News Release Archive

  Seven Nova Scotia authors have been awarded grants by the
  Cultural Affairs Division of the Nova Scotia Department of
  Education through its Assistance to Established Writers
  The awards are being given to the following writers:
  Chris Harvey-Clark for Ecotourism Guide to North Atlantic
  Marine Life
  Sandra Barry for Elizabeth Bishop and Nova Scotia
  David Toole for Town Life
  Mark Finnan for The First Nova Scotian
  George Boyd and Lance Woolaver for World Without Shadows
  Anne Spencer for The Time Capsule Book
  Now in its twelfth year, the Assistance to Established
  Writers Program provides monetary awards to professional
  writers working on projects in which trade publishers have
  expressed in interest.
  Applications are reviewed by an advisory panel consisting of
  representatives from the Writer's Federation of Nova Scotia,
  the Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association, the Atlantic
  Provinces Booksellers Association and the Nova Scotia
  Library Association.
  The deadline for the next competition is Monday, Apr. 1,
  1996 by 4:30 p.m. Applications are available from the
  Cultural Affairs Division, Department of Education and
  Culture, Cultural Industries and Research Officer, P.O. Box
  578, Halifax, N.S. B3J 2S9 or at 902-424-6389.
  Contact: Peggy Walt 902-424-6389
  trp                     Dec. 08, 1995