Regional Services

The Department of Agriculture has six offices clustered in two regions (Eastern and Western) across the province to provide services to farmers. Visit one of our regional offices to:

  • Discuss your new farm or food business venture or plans to develop your existing business;
  • Learn more about support available to farm and food businesses in Nova Scotia, including production advice, training, and programs available to farmers;
  • Ask questions about regulations that may apply to your farm or food business;
  • Receive farm or food business coaching;
  • Find out about leadership development opportunities available to youth and rural organizations;
  • Learn about resources available to support farmers who volunteer to speak about agriculture to school and community groups;
  • Pick up or drop off Department of Agriculture program application forms;
  • Borrow a soil augur to take soil samples on your farm and then drop off soil or water samples for shipment to the analytical lab in Bible Hill.

To contact us, call 1-800-279-0825 or the office location nearest you.




Regional Services and Sector Development and Innovation Offices

Department of Agriculture, Harlow Building, PO Box 890, 176 College Road, Bible Hill, NS, B2N 5G6

Rachael Cheverie – Director, Regional Services

Cell: 902-324-2178

Email: Rachael.Cheverie@novascotia.ca

Rebecca Sooksom – Manager, Regional Programming

Tel: 902-893-6584

Cell: 902-956-4665

Email: Rebecca.Sooksom@novascotia.ca

Sarah Turner – Manager, Regional Extension

Tel: 902-896-4898

Cell: 902-324-0776

Email: Sarah.Turner@novascotia.ca

Amy Melmock – Director, Sector Development and Innovation

Tel: 902-893-5966

Cell: 902-324-3024

Email: Amy.Melmock@novascotia.ca

Paula Putnam – Manager, Innovation

Cell: 902-324-2348

Email: Paula.Putnam@novascotia.ca

Daniel Small – Manager, Sector Development

Cell: 902-956-4463

Email: Daniel.Small@novascotia.ca



Eastern Region

Halifax, East Hants, Colchester, Cumberland, Pictou, Antigonish, Guysborough, Richmond, Inverness, Victoria, and Cape Breton Counties


Bible Hill – Harlow Building Office

Department of Agriculture, Harlow Building, PO Box 890, 176 College Road, Bible Hill, NS, B2N 5G6

Julia Lindsay – Business Development Officer

Cell: 902-324-8784

Email: Julia.Lindsay@novascotia.ca

Darlene McCallum – Business Opportunity Strategist

Tel: 902-896-2207

Cell: 902-890-0493

Email: Darlene.McCallum@novascotia.ca

Elizabeth Morgan – Business Resource Specialist

Cell: 902-890-6885

Email: Elizabeth.Morgan@novascotia.ca

Ronald Young – Business Development Program Analyst

Cell: 902-698-1545

Email: Ronald.Young@novascotia.ca


Bible Hill Office – Lorraine Building Office

Department of Agriculture, Lorraine Building, 74 Research Drive, Suite 114, Bible Hill, Nova Scotia, B6L 2R2

Marie Williams – Administrative Assistant

Tel: 902-893-6575

Fax: 902-893-2757

Email: Marie.Williams@novascotia.ca

Hema Chopra – Senior Diversity Programming Specialist

Tel: 902-893-3645

Cell: 902-574-2769

Email: Hema.Chopra@novascotia.ca

Dawn Barrington-Hodgson – Provincial Agricultural Programming Coordinator

Tel: 902-893-7495

Cell: 902-956-9433

Email: Dawn.Barrington-Hodgson@novascotia.ca

Jacqueline Hoyt – Provincial Agricultural Programming Coordinator

Tel: 902-893-5649

Cell: 902-897-8715

Email: Jacqueline.Hoyt@novascotia.ca

Daniel Muir – Agriculture Extension Coordinator

Tel: 902-893-6586

Cell: 902-890-1787

Email: Daniel.Muir@novascotia.ca

Moussa Sangaré-Ponce – Provincial Agriculture Diversity Programming Specialist

Cell: 902-324-9615

Email: Moussa.Sangare-Ponce@novascotia.ca


Antigonish Office

Department of Agriculture, 190 Beech Hill Road, Antigonish, Nova Scotia, B2G 0B4

Victoria Simpson – Administrative Assistant

Tel: 902-863-4705

Fax: 902-863-7342

Email: Victoria.Simpson@novascotia.ca

Rhonda MacDougall – Agriculture Extension Coordinator

Tel: 902-863-7501

Cell: 902-631-2264

Email: Rhonda.MacDougall@novascotia.ca

Terri MacPherson – Business Development Officer

Cell: 902-870-6927

Email: Terri.MacPherson@novascotia.ca

Adam Wile – Knowledge and Technology Transfer Coordinator

Tel: 902-863-7500

Cell: 902-870-9428

Email: Adam.Wile@novascotia.ca


Sydney Office

Department of Agriculture,

Ardith Fillmore – Administrative Assistant

Tel: 902-563-2000

Fax: 902-563-3435

Email: Ardith.Fillmore@novascotia.ca

Marina Gillis – Agriculture Extension Coordinator

Tel: 902-563-2001

Cell: 902-578-0786

Email: Marina Gillis@novascotia.ca

Jeff Hennessey – Business Development Officer

Tel: 902-563-2418

Cell: 902-574-2032

Email: Jeff.Hennessey@novascotia.ca

Gary Koziel – Senior Agriculture Extension Coordinator

Tel: 902-563-2003

Cell: 902-565-8132

Email: Gary.Koziel@novascotia.ca



Western Region

West Hants, Kings, Lunenburg, Queens, Shelburne, Yarmouth, Digby, and Annapolis Counties


Kentville Office

Department of Agriculture, Agriculture Centre, 32 Main Street, Kentville, Nova Scotia, B4N 1J5

Nicole Jamieson – Administrative Assistant

Tel: 902-679-6021

Fax: 902-670-6062

Email: Nicole.Jamieson@novascotia.ca

Rachel Brighton – Business Development Officer

Cell: 902-247-4350

Email: Rachel.Brighton@novascotia.ca

Colin Hirtle – Agriculture Extension Coordinator

Cell: 902-599-0619

Email: Colin.Hirtle@novascotia.ca

Brian MacCulloch – Knowledge and Technology Transfer Coordinator

Cell: 902-679-9219

Email: Brian.MacCulloch@novascotia.ca

Jeff Wentzell – Senior Agriculture Extension Coordinator

Cell: 902-824-0924

Email: Jeff.Wentzell@novascotia.ca


Lunenburg Office

Department of Agriculture, PO Box 6000, 312 Green Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, B0L 2C0

Ross MacNeil – Agriculture Extension Coordinator

Tel: 902-634-7575

Cell: 902-521-5409

Email: Ross.MacNeil@novascotia.ca


Cornwallis Office

Department of Agriculture, 173 Haida Street, Cornwallis, Nova Scotia, B0S 1H0

Gina Chapelhow – Administrative Assistant

Tel: 902-638-2395

Fax: 902-638-2389

Email: Gina.Chapelhow@novascotia.ca

Kari Brown – Agriculture Extension Coordinator

Cell: 902-223-8085

Email: Kari.Brown@novascotia.ca

Nicole Burkhard – Business Development Officer

Cell: 902-532-8775

Email: Nicole.Burkhard@novascotia.ca