1. Accessibility Directorate
  2. Built Environment Standard Development Committee

Built Environment Standard Development Committee

The Built Environment Standard Development Committee is assisting the Accessibility Advisory Board with making recommendations to the Minister of Justice on the content and implementation of a proposed standard to prevent and remove barriers to accessibility in the built environment.

Recommendations to the Minister of Justice

In August 2020, the Accessibility Advisory Board submitted the first phase of recommendations to the Minister of Justice.

These are initial recommendations for each topic area in the built environment. The recommendations address gaps in existing regulations for:

  • exteriors
  • Interiors
  • emergency systems
  • site selection
  • housing and residences
  • wayfinding and signage
  • parks and recreation

Additional technical recommendations for each topic area will be submitted to the Minister of Justice in the next phase of work.

First phase of recommendations

About the committee

The majority of committee members identify as having a disability. Committee members include:

  • persons with disabilities, or representatives from organizations representing persons with disabilities
  • representatives of organizations and classes of organizations likely to be affected by the standard, such as the municipal, construction and business sectors
  • representatives from the Department of Municipal Affairs, and Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal

Committee Members

  • Laurie Cranton, Chair - Councillor, Municipality of the County of Inverness, Margaree Centre

  • Ramzi Kawar, Vice-Chair - Director of Greening and Sustainable Building Practices, Department of Infrastructure and Housing, Bedford

  • Paul Burt - Manager, Building, Planning and Licensing, Cape Breton Regional Municipality, Sydney

  • Douglas Foster - Planning Specialist, New Dawn Enterprises, Sydney River

  • Mohammad Harb – Trained Architect, Community Volunteer, Halifax

  • Donna Hoar - Vice-President, Grey Cardinal Management Inc., Mineville

  • Andrew Jantzen - Research Assistant, Electronic Technologist, Nova Scotia Community College, Halifax

  • Megan Gainer, Architect, RHAD Architects, Dartmouth

  • Earl MacKenzie - Director, Public Works, Town of New Glasgow, New Glasgow

  • Sheena Moore - Design Phase Lead, Department of Infrastructure and Housing, Halifax

  • Allison Moz - Way-finding Partner, Co-owner, eyecandy SIGNS Inc., Halifax

  • Peter Polley - Founder and President, POLYCORP Group, Halifax

  • Jennifer Powley - Urban Planner, Halifax

  • Joseph Rogers - Building Code Co-ordinator, Department of Municipal Affairs, Timberlea

  • Ross Sampson - Retired Production Supervisor, Beaver Bank

  • Saira Shah - Planner 1, Halifax Regional Municipality, Lower Sackville

  • Gordie Snook - General Manager, Facilities and Operations, Town of Port Hawkesbury, Port Hawkesbury

  • Johanna Stork - Certified Orientation and Mobility Specialist, Vision Loss Rehabilitation Nova Scotia, Halifax

  • Hannah Wood - Owner, Fulcrum Accessibility Consulting, Halifax