The Nova Scotia Medal of Bravery

The 2021 Nova Scotia Medal of Bravery Award nomination period is now open.

The May 1, 2021 nomination deadline is extended.

Nova Scotians are encouraged to nominate someone they know whose quick actions helped to save the life of another or protect property. Acts of bravery that occurred on or after 1 January, 2017 are eligible.

Nomination forms:

2019 Nova Scotia Medal of Bravery Award Recipients

Group photo (from left) Premier Stephen McNeil, Medal of Bravery recipient, Elijah Watts, Medal of Bravery recipient, Sophia LeBlanc, and Medal of Bravery Advisory Committee Chair, Richard Petley-Jones.

The Premier presented two courageous individuals with the Nova Scotia Medal of Bravery on December 4, 2019.

Elijah Watts, Port Hood, Nova Scotia
Sophia LeBlanc, Amherst


Nomination process

For more information about the nomination process, please see our Frequently Asked Questions.

Past recipients

Read more about past recipients.


For inquiries about the nomination process please contact us.