1. Accessibility Directorate
  2. Goods and Services Standard Development Committee

Goods and Services Standard Development Committee

The Goods and Services Standard Development Committee is helping the Accessibility Advisory Board make recommendations to the Minister of Justice on creating and implementing accessibility standards in goods and services.

The goal of the goods and services standard is to make sure that persons with disabilities, Deaf and/or neurodivergent persons have equitable access to goods and services. The standard will address how service providers interact with and are trained to serve persons with disabilities (like how persons with disabilities access goods and services and the use of assistive devices).

The Goods and Services Standard Development Committee will develop recommendations focused on accessible customer service.

About the committee

The majority of committee members identify as having a disability. Committee members include:

  • persons with disabilities
  • representatives from organizations that provide services to persons with disabilities
  • representatives from sectors impacted by the standards, like the business sector and municipalities
  • representatives from the Department of Health and Wellness, Department of Community Services and Department of Service Nova Scotia and Internal Services

Committee members

  • Lisa Snider, Chair - Senior Digital Accessibility Consultant and Trainer, Access Changes Everything Inc, Halifax
  • Travis Gunn, Vice-Chair - Director, Business Development, Sobeys National Pharmacy Group, Scotsburn
  • Kimberley Bernard - Diversity and Inclusion Consultant, Halifax
  • Colin Campbell - Manager of Equity Programs and Initiatives, Department of Health and Wellness, Halifax
  • Kim Bates Cusack - Accessibility Advocate, Bateston
  • Natalie d’ Entremont - Director, Recreation Services, Municipality of the District of Argyle, Lower West Pubnico
  • Louise Gillis - President, Canadian Council of the Blind, Sydney
  • Rick Goodman, KC - Non-practicing Advisor, Patterson Law and Chairperson, Accessibility Committee, Abercrombie Golf Club, New Glasgow
  • Lui Greco - Lead, Information Technology and Accessibility, CNIB, Eastern Passage
  • Jen Green - Manager, Inclusion and Accessibility, Nova Scotia Liquor Commission, Halifax
  • Janice Hussey - Coordinator, Disability Support Program, Department of Community Services, Halifax
  • Misty James - Director, Recreation, Municipality of Barrington, Argyle
  • Jordan Keddy - Manager, Regional Residential Services Society, Waverley
  • Cassie Manuel - Physical Activity Consultant and Inclusion Specialist, Dartmouth
  • Jorge Mora - Manager Fund Accounting, SS&C Fund Services and Multiple Sclerosis and Disability Advocate, Bedford
  • Steven William Murgatroyd - Canadian Forces Retired Sergeant, DND and High Performance Director, Archery Nova Scotia, West Hants
  • Alex Oragui - Manager, Diversity and Sustainable Procurement, Department of Service Nova Scotia Internal Services, Halifax
  • Zoh Qureshi - Faculty Member, Nova Scotia Community College
  • Justin Read - Instructor, NSCC, Halifax
  • Steve Roy - Project and Administrative Coordinator, Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission, Dartmouth
  • John Smith - Chair, Annapolis County Accessibility Committee and retired small business owner, Bridgetown
  • John Turner - Environmental Lab Technician and Disability Advocate, Halifax
  • Hannah Wood - CEO, Fulcrum Accessibility Consulting, Halifax