Premier Dexter Unveils 12-member Cabinet

Premier's Office

Published Friday, June 19, 2009

After being sworn in as Nova Scotia's 27th premier, Darrell Dexter welcomed some veteran MLAs and new faces to his first cabinet at a ceremony in Halifax today, June 19. Lt.-Gov. Mayann Francis swore in the 12-member Executive Council, marking the first time a Nova Scotia cabinet was sworn in by an African Nova Scotian.


This first cabinet is small and focused on the immediate tasks at hand, yet representative of every major part of Nova Scotia. People living along country roads, in villages, towns and large urban areas will be heard.Premier Darrell Dexter

We know that our loyalty is to the people of this province. We will go to work every day, knowing we must meet the challenges and seize the opportunities that face this province.Premier Darrell Dexter

Quick Facts

  • The public event, held at the Cunard Centre in Halifax, was webcast live over the Internet
  • Premier Dexter will also serve as president of the Executive Council, chair of the Treasury and Policy Board, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Minister responsible for Military Relations
  • Frank Corbett was sworn is as Deputy Premier and Deputy President of the Executive Council. He will also serve as Minister of the Public Service Commission and the Minister of Communications Nova Scotia
  • Maureen MacDonald is the Minister of Health, Minister of Health Promotion and Protection and Minister of Gaelic Affairs
  • John MacDonell is Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Natural Resources
  • Bill Estabrooks is Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal, Minister of Energy, Minister responsible for Conserve Nova Scotia, Minister responsible for the Gateway Initiative and Minister of Sydney Tar Ponds Agency
  • Graham Steele is Minister of Finance, Minister of Acadian Affairs and Minister responsible for the Nova Scotia Liquor Corporation
  • Marilyn More is Minister of Education, Minister of Labour and Workforce Development and Minister of Volunteerism
  • Sterling Belliveau is the Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture and Minister of Environment
  • Percy Paris is Minister of Economic and Rural Development, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Heritage, Minister of African Nova Scotian Affairs and Minister responsible for Nova Scotia Business Inc.
  • Denise Peterson-Rafuse is Minister of Community Services, Minister of Seniors, Minister responsible for the Advisory Council on the Status of Women and Minister responsible for the Disabled Persons' Commission Act.
  • Ramona Jennex is Minister of Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations, Minister of Emergency Management, Minister of Immigration and Minister responsible for Youth
  • Ross Landry is Attorney General and Minister of Justice

Learn More

Premier Darrell Dexter

Responsibilities and cabinet members' biographical information

Media Contact

Shawn Fuller
Office of the Premier
(902) 240-7575


Back row, from left: Graham Steele, Marilyn More, Sterling Belliveau, Percy Paris, Denise Peterson-Rafuse, Ramona Jennex and Ross Landy. Front row, from left: John MacDonell, Frank Corbett, Premier Darrell Dexter, Maureen MacDonald, Bill Estabrooks.
Download high-res version
Premier Darrell Dexter takes the oath of office during a public swearing-in ceremony Friday, June 19 in Halifax
Download high-res version
A large crowd watches the swearing in of Premier Darrell Dexter and the Executive Council
Download high-res version
Premier Darrell Dexter and Lt.-Gov. Mayann Francis chat after reception following the swearing in of the Executive Council
Download high-res version
Young and old alike enjoyed the swearing in ceremony at the Cunard Centre in Halifax
Download high-res version


Swearing In Ceremony


Lt.-Gov. Mayann Francis swears in Darrell Dexter as Nova Scotia's 27th Premier.
Premier Darrell Dexter says the government understands the challenges ahead and will meet them.
Premier Darrell Dexter says the government will have an open door policy to hear ideas.