourgeois et les hommes de Gloucester servaient à donner du piquant à la course; sans cette touche internationale supplémentaire, quelque chose manquait.

En 1930, une course spéciale a eu lieu à Gloucester, cette fois pour la coupe Sir Thomas Lipton, une sorte de branche d'olivier tendue pour sonder l'humeur qui prévalait sur les eaux internationales. Ben Pine avait une nouvelle goélette, le Gertrude L. Thebaud, goélette légère et séduisante décrite comme ayant l'air d'une débutante de Boston et que l'on considérait comme une véritable championne. Dans la première course, le Bluenose a enregistré une cuisante défaite; on s'entend pour dire que c'était la pire performance de toute la carrière du navire. Il a remporté la deuxième course mais a perdu la troisième; il est retourné à Lunenburg tant bien que mal, croulant sous la défaite. Angus Walters n'était pas content, mais on l'a toutefois entendu dire qu'il ne critiquerait pas les trois hommes de Gloucester qui étaient à bord comme membres d'équipage à ce moment-là, l'un d'entre eux ayant été à la barre.

En 1931, la course internationale des pêcheurs a finalement été relancée, au large de Halifax et entre les deux grands rivaux, le Bluenose et le Thebaud. L'engouement était grand, mais les vents étaient légers et les résultas, décevants. Le Bluenose a remporté les trois courses, mais la première a été annulée, les deux navires ayant dépassé le temps limite, et seule la troisième course — que le Bluenose a gagnée avec douze minutes d'avance — était à la hauteur des courses habituelles. La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord commençait à montrer des signes d'âge.


Résultats 1 de 15 de 32 de votre recherche:

 suivante


Le Canadia entre dans le port pour la course éliminatoire, 1922
date: 1922
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040041

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

La goélette Bluenose
date: 1922
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040042

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

[Course de goélettes, 1922] Le Canadia 1922
date: 1922
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040043

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Le Mahaska 1922
date: 1922
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040044

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

[Le Margaret K. Smith] Courses éliminatoires de 1922
date: 1922
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040045

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Le Bluenose & le Henry Ford, 1922
date: 1922
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040047

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Le grand livre de Zwicker and Company
date: 1922
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Le capitaine Angus Walters à la barre
date: 1922
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
credit: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
numéro de référence: Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic  FMA

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Le Columbia 1923
date: 1923
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040048

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Les capitaines Ben Pine et Angus Walters
date: ca. 1923
numéro de référence: Tom Connors 'Old Sport' Nova Scotia Archives no. 574

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

L’équipage du Bluenose»
date: ca. 1923
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040050

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Le Columbia et le Bluenose lors des finales de 1923
date: 1923
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040051

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Le Columbia, 1923
date: 1923
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040052

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Le Bluenose franchit la ligne d’arrivée, 1923
date: 1923
photographe: W.R. MacAskill
numéro de référence: W.R. MacAskill Nova Scotia Archives 20040053

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)

Captain Martin 'Marty' Welch of the Esperanto
date: 1920
numéro de référence: Tom Connors 'Old Sport' Nova Scotia Archives no. 573

Theme: La reine de la flottille de pêche de l'Atlantique Nord (1922-1931)
   Page 1 of 3: 1 2 3  suivante