1. Accessibility Directorate
  2. Education Standard Development Committee

Education Standard Development Committee

The Education Standard Development Committee is assisting the Accessibility Advisory Board with making recommendations to the Minister of Justice on the content and implementation of a proposed standard to prevent and remove barriers to accessibility in public and private early childhood, primary, secondary, and post-secondary education, including the Nova Scotia School of Adult Learning.

The majority of committee members identify as having a disability. Committee members include:

  • persons with disabilities,
  • representatives from organizations that provide services to persons with disabilities
  • representatives from private and public early childhood, primary, secondary, and post-secondary education
  • representatives from the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, and Department of Labour and Advanced Education members of the Accessibility Advisory Board

Committee members

  • Rosalind Penfound, Chair - Vice-President, Organizational Development, Nova Scotia Community College, Dartmouth

  • Cynthia Bruce, Vice-Chair - Instructor II, Faculty of Education, Acadia University, Kentville

  • Denise Cameron - Department Head, Learning Centre and Resource, Chignecto Central Regional Centre for Education, Truro

  • Linda Campbell - Professor, School of Environment, Saint Mary’s University, Halifax

  • Jacqueline Cote - Student Development Officer- Disability Support, Cape Breton University, Sydney Forks

  • Alice Evans - Executive Director, The Club Inclusion, Halifax

  • Mary Goya - Manager, Nova Scotia School for Adult Learning, Department of Labour and Advanced Education, Dartmouth

  • Sheila Jamieson - Classroom Teacher, Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority, Halifax

  • Diane Johnson-Snook - Program Co-ordinator, Achieve Program, Nova Scotia Community College, Port Hawkesbury

  • Alex LeBlanc – Retired Tradesman, Human Rights Advocate, Wolfville

  • Chrissi Lynch – Co-ordinator of Student Services, Strait Regional Centre for Education, Queensville

  • Patricia Monaghan - Executive Director, Nova Scotia Early Childhood Development Intervention Services, Halifax

  • Adela N'Jie - Student Services Co-ordinator, Conseil scolaire acadien provincial, Dartmouth

  • Kevin Penny - Equipment Grants Co-ordinator, Post-Secondary Accessibility Services, Department of Labour and Advanced Education, Halifax

  • Ann Power - Executive Director, Student Equity and Support Services, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Halifax<

  • Cornelia Schneider - Associate Professor, Faculty of Education, Mount Saint Vincent University, Porters Lake

  • David Steele - Registrar, Dexter Institute Private Career College, Lower Sackville

  • Sue Taylor-Foley - Executive Director, Innovation, Programs and Services, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Chester

  • Matt Walsh - Accessibility Mentor and Advocate, Subway Employee, Upper Tantallon

  • Barbara Welsford - Assistive Technology Specialist, South Shore Regional Centre for Education, Mahone Bay